Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Ultimate Edition Software Repository


Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby BBOSAK2143 » Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:03 pm

Starting to think no matter what repos I use Gnome doesn't mix with anything. Won't let me burn on either version! Second version if I disconnect on install can never connect. Is a real weird one! Am really wondering what to do as thought Ultimate's repos would take care of these problems. To me is just starting to seem is no possible way to use Gnome 3.6 for anything!!! 1st version will connect anytime any how, but this one if I turn down connection on install am done! Never saw Ultimate like that and went by the script, so confuses me is not like that. Is why I think must be Gnome! Any ideas, will greatly appreciate advice all lookup on the next are coming up nil!!!
Firm believer in Asus, Linux and Technology
"Art is to be enjoyed by all that enjoy it"
Asus M5A97 Plus motherboard
AMD FX 4350 Processor
Asus R7250 2GD5 graphics card
16gig DDR3-1333
2TB Hitachi Hard Drive
24in Asus VE248 LED Monitor
OS=My 8th OS Star Trek(Ubuntu 16.04)
Desktops=Gnome 3.20 and LXDE
Warp Speed!
ASUS Laptop R503U
AMD E2-1800
ATI HD7340
4gig Memory
500gig Hitachi HD
OS= Win7 SP1/8th OS Star Trek(Ubuntu 16.04)
Desktops Gnome 3.20 and LXDE
2nd 500gig Seagate HD R.I.P
User avatar
BBOSAK2143
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: Mount Pleasant, Tennessee
Age: 55
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby pch.shot » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:06 am

Try KDE.
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 64
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby Micro » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:18 am

Are you using ppa https://launchpad.net/~gnome3-team/+archive/gnome3? You always have other options like building from https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UbuntuGNOME/ReleaseNotes/12.10Beta?action=AttachFile&do=view&target=quantal-ubuntu-gnome-amd64-20120927.iso.torrent which is the Gnome Remix. Most likely the way I would go if I wanted Gnome. Should be gnome 3.6 on Gnome Remix. Just remember you are never without options in the world of Free Software BBoss. Keep hacking at it...
Image
https://www.linkedin.com/in/josephperrello
Thermaltake Series Core X9 SPCC E-ATX Cube Case
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 64GB Quad Channel DDR4
EVGA 120-G1-0750-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W PSU
APC BR1300G Back-UPS Pro 780W/1300VA UPS
ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA X99 Motherboard
OC-Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.1GHz × 12
Corsair H100i V2 CPU Cooler. 240mm
Kernel Linux 4.6.4-1-ARCH x86_64
MATE Desktop Environment 1.12.1
OS - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB
DATA - 2 SSD 840 EVO RAID 0
MEDIA - 4 HDD 3TB RAID 0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX750 Ti
ViewSonic PJD7820HD
OS - Filesystem F2FS
Arch Linux
User avatar
Micro
Site Admin
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 pm
Age: 41
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby TheeMahn » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:30 am

Micro wrote:Are you using ppa https://launchpad.net/~gnome3-team/+archive/gnome3? You always have other options like building from https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UbuntuGNOME/ReleaseNotes/12.10Beta?action=AttachFile&do=view&target=quantal-ubuntu-gnome-amd64-20120927.iso.torrent which is the Gnome Remix. Most likely the way I would go if I wanted Gnome. Should be gnome 3.6 on Gnome Remix. Just remember you are never without options in the world of Free Software BBoss. Keep hacking at it...


Maybe you and I dont see eye to eye. I am running a LTS 12.04 built based off a gnome 2 not 3 where bugs were introduced into the system. I truely have the world at my hands. Newer is not necessarily better. Sure I have a 3.6 build based off 12.10, should you not be testing Ultimate Edition 3.4 Lite? Do I have 3.6 on the net for testing? I do not want you big fellas getting to big for your britches yet ;)

Run Ultimate Edition 3.4 lite and click a torrent, as miniscue as it may seem I have set options in place to safegaurd you from big brother pinching you.
Code: Select all
root@JackHammer:/home/theemahn/wip# cat /etc/skel/.config/transmission/settings.json
{
    "alt-speed-down": 50,
...
    "bind-address-ipv6": "::",
    "blocklist-date": 1335910278,
    "blocklist-enabled": true,
    "blocklist-updates-enabled": true,
    "blocklist-url": "http://www.bluetack.co.uk/config/level1.gz",
...


