Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Mounting my NTFS drivers

Help and support for Ultimate Edition 2.4


Mounting my NTFS drivers

Postby Wolfcrf » Fri Apr 30, 2010 2:16 am

So, everything was going ok but I tried to make my NTFS HDs to mount automatically as I logged in.
I used the mountmanager and forgot to make a backup before starting messing around. Results:

Now I can't mount my HDs, I have dual boot with win7 and ubuntu is telling me that only root can mount them...

"Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with:
mount: only root can mount /dev/sda1 on /media/Operacional"

I think that app (or me :oops: ) ruined my fstab, can anyone tell me how to fix this?
please!

This is my fstab:

UUID=E2D81194D8116855 /media/Operacional ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
UUID=683881253880F2FC /media/Backup ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
UUID=fdf1e55c-a9f6-48b6-b7ed-33b8edd45450 / ext4 defaults 0 1
UUID=df2c71c6-47b2-47b5-9090-48c639a095c9 swap swap sw 0 0
UUID=A8163B4B163B1A30 /media/Arquivos ntfs-3g defaults 0 0

When I try to change from defaults to user I get the message:

Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with:
Unprivileged user can not mount NTFS block devices using the external FUSE
library. Either mount the volume as root, or rebuild NTFS-3G with integrated
FUSE support and make it setuid root. Please see more information at
http://ntfs-3g.org/support.html#unprivileged


*I have Ultimate Edition 2.4 and I'm new to Linux.
Wolfcrf
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:01 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: Mounting my NTFS drivers

Postby Wolfcrf » Fri Apr 30, 2010 12:32 pm

anyone, please?

*updating
My ntfs HDs are mounting automatically when I log in, but I still can't unmount/mount them as a user, only if I use the "storage device manager", it's not a big problem anymore, but I wish I could mount them without using storrage device manager...
Wolfcrf
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:01 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: Mounting my NTFS drivers

Postby JOHNNYG » Fri Apr 30, 2010 5:18 pm

Try right clicking on the top or bottom task bar and add to panel "Disk mounter".
Attachments
Screenshot-Add to Panel.png
JOHNNYG
Image
Ultimate Eddiction<
Ultimate Edition STUDIO
Ultimate-E
Onyx 64
Pentium 4 processor
2x512 Kingston DDR memory
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig
Maxtor Maxline 80 gig, Split for testing only !
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig, Storage
Booting 8 OS's, No MS !
ATI 9600 series (RV350 AQ)graphics card
Sony DVD/CD Rewritable Drive DOUBLE LAYER DRU-820A/Sony DRU-800A CD DVD±RW Dual DVD Recorder
Team Leader at
http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com/
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
JOHNNYG
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1456
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:02 am
Location: U.S.A. Illinois
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Mounting my NTFS drivers

Postby Wolfcrf » Fri Apr 30, 2010 5:54 pm

I did it, tryed to mount/unount but it didn't do anything...
thanks anyway!
Wolfcrf
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:01 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: Mounting my NTFS drivers

Postby Admin-Amir » Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:02 am

Hello Wolfcrf .

Have you install the package MOUNT MANAGER from synaptic?
Admin-Amir
 


Return to Ultimate Edition 2.4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron