Page 2 of 4

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 12:13 pm
by TheeMahn
Thanks Gentlemen for the kind comments. It apears I did not do my housework in cleaning up Ultimate Edition 3.5 32 bit. So some work to do here. The 64 bit is off the chain. Goliath has been running a super earily beta perhaps I should call alpha w/o ANY issue for a month or better. This was built with KDE pre-installed, however not default. This has changed as the screenies show. I have built a new conky builder and may go back and hit the 64 bit side as well:
cbuilder.png
Added multi-monitor support and temp detection.

I have also written a cli based client for finding nas drives on your network:
Code: Select all
TheeMahn@JackHammer:~$ nasup -s
Nasup 1.7.1-5
=============
GNU nasup home page: <http://www.ultimateedition.info/>.
E-mail bug reports to: <[email protected]>.
Be sure to include the word nasup somewhere in the Subject: field.

Scanning for Goflex IP..
========================
2 NAS Drive(s) detected.
========================
Host exists at 192.168.0.100, attempting mount.
Mount point does not exist, creating /media/NAS/.
Mounting NAS from 192.168.0.100 to /media/NAS/
Username: John
Password:
Host exists at 192.168.0.104, attempting mount.
Mount point does not exist, creating /media/NAS1/.
Mounting NAS from 192.168.0.104 to /media/NAS1/
Username: theemahn
Password:

TheeMahn@JackHammer:~$


Will mount up to 255 NAS drives ;) In this case I am mounting John's (Goliath's) NAS and mine.

Support for multiple monitors has also increased:
Code: Select all
TheeMahn@JackHammer:~$ multi-monitor


multi-monitor 1.7.1-5
=============

Usage: multi-monitor -<-COMMAND> [option]

   possible commands...      

   -v   --version      dump version info
   -s   --scan         Scans for monitors
   -h   --help         this help message

   Usage Scan;
   multi-monitor -s

   Detect ports and monitors enabling only monitors
   that are conected and set xinerama view.

   After completion and successfully finding monitor(s) will provide
   command to crontab to set for bootup. See Boot switch.

   Usage Boot;
   multi-monitor -b

   Installs a startup script to engage multi-monitor on boot up.

   Useage Help;
   multi-monitor -h

   Displays this message. For futher information please refer to the manpages. 

   man multi-monitor
   


GNU multi-monitor home page: <http://www.ultimateedition.info/>.
E-mail bug reports to: <[email protected]>.
Be sure to include the word multi-monitor somewhere in the Subject: field.
TheeMahn@JackHammer:~$


Have added switches that the help file currently does not contain to allow for booting to xineramma:
Code: Select all
TheeMahn@JackHammer:~$ multi-monitor -s
TheeMahn's Multi-monitor script. Please report bugs to TheeMahn <[email protected]>
3 Ports detected and 2 Monitors detected. Enabling 2 monitors(s) and setting default resoultion(s).
Port(s) connected:
HDMI-0
DVI-0
Default resolution(s):
   1920x1200      60.0*+
   1920x1200      60.0*+
Command to be executed: xrandr --output HDMI-0 --auto --output DVI-0 --auto --right-of HDMI-0
If you can read this we were successful. If you would like to make changes permenent please cron this script:
sudo echo "*/1 * * * *     TheeMahn     DISPLAY=:0.0 /bin/multi-monitor > ~/mm.log 2>&1 >> /etc/crontab"

Code: Select all
TheeMahn@JackHammer:~$ multi-monitor -b
Command sympnosis: multi-monitor -b <on/off>
TheeMahn@JackHammer:~$


Dual monitors has opened doors for me in the coding department, thanks donors. Let me get the O/S's caught up and I will drop a ton of code to the public. Time is not on my side, never has been. They currently tell me I have to work Saturday, but have Monday off a holy day err holiday ;) A month delay is what I am currently informed on 3dfx, will know more by Sept 17th.

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:41 am
by rpl123
WE WILL WAIT
One question come suggestion can we make in situ upgrade possible , rather than clean install each time.
I don't know if it is because I always did a clean install with each Ultimate Edition release
Thanks :D ;)

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 11:42 am
by teruble
Looks Great! Can't wait to try this one. :mrgreen:

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 8:24 pm
by dougal
Can I grab a copy for testing. I have a few machines and try every release on them all. Still running 2.6 as the only fully stable release on all machines. Some now must be nine or ten years old. An old HP Pavillion 4800 series.
A Sony and Tosh laptop, both about five years old. A Dell laptop at four years old, a Dell Optiplex 745 and Dell Optiplex 780 and a desktop machine, 8-core.
Main problem is always with desktops and wireless USB dongle. The auto-selection of drivers for two different ones has not happened and I always have to fiddle with the Windows Wireless drivers. Both of them are 150 bps and the thing is that an older 58 bps USB has drivers picked up real easy.

So, I would love to test anything going... I have patience though. Do what you have to Thee to make the OS as good as you can.

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:09 am
by TheeMahn
dougal wrote:Can I grab a copy for testing. I have a few machines and try every release on them all. Still running 2.6 as the only fully stable release on all machines. Some now must be nine or ten years old. An old HP Pavillion 4800 series.
A Sony and Tosh laptop, both about five years old. A Dell laptop at four years old, a Dell Optiplex 745 and Dell Optiplex 780 and a desktop machine, 8-core.
Main problem is always with desktops and wireless USB dongle. The auto-selection of drivers for two different ones has not happened and I always have to fiddle with the Windows Wireless drivers. Both of them are 150 bps and the thing is that an older 58 bps USB has drivers picked up real easy.

So, I would love to test anything going... I have patience though. Do what you have to Thee to make the OS as good as you can.

Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:05 pm

Yes, you can check your PM's links to snatch both Ultimate Edition 3.5 32 and 64 are there. Does anyone here feel worthy to test it based on the above information. Why is Dougal not at least mod? See what happens when I climb in a box and do not attend to the forums? I have been thinking of sending all donors a link to a private server for them to snatch it prior to the public. I have the donors email addresses. I would have to pay for a site to fly by night and disapear the next day. It would get beat to death, I have been down that road before. I would love to see a hosting company absorb 1 month of abuse. hmm, something to ponder. No official post, just sent to donors and not care if they give it to thier buddies. When it dies it dies. Steam is coming out of the melon now ;) What am I gonna brew up.

Most ppl know what a Terabyte is now, most were oblivious to it initially on release. I would talk about Terabytes of transfer now ppl have that size drive in thier computer, funny how technology advances. Petabytes a very unfamiliar term, bet it comes common place in a few years. I have like 14TB of info accessable from this very PC if Goliath fires up his NAS. I have transfered 1/2 of a Petabyte of info in one month from users downloading Ultimate Edition in get this 2009. No-one knew or grasped the vast amount of information that is. Shut down 3 times that month I grant you. We are now hosted through Sourceforge's 32 servers as far as downloads. No-one takes the time to factor in the value of a good hosting company & the crippling effect a vast amount of users can have. I am a connoisseur of understanding in this aspect. I would venture via sourceforge if they were to allow me to see raw stats in transfer are approaching the Exabyte factor, if it hasn't already been broken by the 1,348,630 download of Ultimate Edition recorded by them.

SO DONT GIVE OUT THE LINKS, it is not hosted on a fly by night server.

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:13 pm
by dougal
Wow, thanks for the kind thought Thee. I don't look for anything like that, just glad to try to help get a great operating system to the masses.
I try to help anyone with their computer troubles as best I can with my very limited knowledge. To hear that you have faith in me to test such a great system is all the reward that I need.
Thanks again for the kind thoughts. <BREW>

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:35 am
by onosendai58
Could you please hook me up with the 32-bit goodness of that, I'll gladly give it a shot. If I am chosen as worthy of such an audacious endeavor. <BREW>

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:08 pm
by rockinkaj
id like to test on my laptop if i may <BREW>

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:22 pm
by Hawks-SOAD
Sorry guys only mods/Admin can test, as much as it would be great to let everyone test we would rather it break our machines than your machines :D

Re: Yes It is coming...

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:20 pm
by Farclules
Hawks-SOAD wrote:Sorry guys only mods/Admin can test, as much as it would be great to let everyone test we would rather it break our machines than your machines :D


You have no idea how grateful we all are that you are protecting our machines while allowing Dougal to break his