When I play with configuration files, it is 100% in your best intrest that I do so. When it comes to building, I prefer to have the absolutly smallest ISO, drop in repomaster and bring it to what my envisonment of what an OS should be with out errors and crashes the errors and crashes a thing of the past. You are a mod test Ultimate Edition 3.4 Lite.
Home of Ultimate Edition. Got a question? Please review the F.A.Q. Browse the How to section.

Main O/S: Builder of O/S Guess.
Mainboard: ASUS Hero VI (AM4)
CPU: AMD 1700X water cooled (Deepcool Captain Genome Cooling tower)
Ram: 16 GB GSkill Trident RGB Series Dual Channel DDR4 3200
Video: MSI RX470 8GB Gaming card.
Hard Disks: MASSIVE on the network.(10 Gigabit, 48 port, multiple servers)
Monitors: 4K Samsung 28", HannsG HH281, Various others
750 Watt modular PSU (Rosswell)
1100 Watt Amp & 4 X 600 Watt speakers

Servers in the basement.
User avatar
TheeMahn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4200
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:02 am
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 47
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Developer



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby Micro » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:40 am

Read it on Muktware recently is only reason I suggested. I don't use new Gnome, just Mate and was trying to give other options to keep users interest. Believe me I meant no disrespect. Trust me I could care less about any newer version of Gnome and yes newer does not mean better.
Image
https://www.linkedin.com/in/josephperrello
Thermaltake Series Core X9 SPCC E-ATX Cube Case
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 64GB Quad Channel DDR4
EVGA 120-G1-0750-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W PSU
APC BR1300G Back-UPS Pro 780W/1300VA UPS
ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA X99 Motherboard
OC-Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.1GHz × 12
Corsair H100i V2 CPU Cooler. 240mm
Kernel Linux 4.6.4-1-ARCH x86_64
MATE Desktop Environment 1.12.1
OS - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB
DATA - 2 SSD 840 EVO RAID 0
MEDIA - 4 HDD 3TB RAID 0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX750 Ti
ViewSonic PJD7820HD
OS - Filesystem F2FS
Arch Linux
User avatar
Micro
Site Admin
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 pm
Age: 41
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby TheeMahn » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:47 am

Micro wrote:Read it on Muktware recently is only reason I suggested. I don't use new Gnome, just Mate and was trying to give other options to keep users interest. Believe me I meant no disrespect. Trust me I could care less about any newer version of Gnome and yes newer does not mean better.


You pulled in Ultimate Edition 3.4 posted in admin / mod chat section? It has been shipped to 3DFX.

I can almost promise you this: Muktware, did not know what it was until now, funny published in Linux pro magazine and oblivious. Here is what is going to happen any I I do mean any should I say every Linux mag will get a rock hard woody over what I will eventually ship. I have been working on the GUI of repomaster "a destroyer of distros". Come to think of it what will become of those mags? Sure, cover the scope of software, no more O/S's. What a concept. What must I embrace? Cocky or confident?
Home of Ultimate Edition. Got a question? Please review the F.A.Q. Browse the How to section.

Main O/S: Builder of O/S Guess.
Mainboard: ASUS Hero VI (AM4)
CPU: AMD 1700X water cooled (Deepcool Captain Genome Cooling tower)
Ram: 16 GB GSkill Trident RGB Series Dual Channel DDR4 3200
Video: MSI RX470 8GB Gaming card.
Hard Disks: MASSIVE on the network.(10 Gigabit, 48 port, multiple servers)
Monitors: 4K Samsung 28", HannsG HH281, Various others
750 Watt modular PSU (Rosswell)
1100 Watt Amp & 4 X 600 Watt speakers

Servers in the basement.
User avatar
TheeMahn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4200
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:02 am
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 47
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Developer



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby BBOSAK2143 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:07 am

I never meant any disrespect either, TheeMahn. I have the deepest admiration for what you do! Last year at this time, I didn't even know how to start Linux. Without your forum, I would still be wondering how to burn a disk on Linux! Am going to go your route in a few days when I can download at school! Have learned quite a bit within the time off, but is just a beginning is all! I have just been very curious for months now, why people are shying away from Gnome 3. Now I am starting to see why! I just want to see what I learned go into action. Maybe will be a total nightmare, or maybe will function. If is terrible, don't have nothing to loose as still have yours to go back to! Nothing but lost time is all. I still have it for a few days. Then will be back to normal schooling. Am just going for the novice computer degree. You know, the AAS in BIT! Replace the one A with an S and that is me at present! I won't be able to spend the amount of time you did in college, as am positive has to be at least 4 years(most likely double)! Mine is just a file pushing job, nothing compared to what you can do! Is almost as when I was 6 years old and my brother was going into the 7th grade. I was amazed and so curious! Guess I never changed! Still that way and just trying to reach for the impossible! All this messing with kernels and compilers am afraid, I dusted 3.5 that is running now. Since there appears to be a few unexplained things going on, is a reason to try what I am about to! I am a real risk taker! Once in a while I do gain! I don't gamble with money, only things to try! Vbox is wasted also! I know you can't make major calls with it since it compensates for all drivers, but generally working conditions of software are accurate. I burned the image last night and is showing slightly different from when loaded in Vbox. On that I base my decision to see what really happens! I wish I had a couple extra Hard drives as I did in the past! Such is life, no cash, so just have to work with what I have! I never ever want you to be mad at me, TheeMahn! I only look to learn and help others as much as I can! Another quality I see in you! Is the same I have been all my life is helping! Only way to live!!!! Love it here wish me luck! Will post when is loaded. 2 more days til I go to school for a book(you bet will have flash drive with me!)
Firm believer in Asus, Linux and Technology
"Art is to be enjoyed by all that enjoy it"
Asus M5A97 Plus motherboard
AMD FX 4350 Processor
Asus R7250 2GD5 graphics card
16gig DDR3-1333
2TB Hitachi Hard Drive
24in Asus VE248 LED Monitor
OS=My 8th OS Star Trek(Ubuntu 16.04)
Desktops=Gnome 3.20 and LXDE
Warp Speed!
ASUS Laptop R503U
AMD E2-1800
ATI HD7340
4gig Memory
500gig Hitachi HD
OS= Win7 SP1/8th OS Star Trek(Ubuntu 16.04)
Desktops Gnome 3.20 and LXDE
2nd 500gig Seagate HD R.I.P
User avatar
BBOSAK2143
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: Mount Pleasant, Tennessee
Age: 55
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby Xanayoshi » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:45 am

There's no reason not to experiment and see what works best for you. If you want to add 3.6 you need the ppa that was suggested earlier. Every DE has quirks. If you weren't doing a build and just wanted that environment, OZ would probably be a better route. Personally I was somewhat surprised you wanted Gnome 3. I will try to get my hardware out of storage today so I can get my Ultimate Edition's back on line. I agree, Ultimate is by far my favorite and I learned more here than anywhere else. What is wrong with your 3.5? Oh well, off to court, I'll check in later.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 40
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby BBOSAK2143 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:33 pm

See Xan, I messed with everything under the sun on 3.5 and it didn't crash ever except when my heatsink was dirty. Am getting inaccurate things though now since I played with the kernel. When I put that exton one in, there goes some of the ID for the system. Apparently, here and there was labeling my machine as i386. Is not a real far cry above but still is! When I was messing with Ubuntu Builder with making image and header debs was not a real great idea either! I caused all the problems, so was either reload on Ultimate 3.5, or give a shot with making my own. Guess where I am at now? Yeah is running, turns out the first one I made was good after all! Vbox gave me some BS, so I thought it was no good! Forgot Vbox took a hit on all this too! I sure do dig deep holes, when I dig them! So here I am using Cinnamon and looks quite nice. Swiped the themes off of Snow Linux! Am using the Zukwito one along with the road picture for now. Have my Italy one on the other flash, will get back to that soon! Don't have all the razzle dazzle of Ultimate as far as compiz, but will learn to make it work decent. I like the looks of Gnome 3.6, just have to work on some settings here and there!!!! The 2nd one I made was just a few additions to the build with me, that TheeMahn had. For some unknown reason will not connect to the internet! This one, no problem. When I enter my home folder there are no folders such as documents and video. Neither version had it! Is apparent Gnome 3.6 is a little difficult to deal with! Haven't been at school so have to watch on the DL's, did way too much with this already! Had to be tried and is awesome to see something I made actually functioning! Now if I could just learn to make programs! Maybe I could be more than a file pusher! Is going to take a lot of time to learn! Is unfortunate after this semester will have to study on my own when time permits! So will probably never be great but least am going to do my best to learn! Must have messed something up on the 2nd one though or something didn't load, just not sure. Will stick with this and see if it could work for a while! See if I could get Gnome shell to take on the theme properly would be nice! Wouldn't do that on either version! Is why I say only difference is this one connects right away and stays connected a little better. These 3G Verizon connections are a pain! Nothing likes connecting with them at certain times of day!!!! Anyway just have to have a little fun and see where it takes me! Will be I will be back on Ultimate soon as 3.6 hits!!!! Not crazy, just adventurous! Will always love Ultimate, it's a real system with no guess work! It's called "Know How + Experience!" Mine a lot of reading and guess work!
Firm believer in Asus, Linux and Technology
"Art is to be enjoyed by all that enjoy it"
Asus M5A97 Plus motherboard
AMD FX 4350 Processor
Asus R7250 2GD5 graphics card
16gig DDR3-1333
2TB Hitachi Hard Drive
24in Asus VE248 LED Monitor
OS=My 8th OS Star Trek(Ubuntu 16.04)
Desktops=Gnome 3.20 and LXDE
Warp Speed!
ASUS Laptop R503U
AMD E2-1800
ATI HD7340
4gig Memory
500gig Hitachi HD
OS= Win7 SP1/8th OS Star Trek(Ubuntu 16.04)
Desktops Gnome 3.20 and LXDE
2nd 500gig Seagate HD R.I.P
User avatar
BBOSAK2143
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: Mount Pleasant, Tennessee
Age: 55
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Maybe Ultimate's repo and Gnome 3.6 don't mix?

Postby Micro » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:56 pm

Had the cannot connect to internet issue also on a few laptops i installed to. Easy fix for that you may want to use, or keep for future reference...
Code: Select all
dhclient wlan0

Change the code for a lan drop respectively
Code: Select all
dhclient eth0
Image
https://www.linkedin.com/in/josephperrello
Thermaltake Series Core X9 SPCC E-ATX Cube Case
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 64GB Quad Channel DDR4
EVGA 120-G1-0750-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W PSU
APC BR1300G Back-UPS Pro 780W/1300VA UPS
ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA X99 Motherboard
OC-Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.1GHz × 12
Corsair H100i V2 CPU Cooler. 240mm
Kernel Linux 4.6.4-1-ARCH x86_64
MATE Desktop Environment 1.12.1
OS - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB
DATA - 2 SSD 840 EVO RAID 0
MEDIA - 4 HDD 3TB RAID 0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX750 Ti
ViewSonic PJD7820HD
OS - Filesystem F2FS
Arch Linux
User avatar
Micro
Site Admin
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 pm
Age: 41
Operating System: Other Linux

Next

Return to Repository

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests