Unable to install

Help and support for Ultimate Edition 2.8


Unable to install

Postby Jeahavee » Fri Dec 31, 2010 5:19 pm

It's hard to explain so I'll upload it now on youtube and let someone figure it out. :D

Back story: I just got a new motherboard (not the one in the videos) it's set on ACHI (that's the only way the board reads my hdd (I only have one inside). I can get on Windows 7 no problem (I'm on it now) I have 250gbs of free unallocated space. I've done multibooting before and it's just not working like usual. I had Ultimate Edition installed twice already but had to reinstall dew to raid 0 fail. So I know my computer and this motherboard (not much difference from the other board) will work.

Check the vid and please help I need my Ultimate Edition so I can get back to editing videos with DESKTOP POWER. :lol:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wf9l_Q2FpM8
Jeahavee Jamillskill jGRite (just Get Right).
Divius
Hp Pavilion Dv61030us 1366x768
Quick Port
Creative X-Fi 5.1 (USB)
Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Anywhere MX, G9
Intel 300gb ssd, Windows 210gb, Ubuntu 14.00 70gb (all 64 bits)

YoiYoru
AMD 965
evga 580 hydro
Water cooled...
4 sticks of 8gbs ddr3 HyperX Ram (1333mhz)
Viewsonic 23.6" 1920x1080
Sony 17" 1280x1024
1 WD Caviar 1tb, 1 WD Green 2tb
W7 Pro 256gbs ssd, Ultimate Edition 14.04 60gb (Always 64bits)
Logitech G710+, G13, MX Revolution
Func HS260

Giniro old build leftover parts
MSI NF980G65
2 BFG GTX 280 OC

http://www.youtube.com/jeahavee
http://www.reverbnation.com/jeahavee
@jGRite
User avatar
Jeahavee
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:59 pm
Location: North Florida
Age: 35
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Unable to install

Postby pclinuxguru » Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:17 pm

Ok so you set aside some 120 gig for Ultimate Edition 2.8 on a 3rd partition but fails to show up on the installer?

I also see another linux partition pre formated, what is that one for if I might ask ?

How is your HDD,s set up in bios ? IDE or AHCI ? Raid or single HDD ?
pclinuxguru is deceased.R.I.P
pclinuxguru
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:28 am
Age: 45
Operating System: Ubuntu Gusty Gibson



Re: Unable to install

Postby Jeahavee » Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:42 am

AHCI single (non raid) I also tried another linux and I got the same thing.

That partition pre formate is empty and just shows that the installer doesn't see it. I made that space for Ultimate Edition to be installed on.
Jeahavee Jamillskill jGRite (just Get Right).
Divius
Hp Pavilion Dv61030us 1366x768
Quick Port
Creative X-Fi 5.1 (USB)
Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Anywhere MX, G9
Intel 300gb ssd, Windows 210gb, Ubuntu 14.00 70gb (all 64 bits)

YoiYoru
AMD 965
evga 580 hydro
Water cooled...
4 sticks of 8gbs ddr3 HyperX Ram (1333mhz)
Viewsonic 23.6" 1920x1080
Sony 17" 1280x1024
1 WD Caviar 1tb, 1 WD Green 2tb
W7 Pro 256gbs ssd, Ultimate Edition 14.04 60gb (Always 64bits)
Logitech G710+, G13, MX Revolution
Func HS260

Giniro old build leftover parts
MSI NF980G65
2 BFG GTX 280 OC

http://www.youtube.com/jeahavee
http://www.reverbnation.com/jeahavee
@jGRite
User avatar
Jeahavee
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:59 pm
Location: North Florida
Age: 35
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Unable to install

Postby pclinuxguru » Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:58 am

I use ahci as well.

I did have a new board I tried out about a month ago that would not work with Ultimate Edition 2.8 unless set to IDE and dual mode had to be off in bios.

Just a thought there.
pclinuxguru is deceased.R.I.P
pclinuxguru
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:28 am
Age: 45
Operating System: Ubuntu Gusty Gibson



Re: Unable to install

Postby Jeahavee » Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:44 pm

Change to all my modes (ide achi raid) none of them worked. Same thing can't even see the hard drive. doesn't make sense. I'm just not sure how I was able to on the other board but not this one. Same company.
Jeahavee Jamillskill jGRite (just Get Right).
Divius
Hp Pavilion Dv61030us 1366x768
Quick Port
Creative X-Fi 5.1 (USB)
Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Anywhere MX, G9
Intel 300gb ssd, Windows 210gb, Ubuntu 14.00 70gb (all 64 bits)

YoiYoru
AMD 965
evga 580 hydro
Water cooled...
4 sticks of 8gbs ddr3 HyperX Ram (1333mhz)
Viewsonic 23.6" 1920x1080
Sony 17" 1280x1024
1 WD Caviar 1tb, 1 WD Green 2tb
W7 Pro 256gbs ssd, Ultimate Edition 14.04 60gb (Always 64bits)
Logitech G710+, G13, MX Revolution
Func HS260

Giniro old build leftover parts
MSI NF980G65
2 BFG GTX 280 OC

http://www.youtube.com/jeahavee
http://www.reverbnation.com/jeahavee
@jGRite
User avatar
Jeahavee
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:59 pm
Location: North Florida
Age: 35
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Unable to install

Postby pclinuxguru » Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:45 am

Hey man, see this is yet to be resolved from the look of it.

Odd one for sure & I have yet to experience this my self as of yet.

Truthfully, I have no idea why. Well I have an idea, just makes little sense to me. I am thinking there is a odd problems with it sharing the same HDD.

But I do have a ruff idea on how to proceed. At least what I would do.

I my self would just add another HDD to the mix and install linux to it.

My own setup, I use a 1 TB HDD per os. So each os gets its own HDD.

If there is no other way to add another HDD, then wipe and repartition and format.
pclinuxguru is deceased.R.I.P
pclinuxguru
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:28 am
Age: 45
Operating System: Ubuntu Gusty Gibson



Re: Unable to install

Postby Jeahavee » Mon Jan 10, 2011 1:22 pm

Just happen to have a spare :/ well I put it in a low and behold it found the drive with no problem.

SOOOO now the question is WHy was the blank drive found without issue but the other not found. Problems only half solved . :)
Jeahavee Jamillskill jGRite (just Get Right).
Divius
Hp Pavilion Dv61030us 1366x768
Quick Port
Creative X-Fi 5.1 (USB)
Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Anywhere MX, G9
Intel 300gb ssd, Windows 210gb, Ubuntu 14.00 70gb (all 64 bits)

YoiYoru
AMD 965
evga 580 hydro
Water cooled...
4 sticks of 8gbs ddr3 HyperX Ram (1333mhz)
Viewsonic 23.6" 1920x1080
Sony 17" 1280x1024
1 WD Caviar 1tb, 1 WD Green 2tb
W7 Pro 256gbs ssd, Ultimate Edition 14.04 60gb (Always 64bits)
Logitech G710+, G13, MX Revolution
Func HS260

Giniro old build leftover parts
MSI NF980G65
2 BFG GTX 280 OC

http://www.youtube.com/jeahavee
http://www.reverbnation.com/jeahavee
@jGRite
User avatar
Jeahavee
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:59 pm
Location: North Florida
Age: 35
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Unable to install

Postby 2hot6ft2 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:08 pm

You said that there is only 1 drive in it but it shows as sde. Have you tried changing the drive the installer (Ubiquity) is looking at to sda instead of sde? Just 1 drive should be sda. Ubiquity and GParted may not be seeing it as the same drive.

Might try changing where it is plugged into the motherboard or make sure it's plugged into the #1 SATA plug.

If there are other drives installed you might try removing all but the one you're trying to install to, and make sure it's set to be the first HDD in the boot order in the BIOS after the boot device you're using to install from.

Might also try deleting that EMPTY pre-formatted partition using windows and check the drive for errors with chkdsk. When it was created it may have botched the partition table somehow to where GParted can see it but Ubiquity is having trouble reading it.

Try the easy ideas first. Hope one of them does the trick. ;)
Image
HP G60-125NR - AMD Turion X2 64 - nVidia GeForce 8200M G - 128 GB SSD Dual boot - Ultimate Edition, Win 10 Pro
HP G60-121WM - AMD Sempron SI-40 - nVidia GeForce 8200M G - 128 GB SSD - Dual boot - Ultimate Edition, Win 10 Pro
Custom build, Rosewill Challenger ATX Gaming Case, AMD Phenom II x4 955 C3 rev., MSI 870A-G54, 2x ATI HD4850 512MB /256bit GDDR3 & dual precision, GSkill 8GB 1600 RAM - Multi boot - Ultimate Edition, Win 10 Pro, Beta Testing
User avatar
2hot6ft2
Moderator
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:30 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Unable to install

Postby Jeahavee » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:16 pm

those sound good I'll look into that later on NOW I gotta login ... (new feed here):

:lol: viewtopic.php?f=71&t=5656 :lol:
Jeahavee Jamillskill jGRite (just Get Right).
Divius
Hp Pavilion Dv61030us 1366x768
Quick Port
Creative X-Fi 5.1 (USB)
Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Anywhere MX, G9
Intel 300gb ssd, Windows 210gb, Ubuntu 14.00 70gb (all 64 bits)

YoiYoru
AMD 965
evga 580 hydro
Water cooled...
4 sticks of 8gbs ddr3 HyperX Ram (1333mhz)
Viewsonic 23.6" 1920x1080
Sony 17" 1280x1024
1 WD Caviar 1tb, 1 WD Green 2tb
W7 Pro 256gbs ssd, Ultimate Edition 14.04 60gb (Always 64bits)
Logitech G710+, G13, MX Revolution
Func HS260

Giniro old build leftover parts
MSI NF980G65
2 BFG GTX 280 OC

http://www.youtube.com/jeahavee
http://www.reverbnation.com/jeahavee
@jGRite
User avatar
Jeahavee
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:59 pm
Location: North Florida
Age: 35
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Unable to install

Postby Jeahavee » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:30 pm

Just in case someone start reading this for a solution :mrgreen: . NOTE that if you have a new untouched drive you can't install most Linux OSs on it if nothing was installed on there before. As in the emtpy space you leave to install another OS won't install. You gotta install your first OS over the whole drive then shrink it. Then you can install other OSs behind it. There's no way around it. Once the whole drive gets used then any OS can be installed :ugeek: . Pretty much any... :oops:
Jeahavee Jamillskill jGRite (just Get Right).
Divius
Hp Pavilion Dv61030us 1366x768
Quick Port
Creative X-Fi 5.1 (USB)
Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Anywhere MX, G9
Intel 300gb ssd, Windows 210gb, Ubuntu 14.00 70gb (all 64 bits)

YoiYoru
AMD 965
evga 580 hydro
Water cooled...
4 sticks of 8gbs ddr3 HyperX Ram (1333mhz)
Viewsonic 23.6" 1920x1080
Sony 17" 1280x1024
1 WD Caviar 1tb, 1 WD Green 2tb
W7 Pro 256gbs ssd, Ultimate Edition 14.04 60gb (Always 64bits)
Logitech G710+, G13, MX Revolution
Func HS260

Giniro old build leftover parts
MSI NF980G65
2 BFG GTX 280 OC

http://www.youtube.com/jeahavee
http://www.reverbnation.com/jeahavee
@jGRite
User avatar
Jeahavee
U.E. College Professor
U.E. College Professor
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:59 pm
Location: North Florida
Age: 35
Operating System: Other Linux

Next

Return to Ultimate Edition 2.8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests