ati drivers and envy

Help & support for Ultimate Edition 1.8


Re: ati drivers and envy

Postby onslaught » Fri Nov 14, 2008 9:11 am

thank you all gays for your help! <BREW>
Deate , if i had read your post before installing v2.0 , i wouldn't have! :oops: sorry man!
my newbie opinion is that is something with drivers... :shock:
pch.shot , u say to enable compiz but set Visual Effects to : none? (because ,low graphic card?)
Deate , the i think the photo u sent reveals the problem :!:
i had not that. in the place u have nvidia , i have ... nothing.
the reference in ati was in a sub menu in the hardware menu!
(my workspaces were locked (one worked)i have 2. 2nd worked if Visual effects were at: none , or normal.)
so , i think that for some reason drivers are not accepted by the OS.(maybe its silly though )
also i have done the installation as u said, + i was uninstall envy. (after reboot , i put it again)
{someone said me that maybe if i give some codes in console will set drivers alive} :?: i dont know
now i have v2,0 (its no envy, or i am blind) :roll:
Image

CPU: p4 3Ghz
Motherboard: albatron px865p pro
Ram: ddr 512
AGP: asus - ati redeon x800xt (r420)
User avatar
onslaught
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:40 am
Age: 35
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 1.8 Gamers



Re: ati drivers and envy

Postby deate » Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:05 am

No, you're not blind!! :lol: Envy is gone, that's why I was trying to solve your problem with 1.8, Envy usually makes it easy! But, now that you've moved on, let's try to get you going with what we now have available :) Go to SYSTEM>ADMINISTRATION>HARDWARE DRIVERS...and try to install from there,we'll see what happens there, if you do get the drivers installed, then checking your SYSINFO should show up somthing like mine where mine says NVIDIA, if that is there...go to PREFERENCES>APPEARANCE>VISUAL EFFECTS again and try EXTRA again...ANY others questions, or if this doesn't work, post a new thread in the 2.0 section with the title "Driver Problems" and we'll see if we can help you from there :D
User avatar
deate
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:54 am
Location: South Texas
Age: 69
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite



Re: ati drivers and envy

Postby pch.shot » Fri Nov 14, 2008 12:36 pm

Mine is set to none because of 8 megs of video ram. You want extra!!!
If you can not set it to extra then your video driver is not installed correctly. There is a hardware driver option that should tell you what driver to install if needed.
Attachments
test.png
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 64
Operating System: Microsoft Windows

Previous

Return to Ultimate Edition 1.8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron