Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Help and support for Ultimate Edition 2.4


Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby jnalli » Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:22 pm

Okay this is what I did. I booted into Vista and deleted all the partitions that weren't ntfs which of course destroyed my MBR. I couldnt boot into Windows. I was getting a prompt that said "grub rescue>" which i couldnt do anything with. I started to panick. Then I put in an old UU 1.9 dvd and installed that instead and now it seems to work. So I guess i'll stay with 1.9 for awhile see how it goes. So much for 2.4 i guess...if I tried to install 2.4 again will I get the same configuration server error?
Windows Vista
ASUS MB Compaq Presario Computer
AMD Athlon 64
Nvidia Geforce 210
4 Gb RAM
250 Gb SATA drive
User avatar
jnalli
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby DarkChild » Sun Nov 22, 2009 6:19 pm

jnalli wrote:Okay this is what I did. I booted into Vista and deleted all the partitions that weren't ntfs which of course destroyed my MBR. I couldnt boot into Windows. I was getting a prompt that said "grub rescue>" which i couldnt do anything with. I started to panick. Then I put in an old UU 1.9 dvd and installed that instead and now it seems to work. So I guess i'll stay with 1.9 for awhile see how it goes. So much for 2.4 i guess...if I tried to install 2.4 again will I get the same configuration server error?


To tell you the truth, i am not sure but we won't know if you don't try uh ;) . Maybe if your install 2.4 on its own partition/ or on the entire local disk, you might not get that error message again!! If decide to go ahead and try 2.4 again. Good luck ;)
CPU Type: TripleCore AMD Athlon II X3 440, 2982 MHz (15 x 199)
Motherboard: ECS GF8200A (3 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Video, Gigabit LAN)
Motherboard Chipset: nVIDIA GeForce 8200, AMD K10
System Memory: 6GB (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
Video Adapter: XFX ATI Radeon HD 4350 1GB
Audio Adapter: ATI Radeon HDMI @ ATI RV710/730/740 - High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Adapter nVIDIA MCP78 - High Definition Audio Controller
1 WD Caviar Green 1TB HD SATA
2 Sata Local Disk: 250GB/200GB
2 IDE HD: 80GB
Hanns.G 22" Wide Screen Monitor
Speakers: Logitech LS21 7 watts RMS 2.1 Speaker System
ENCORE 802.11g Wireless PCI Adapter
Logitech Wireless Keyboard/Mouse
LG CD/DVD Writer 22X
BIOS Type: AMI (05/19/09)

Image
User avatar
DarkChild
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1229
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:53 pm
Location: Jamaica
Age: 36
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.7 32 BIT



Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby jnalli » Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:00 pm

I tried it on my desktop and it's working okay except I cant access all the updates. How do you open up backports for Karmic?
Windows Vista
ASUS MB Compaq Presario Computer
AMD Athlon 64
Nvidia Geforce 210
4 Gb RAM
250 Gb SATA drive
User avatar
jnalli
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby Cell » Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:38 pm

Here.
Attachments
Screenshot.png
-------------------------------
hardware
--------------------------------
Dfi lanparty ut rdx200cf-dr
amd athlon 64 fx55 oc 2.9
2xvisiontek x1600xt gamers ed.
3 gig kingston hyperx mem
hauppauge win tv go tuner
pinnacle ultimate hd hybrid usb tuner
1 western hd 100 gig drive
1 western hd 160 gig drive
1 western hd 5 gig drive
1 usb hd 150 gig
1 usb hd 1 terabyte
--------------------
OS/Distros
--------------------
PhatDebian 1.0
StonerEdition 2.0
Ultimate Edition 2.4 Gamer Ed.
Mythbuntu 9.10
windows XP MCE remastered with Nlite
Windows 7 remastered with Vlight
----------------------------------------------------------
We are all connected;
To each other, biologically
To the earth, chemically
To the rest of the universe atomically-deGrasse Tyson
User avatar
Cell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Repuplic of California,U.S.A.
Age: 48
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 1.8 Gamers



Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby jnalli » Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:24 am

re-installed on laptop and seems to working fine now. Thanks guys, even though it was most trial and error on my part.
Windows Vista
ASUS MB Compaq Presario Computer
AMD Athlon 64
Nvidia Geforce 210
4 Gb RAM
250 Gb SATA drive
User avatar
jnalli
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby DarkChild » Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:27 am

jnalli wrote:re-installed on laptop and seems to working fine now. Thanks guys, even though it was most trial and error on my part.


Glad to know that your good now. Thanks for the feedback ;)
CPU Type: TripleCore AMD Athlon II X3 440, 2982 MHz (15 x 199)
Motherboard: ECS GF8200A (3 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Video, Gigabit LAN)
Motherboard Chipset: nVIDIA GeForce 8200, AMD K10
System Memory: 6GB (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
Video Adapter: XFX ATI Radeon HD 4350 1GB
Audio Adapter: ATI Radeon HDMI @ ATI RV710/730/740 - High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Adapter nVIDIA MCP78 - High Definition Audio Controller
1 WD Caviar Green 1TB HD SATA
2 Sata Local Disk: 250GB/200GB
2 IDE HD: 80GB
Hanns.G 22" Wide Screen Monitor
Speakers: Logitech LS21 7 watts RMS 2.1 Speaker System
ENCORE 802.11g Wireless PCI Adapter
Logitech Wireless Keyboard/Mouse
LG CD/DVD Writer 22X
BIOS Type: AMI (05/19/09)

Image
User avatar
DarkChild
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1229
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:53 pm
Location: Jamaica
Age: 36
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.7 32 BIT



toshiba satellite

Postby harold95 » Fri Jan 01, 2010 9:36 pm

hello.

just got my old laptop running, on ue2.4.

i have 3 questions after an afternoon of poking and prodding.

first, my cd rom does not work. dont even ask how i got it on the hd, because i cant even boot from the usb ports.
its not one of my issues, its just dead. i cannot fix or replace it. its just an fyi, for my real issue, question #1.

question/issue #1
so......there is no xorg.conf file for me to tinker with so i can get the resolution from 80o0x600 to 1024x768?
what do i use to reconfigure x to get my resolution up? this laptop uses an onboard card, not nvidea or ati, maybe intel or something generic.
this laptop can do it, its just not in the options under display options.
i used to just manually edit xorg.conf to get what i needed. so thats question one.

question 2
where does one turn off the services that are not needed? seems that has been moved someplace and i cant find it.

question 3
where does one set the curser options and types? these spinning cursers are driving me wacky:-)
edit: ok, i found where to change it but i cant. getting this error message:
gcursor
(gcursor:2830): Gtk-WARNING **: GtkSpinButton: setting an adjustment with non-zero page size is deprecated
(gcursor:2830): libglade-WARNING **: could not find signal handler 'entry_selected'.
(gcursor:2830): libglade-WARNING **: could not find signal handler 'open_theme_dir'.
(gcursor:2830): libglade-WARNING **: could not find signal handler 'size_changed'.
(gcursor:2830): libglade-WARNING **: could not find signal handler 'extract_theme'.

so i cannot change my cursor . hmmmm.
in addition:
question 4 .......how do i get rid of that box that opens that says type to start searching?
what controls that and how do i turn it off?

ok, thats all for now, i look forward to any replies and any help pointing me to solutions.



thanks!!!!

harold
harold95
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby Moebius » Fri Jan 01, 2010 11:18 pm

Hi harold95,
Question 2: Not sure if you're referring to this, but try this through your menus, System > Preferences > Startup Applications. Used to be called Sessions I think.

Question 3: Try System > Preferences > Appearance. Click Customize, then Pointer. (Sorry, didn't see your edit)

Question 4: Refer Question 2 above and remove Gnome Do

Cheers.
GNOME 3.2.1
Oz Unity Developement (32) Kernel 15
Moebius Custom Gothic
Intel DG33FB Mainboard
Intel Core2Duo E8400
Amicroe 2 x 1Gb DDR2
WD 250Gb Sata II WD2500AAKS (O/S)
WD 500Gb Sata II WD5000AAKS (Data)
LG Super Multi DVDRW
GeForce 8600GT PCI-E 16x 512Mb 540 MHz



Image
Ultimate Edition Australia___Ultimate Edition Israel____Ultimate Facebook
User avatar
Moebius
Site Admin
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:59 am
Location: Launceston, Tasmania (AUST)
Age: 54
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby harold95 » Fri Jan 01, 2010 11:53 pm

thank you! solved 3 of 4 problems.....

now i just need to know what to run to reconfigure X.

harold




Moebius wrote:Hi harold95,
Question 2: Not sure if you're referring to this, but try this through your menus, System > Preferences > Startup Applications. Used to be called Sessions I think.

Question 3: Try System > Preferences > Appearance. Click Customize, then Pointer. (Sorry, didn't see your edit)

Question 4: Refer Question 2 above and remove Gnome Do

Cheers.
harold95
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Laptop specific questions?Post here please.

Postby Cell » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:25 pm

now i just need to know what to run to reconfigure X.


You can't...well not easily,and its likely not to work(not from your part,but xorg is all goofy right now).If you wan't to play with it then look in the ATI thread.There I have generic instructions to make an xorg.config file in karmic.

Did you update/upgrade with the back ports open,and the ubuntu repos turned on?If not then do it,and reboot.then see if you can change your screen res.
-------------------------------
hardware
--------------------------------
Dfi lanparty ut rdx200cf-dr
amd athlon 64 fx55 oc 2.9
2xvisiontek x1600xt gamers ed.
3 gig kingston hyperx mem
hauppauge win tv go tuner
pinnacle ultimate hd hybrid usb tuner
1 western hd 100 gig drive
1 western hd 160 gig drive
1 western hd 5 gig drive
1 usb hd 150 gig
1 usb hd 1 terabyte
--------------------
OS/Distros
--------------------
PhatDebian 1.0
StonerEdition 2.0
Ultimate Edition 2.4 Gamer Ed.
Mythbuntu 9.10
windows XP MCE remastered with Nlite
Windows 7 remastered with Vlight
----------------------------------------------------------
We are all connected;
To each other, biologically
To the earth, chemically
To the rest of the universe atomically-deGrasse Tyson
User avatar
Cell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Repuplic of California,U.S.A.
Age: 48
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 1.8 Gamers

Previous

Return to Ultimate Edition 2.4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron