need help ...

Help & support for Ultimate Edition 1.8


need help ...

Postby 7linux » Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:45 am

hi all,

i got new problem with my laptop acer aspire 4530 .. i;m using Ultimate Edition 1.8 ... but i don't know why my laptop always hang , i mean ... my keyboard suddenly stop working and cant typing anymor , and also my mouse ... but when i'm using usb ext. keyboard and mouse ... its works ... :D .... i try to re-format again .. and got same problem ... i check my ram and hdd , my device is ok .. no problems with the ram and hdd ...


hang when i open apps or using apps or move my mouse / cursor faster .. thats time my keyboard and my mouse cant function .. actually the system / Ultimate Edition 1.8 still working .. i try already using ext keyboard and mouse


thx for all of your help ... :D
Image
CPU: AMD+2 X4 PhenomII 940+ 3.2Ghz
CrazyPC H2O-220 Xtreme Liquid Cooling Kit
Mainboard : Asus M3A78 Pro
Ram: 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 8500 (Twin)
HDD: 2 unit Seagate @500GB 7200rpm SATA
Optical Drive: Samsung DVD-RW
VGA: ASUS EN9800+ 512MB DDR3 Dark Knight
Power Supply: Zalman 600watt 99% Power Factor
W-Lan: TP-Link Atheros Chipset
Monitor: 2 LCD Samsung SyncMaster 2033 20"
OS: Ultimate Edition 2.3 64bit
User avatar
7linux
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:49 am
Age: 38
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: need help ...

Postby ixnod » Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:47 pm

hello 7linux, one quick question, have you recently updated your kernel?
and what version is it? if it is the 2.6.27.9 then there is a bit of an issue with it hanging and not allowing any user input other than pressing the "off" button a few seconds and then cold booting again.

so far as a solution, I know it is out their somewhere, I just have to find it
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: need help ...

Postby 7linux » Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:44 pm

i'm using generic kernel (latest update kernel) ,
every time if i'm still using firefox or open terminal ... fast switch for firefox tab also make my keyboard and mouse not working, and than i plugin my usb keyboard and mouse ... both of them still can be use .. i mean not my system hang ... but my keyboard and mouse suddenly like that ...


hmmm for kernel 2.6.27 ... yeah ... i try that already .. and also got same problem ....

have any idea ? Thank you very much ...
Image
CPU: AMD+2 X4 PhenomII 940+ 3.2Ghz
CrazyPC H2O-220 Xtreme Liquid Cooling Kit
Mainboard : Asus M3A78 Pro
Ram: 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 8500 (Twin)
HDD: 2 unit Seagate @500GB 7200rpm SATA
Optical Drive: Samsung DVD-RW
VGA: ASUS EN9800+ 512MB DDR3 Dark Knight
Power Supply: Zalman 600watt 99% Power Factor
W-Lan: TP-Link Atheros Chipset
Monitor: 2 LCD Samsung SyncMaster 2033 20"
OS: Ultimate Edition 2.3 64bit
User avatar
7linux
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:49 am
Age: 38
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: need help ...

Postby ixnod » Wed Dec 03, 2008 4:33 pm

just an update, I still have not found any type of solution or workaround yet, but it seems pretty prevalent on laptops. So it may lead me to believe that it has to do with the sleep or hibernation state, been quite busy lately. Hopefully Canonical can have it fixed before I can get to it.
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: need help ...

Postby 7linux » Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:31 am

thx very much ...
Image
CPU: AMD+2 X4 PhenomII 940+ 3.2Ghz
CrazyPC H2O-220 Xtreme Liquid Cooling Kit
Mainboard : Asus M3A78 Pro
Ram: 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 8500 (Twin)
HDD: 2 unit Seagate @500GB 7200rpm SATA
Optical Drive: Samsung DVD-RW
VGA: ASUS EN9800+ 512MB DDR3 Dark Knight
Power Supply: Zalman 600watt 99% Power Factor
W-Lan: TP-Link Atheros Chipset
Monitor: 2 LCD Samsung SyncMaster 2033 20"
OS: Ultimate Edition 2.3 64bit
User avatar
7linux
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:49 am
Age: 38
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: need help ...

Postby cowboy » Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:55 am

Hello...are you trying to run 32 bit or 64 bit,
Acers have problems running 64 bit drivers..and in fact if you have a pre factory installed Vista...you will have problems even installing an updated Nvidia driver for 32 bit Vista and have to load a driver for Nvidia through Acer themself....? That is if you are running Nvidia card...
If you are trying a 64 bit install...why not cross over to a 32 bit and see if that might solve your problems...running 32 bit is not a step down..if it works..then it would be a step up...lol
Maybe a little more info on lap would help us..help you... :)
"Back up your Data"
"May I never lose the view of a nubie"
"Give a man a fish, he will eat for a day, teach a man how to fish , he will eat a lifetime"
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
i5 2500k
3x4G-Skill Ripjaws
MSI GTX 560Ti Hawk..
Seagate 1TB Barracuda
NZXT 850w PS
CM Storm Sniper Case
Evga Superclock CPU Cooler
Mushkin SSD coming soon
http://acowboydave.blogspot.com/
User avatar
cowboy
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Scottsdale Az
Age: 66
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: need help ...

Postby 7linux » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:03 am

cowboy wrote:Hello...are you trying to run 32 bit or 64 bit,
Acers have problems running 64 bit drivers..and in fact if you have a pre factory installed Vista...you will have problems even installing an updated Nvidia driver for 32 bit Vista and have to load a driver for Nvidia through Acer themself....? That is if you are running Nvidia card...
If you are trying a 64 bit install...why not cross over to a 32 bit and see if that might solve your problems...running 32 bit is not a step down..if it works..then it would be a step up...lol
Maybe a little more info on lap would help us..help you... :)



Thank you very much my friends,

i'm using 32bit, my vga - wireless - webcam - bluetooth etc working properly ~ sound not working (not yet update kernel)
when i run compiz , i mean ratate cube (cylinder mode or sphere) ... it's heave or lagging ... like not yet install grapich card driver .. i install using 173 version driver nvidia ...
Image
CPU: AMD+2 X4 PhenomII 940+ 3.2Ghz
CrazyPC H2O-220 Xtreme Liquid Cooling Kit
Mainboard : Asus M3A78 Pro
Ram: 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 8500 (Twin)
HDD: 2 unit Seagate @500GB 7200rpm SATA
Optical Drive: Samsung DVD-RW
VGA: ASUS EN9800+ 512MB DDR3 Dark Knight
Power Supply: Zalman 600watt 99% Power Factor
W-Lan: TP-Link Atheros Chipset
Monitor: 2 LCD Samsung SyncMaster 2033 20"
OS: Ultimate Edition 2.3 64bit
User avatar
7linux
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:49 am
Age: 38
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: need help ...

Postby deate » Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:34 am

7linux wrote:
cowboy wrote:Hello...are you trying to run 32 bit or 64 bit,
Acers have problems running 64 bit drivers..and in fact if you have a pre factory installed Vista...you will have problems even installing an updated Nvidia driver for 32 bit Vista and have to load a driver for Nvidia through Acer themself....? That is if you are running Nvidia card...
If you are trying a 64 bit install...why not cross over to a 32 bit and see if that might solve your problems...running 32 bit is not a step down..if it works..then it would be a step up...lol
Maybe a little more info on lap would help us..help you... :)



Thank you very much my friends,

i'm using 32bit, my vga - wireless - webcam - bluetooth etc working properly ~ sound not working (not yet update kernel)
when i run compiz , i mean ratate cube (cylinder mode or sphere) ... it's heave or lagging ... like not yet install grapich card driver .. i install using 173 version driver nvidia ...

Did you check ...SYSTEM>PREFERENCES>APPEARANCE>VISUAL EFFECTS ???to make sure "EXTRA" was selected???
Also, as I don't have 1.8 loaded anymore, I'm not sure if there is ...SYSTEM TOOLS>SYSINFO... if there is, there should be a listing for nVidia, click on that and it will give you information on you graphics card, you can see there what kernel module driver is being used...
User avatar
deate
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:54 am
Location: South Texas
Age: 69
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite



Re: need help ...

Postby ixnod » Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:15 am

OK, I think I may have found the reason why things are going the way they are.

To be sure, 7linux, When you restart or shut down your laptop, does it give you an extremely long scrolling screen about bad process from Idle thread?

If it is, its a bug thats being worked on. Here is the link.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=986361
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT


Return to Ultimate Edition 1.8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron