Power consumption?

Discuss Hardware related issues here...


Power consumption?

Postby Tool » Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:40 pm

Hi guys. I was searching the web and having a little trouble finding what my power supply specs should be and what I can run off of what I have. I have an HP a6707c PC with a 250 watt power supply. I believe my motherboard runs about 65-80 watts. I have 2 DVD burners and would like to run 3 HDD's SATA. 2 RAID, 1 storage. Do I have enough power? Also, I have a Geforce 210 graphics card, but can evict 1 DVD burner if necessary. Thanks if anybody knows. :D
HP m7277c PC, 3GB DDR2 RAM, 3.00GHz dual core Pentium D
Geforce 210 Silent Graphics card w/1GB
2x300 GB SATA HDD's (No RAID) LG & HP DVD burners

HP Pavilion dv4 Entertainment PC (Laptop)
2.10 dual core AMD Turion X2
ATI Radeon HD 3200, DVD Burner, Wifi, Bluetooth
QL Touch controls, Altec Lansing onboard speakers

Rooted LG Motion 4G, 1.5GHz dual core
1GB RAM, 8GB ROM

MetroPCS ZTE Z730 Concord 2
User avatar
Tool
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:42 pm
Location: Sacramento
Age: 37
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Power consumption?

Postby ryanvade » Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:23 pm

The first thing I looked at was the Geforce 210. Minimum System Power Requirement (W): 300 W. Second, the HDD's. Most don't go past 9 W when writing and around 7 W when idle. The DVD burners depend on the speed, make, model, cache, etc. The Intel Core 2 Duo E2220 runs at max of 65 W. The CPU and GPU use the most watts in your computer. The Raid setup might make the HDD's run at the same time. It won't increase the amount of wattage in use, just add the wattage of both HDD's and that will be the max AT ONE TIME. They will not be on ALL THE TIME. You may want to consider a 300 W power supply. The minimum for your GPU. Of course you can try it out now and see.

For a comparison, I am running a Pentium D 960 OVERCLOCKED. Power usage goes up to around 70-80 W. My Geforce GT 520 requires a 300 W poersupply. I have 2 HDD's not raided. And one DVD/CD burner with light scribe. All running fine on a 300 W stock powersupply.

You can also use something like this:
http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Power consumption?

Postby Tool » Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:46 pm

ryanvade wrote:The first thing I looked at was the Geforce 210. Minimum System Power Requirement (W): 300 W. Second, the HDD's. Most don't go past 9 W when writing and around 7 W when idle. The DVD burners depend on the speed, make, model, cache, etc. The Intel Core 2 Duo E2220 runs at max of 65 W. The CPU and GPU use the most watts in your computer. The Raid setup might make the HDD's run at the same time. It won't increase the amount of wattage in use, just add the wattage of both HDD's and that will be the max AT ONE TIME. They will not be on ALL THE TIME. You may want to consider a 300 W power supply. The minimum for your GPU. Of course you can try it out now and see.

For a comparison, I am running a Pentium D 960 OVERCLOCKED. Power usage goes up to around 70-80 W. My Geforce GT 520 requires a 300 W poersupply. I have 2 HDD's not raided. And one DVD/CD burner with light scribe. All running fine on a 300 W stock powersupply.

You can also use something like this:
http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

Ok, thanks much. I currently have 1 DVD drive and the Geforce 210 with 2 HDD's and running fine. My other PC took a permanent vacation on the power supply. LOL. I wanted to do it right and good since I have to redo things. I will give it a shot. Thanks. :D
HP m7277c PC, 3GB DDR2 RAM, 3.00GHz dual core Pentium D
Geforce 210 Silent Graphics card w/1GB
2x300 GB SATA HDD's (No RAID) LG & HP DVD burners

HP Pavilion dv4 Entertainment PC (Laptop)
2.10 dual core AMD Turion X2
ATI Radeon HD 3200, DVD Burner, Wifi, Bluetooth
QL Touch controls, Altec Lansing onboard speakers

Rooted LG Motion 4G, 1.5GHz dual core
1GB RAM, 8GB ROM

MetroPCS ZTE Z730 Concord 2
User avatar
Tool
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:42 pm
Location: Sacramento
Age: 37
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Power consumption?

Postby Xanayoshi » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:42 pm

So by stop working..is it powering up? You may have static shocked something..it happens. All sorts of bad things happen afterwards.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: Power consumption?

Postby Tool » Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:36 pm

Xanayoshi wrote:So by stop working..is it powering up? You may have static shocked something..it happens. All sorts of bad things happen afterwards.

No power up. I unplugged to switch HDD's, then plugged back in. When I hit the power, nada. The green light on the back still comes on when I plug in though. I figured it was power supply or short in button on power. When I press the power button, no action whatsoever. Dormant if you will.
HP m7277c PC, 3GB DDR2 RAM, 3.00GHz dual core Pentium D
Geforce 210 Silent Graphics card w/1GB
2x300 GB SATA HDD's (No RAID) LG & HP DVD burners

HP Pavilion dv4 Entertainment PC (Laptop)
2.10 dual core AMD Turion X2
ATI Radeon HD 3200, DVD Burner, Wifi, Bluetooth
QL Touch controls, Altec Lansing onboard speakers

Rooted LG Motion 4G, 1.5GHz dual core
1GB RAM, 8GB ROM

MetroPCS ZTE Z730 Concord 2
User avatar
Tool
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:42 pm
Location: Sacramento
Age: 37
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Power consumption?

Postby ryanvade » Tue Jun 18, 2013 6:39 pm

The computer stopped working after unplugging the HDD's? Sounds like something went wrong...
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Power consumption?

Postby Xanayoshi » Tue Jun 18, 2013 6:51 pm

I think you static-shocked it.

Seriously, just drop this query into google

Code: Select all
won't turn on after static shock


I have went through this....

for me I powered it on and off in quick succesion for a few minutes, but it never worked right again. It still technically works(#! is so awesome), but not reliably, can't even use it for server.

I slid my foot back on the carpet to get a better angle to install some RAM..zap

home-alone.jpg


I do everything one handed now, always one hand on the metal, grounded.
Too cheap to buy gloves.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: Power consumption?

Postby ryanvade » Tue Jun 18, 2013 6:53 pm

I agree.

You might want to get something like this for the future:
http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Anti-Stati ... atic+guard
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Power consumption?

Postby Tool » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:17 am

I looked up for the G search for the static shock and basically I need to do what I've always called a "hard reset". All the examples I found happened while the tower was running. Mine was off and unplugged. I did have a habit of hitting the power button after I unplugged to sapp the last remaining power out before handling and was thinking that itself might have done something. Well, either way I'm on it today cause my girl gets the PC on her days off since we only have 1 at the moment. :D Thanks guys
HP m7277c PC, 3GB DDR2 RAM, 3.00GHz dual core Pentium D
Geforce 210 Silent Graphics card w/1GB
2x300 GB SATA HDD's (No RAID) LG & HP DVD burners

HP Pavilion dv4 Entertainment PC (Laptop)
2.10 dual core AMD Turion X2
ATI Radeon HD 3200, DVD Burner, Wifi, Bluetooth
QL Touch controls, Altec Lansing onboard speakers

Rooted LG Motion 4G, 1.5GHz dual core
1GB RAM, 8GB ROM

MetroPCS ZTE Z730 Concord 2
User avatar
Tool
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:42 pm
Location: Sacramento
Age: 37
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Power consumption?

Postby Tool » Wed Jun 26, 2013 11:38 pm

Hey guys, I just wanted to say thanks on the advice regarding the static shock. I finally got around to it today and unplugged everything and hopped the jumper too. Works just fine now. :D When I did a google search on it I noticed some people had it happen when the PC was sitting on the carpet, as mine was. Luckily there was no damage as the PC was already unplugged when it happened. :D
HP m7277c PC, 3GB DDR2 RAM, 3.00GHz dual core Pentium D
Geforce 210 Silent Graphics card w/1GB
2x300 GB SATA HDD's (No RAID) LG & HP DVD burners

HP Pavilion dv4 Entertainment PC (Laptop)
2.10 dual core AMD Turion X2
ATI Radeon HD 3200, DVD Burner, Wifi, Bluetooth
QL Touch controls, Altec Lansing onboard speakers

Rooted LG Motion 4G, 1.5GHz dual core
1GB RAM, 8GB ROM

MetroPCS ZTE Z730 Concord 2
User avatar
Tool
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:42 pm
Location: Sacramento
Age: 37
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests