(Solved)Adding a windows share

Help & Support for Ultimate Edition Lite


Re: Adding a windows share

Postby pam » Sun May 26, 2013 12:06 am

Micro wrote:FreeNAS is great. And if you have adequate RAM like 8GB, ZFS will perform as it should. I run from a Corsair GTR 32GB flash drive on an older AMD Desktop. One point I'd like to make is that if you plan on doing larger file transfers, have preferably 2-1gig nic. Then set up static route on FreeNAS to your main machine. Very easy to do in the UI. ;)


And FreeNAS will last you a decade...or unless you change hardware.
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 32
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Adding a windows share

Postby boarder428 » Sun May 26, 2013 2:07 pm

Micro wrote:FreeNAS is great. And if you have adequate RAM like 8GB, ZFS will perform as it should. I run from a Corsair GTR 32GB flash drive on an older AMD Desktop. One point I'd like to make is that if you plan on doing larger file transfers, have preferably 2-1gig nic. Then set up static route on FreeNAS to your main machine. Very easy to do in the UI. ;)


My windows home server only has 512K of ram. will it even run NAS
Still Noob!
Computer1: Nvidia 650i
Computer Name : corey-NF66
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.20GHz
Memory : 4048MB (640MB used)
Operating System1 : Ultimate Edition 3.4 LTS
Kernel : Linux 3.2.0-38-generic (x86_64)
Operating System2 Windows 7 (x86_84)
-Display-
Resolution : 1680x1050 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : GeForce 8400 GS/PCI/SSE2

Computer2: Acer Aspire 5515 Notebook
Computer Name : corey-Aspire-5515
Processor : AMD Athlon(TheeMahn) Processor 2650e
Memory : 2824MB (1101MB used)
Operating System1 : Ultimate Edition 3.4 LTS
Kernel : Linux 3.2.0-38-generic (x86_64)
Operating System2 Linux Mint 14 32bit
Operating System3 Elementry Os 32 bit
Operating System4 Windows Xp 32 bit
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x800 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS690
User avatar
boarder428
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:13 pm
Location: Eastern Nebraska
Age: 45
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 64 BIT



Re: Adding a windows share

Postby ryanvade » Sun May 26, 2013 8:02 pm

boarder428 wrote:
Micro wrote:FreeNAS is great. And if you have adequate RAM like 8GB, ZFS will perform as it should. I run from a Corsair GTR 32GB flash drive on an older AMD Desktop. One point I'd like to make is that if you plan on doing larger file transfers, have preferably 2-1gig nic. Then set up static route on FreeNAS to your main machine. Very easy to do in the UI. ;)


My windows home server only has 512K of ram. will it even run NAS


:cry:
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Adding a windows share

Postby Micro » Sun May 26, 2013 11:00 pm

Not with ZFS, don't even waste your time. But would prob run OK with UFS for just a file share. Documents/Knowlege Base or pictures at most. Just use a good flash drive if you plan on trying it anyways. Check out the suggestions http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Hardware_Recommendations MATE has a nice pannel applet "connect to server." Supports SSH, FTP, Windows Share, Public FTP, WebDAV, and Secure WebDAV.
Screenshot.png
Image
https://www.linkedin.com/in/josephperrello
Thermaltake Series Core X9 SPCC E-ATX Cube Case
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 64GB Quad Channel DDR4
EVGA 120-G1-0750-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W PSU
APC BR1300G Back-UPS Pro 780W/1300VA UPS
ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA X99 Motherboard
OC-Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.1GHz × 12
Corsair H100i V2 CPU Cooler. 240mm
Kernel Linux 4.6.4-1-ARCH x86_64
MATE Desktop Environment 1.12.1
OS - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB
DATA - 2 SSD 840 EVO RAID 0
MEDIA - 4 HDD 3TB RAID 0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX750 Ti
ViewSonic PJD7820HD
OS - Filesystem F2FS
Arch Linux
User avatar
Micro
Site Admin
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 pm
Age: 41
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Adding a windows share

Postby boarder428 » Mon May 27, 2013 11:38 am

boarder428 wrote:


I got it working with this method. It's not looking like my Windows Home Server is a good canidate for Free Nas and I don't have the cash right now to build something that is so I will just keep on using it as it is. What is the best media player to use with this type of setup?
Still Noob!
Computer1: Nvidia 650i
Computer Name : corey-NF66
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.20GHz
Memory : 4048MB (640MB used)
Operating System1 : Ultimate Edition 3.4 LTS
Kernel : Linux 3.2.0-38-generic (x86_64)
Operating System2 Windows 7 (x86_84)
-Display-
Resolution : 1680x1050 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : GeForce 8400 GS/PCI/SSE2

Computer2: Acer Aspire 5515 Notebook
Computer Name : corey-Aspire-5515
Processor : AMD Athlon(TheeMahn) Processor 2650e
Memory : 2824MB (1101MB used)
Operating System1 : Ultimate Edition 3.4 LTS
Kernel : Linux 3.2.0-38-generic (x86_64)
Operating System2 Linux Mint 14 32bit
Operating System3 Elementry Os 32 bit
Operating System4 Windows Xp 32 bit
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x800 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS690
User avatar
boarder428
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:13 pm
Location: Eastern Nebraska
Age: 45
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 64 BIT



Re: (Solved)Adding a windows share

Postby Xanayoshi » Mon May 27, 2013 2:21 pm

I wish I could just look at your systems...I share across 6 droids, a Raspberry Pi, and 4 PC (about 17 OS)no problem of various specs, and I have spent no time mounting anything through terminal. 512 mb is adequate..of course 512k...

Wait..no..I do have issues with my Samsung, but in reverse..I can still grab whatever with it.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: (Solved)Adding a windows share

Postby boarder428 » Mon May 27, 2013 2:46 pm

Xanayoshi wrote:I wish I could just look at your systems...I share across 6 droids, a Raspberry Pi, and 4 PC (about 17 OS)no problem of various specs, and I have spent no time mounting anything through terminal. 512 mb is adequate..of course 512k...

Wait..no..I do have issues with my Samsung, but in reverse..I can still grab whatever with it.


Lol! it has nothing to do with my systems. It's lack of experience on my end. Once I sit there and stare at it long enough i Usually figure the "Jargon" out. I don't work on computers daily so I easily forget things until I've done them a number of times. :lol:
Still Noob!
Computer1: Nvidia 650i
Computer Name : corey-NF66
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.20GHz
Memory : 4048MB (640MB used)
Operating System1 : Ultimate Edition 3.4 LTS
Kernel : Linux 3.2.0-38-generic (x86_64)
Operating System2 Windows 7 (x86_84)
-Display-
Resolution : 1680x1050 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : GeForce 8400 GS/PCI/SSE2

Computer2: Acer Aspire 5515 Notebook
Computer Name : corey-Aspire-5515
Processor : AMD Athlon(TheeMahn) Processor 2650e
Memory : 2824MB (1101MB used)
Operating System1 : Ultimate Edition 3.4 LTS
Kernel : Linux 3.2.0-38-generic (x86_64)
Operating System2 Linux Mint 14 32bit
Operating System3 Elementry Os 32 bit
Operating System4 Windows Xp 32 bit
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x800 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS690
User avatar
boarder428
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:13 pm
Location: Eastern Nebraska
Age: 45
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 64 BIT



Re: (Solved)Adding a windows share

Postby Micro » Mon May 27, 2013 3:36 pm

Xanayoshi you could always use a VPN, permitting one was allowing you the info to connect. ;)
Image
https://www.linkedin.com/in/josephperrello
Thermaltake Series Core X9 SPCC E-ATX Cube Case
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 64GB Quad Channel DDR4
EVGA 120-G1-0750-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W PSU
APC BR1300G Back-UPS Pro 780W/1300VA UPS
ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA X99 Motherboard
OC-Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.1GHz × 12
Corsair H100i V2 CPU Cooler. 240mm
Kernel Linux 4.6.4-1-ARCH x86_64
MATE Desktop Environment 1.12.1
OS - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB
DATA - 2 SSD 840 EVO RAID 0
MEDIA - 4 HDD 3TB RAID 0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX750 Ti
ViewSonic PJD7820HD
OS - Filesystem F2FS
Arch Linux
User avatar
Micro
Site Admin
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 pm
Age: 41
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: (Solved)Adding a windows share

Postby Xanayoshi » Mon May 27, 2013 4:49 pm

Micro wrote:Xanayoshi you could always use a VPN, permitting one was allowing you the info to connect. ;)


Off-Topic :
True,but I would mess it up somehow, lol.

I have been so out of mindset, I hate it. Also, I would kill to know a fraction of what you do when it comes to these things. I need to quit with this whole human contact thing.

Seriously..there is something wrong with Diamond's Unity, but I can't quite put a finger on it. My compiz is trashed, the Unity Launcher is very unresponsive..sometimes. It would also help if a new season of Arrested Development wasn't out.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: (Solved)Adding a windows share

Postby ryanvade » Wed May 29, 2013 9:48 pm

Xanayoshi wrote:
Micro wrote:Xanayoshi you could always use a VPN, permitting one was allowing you the info to connect. ;)


Off-Topic :
True,but I would mess it up somehow, lol.

I have been so out of mindset, I hate it. Also, I would kill to know a fraction of what you do when it comes to these things. I need to quit with this whole human contact thing.

Seriously..there is something wrong with Diamond's Unity, but I can't quite put a finger on it. My compiz is trashed, the Unity Launcher is very unresponsive..sometimes. It would also help if a new season of Arrested Development wasn't out.


Off-Topic :
You must really be out of it.... Sorry to hear that Unity is not working out for you. It sounds like my experience with Unity on Arch Linux. https://www.ultimateeditionoz.com/forum ... 133&t=5006
I assure you that it can be better. Unity is not COMPLETELY trash....


I recommend VLC for Streaming Media.
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux

Previous

Return to Lite

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests