Having issues

Source code I have written openly published for your viewing pleasure.


Having issues

Postby Bobd-Linux-noobie » Sat May 03, 2014 3:39 pm

Ok I am having issues. I can not figure otu where i am messing up.

I am working on building my owen os based on TheeMahns work. But i tried to get my network connection into the virtual environment. I get errors. Right after these lines :

mount -t squashfs -o loop mnt/casper/filesystem.squashfs squashfs
cp -a squashfs/* edit/

I add the following:
cp /etc/resolv.conf edit/etc

error cp can not make regular files......this is the eroor i have been getting. I am wondering if it is do to being at su level????

I get cp cant create regular files. If any one can point me in the correct direction I would greatly appreciate it. I am learning a lot from doing this project. Thank You to the Ultimate Team!!!!
Last edited by Bobd-Linux-noobie on Sun May 04, 2014 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
System Details:
CPU: AMD Athlon(TheeMahn) II X2 245 Processor
Motherboard: Biostar A780L3G
Chipset: AMD 760G / SB710
Lan: Realtek RTL8111DL - 10/100/1000 Controller
Audio: Realtek ALC662 6-Channel HD Audio
Memory: DDR3 4GB
Bobd-Linux-noobie
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:52 pm
Age: 48
Operating System: Other O/S



Re: Having issues

Postby pam » Sat May 03, 2014 11:43 pm

Please also post the error messages you are getting. :)
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 33
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Having issues

Postby BBOSAK2143 » Mon May 05, 2014 8:51 am

Agree with Pam, need the exact error message you are getting. Also, since I have been messing with building my own, figured I would toss my two cents in and maybe will add up to a nickel! Now, if you are following TheeMahn's script to the letter, can just continue on as it says. If you are going to deviate and want to keep track of many files, may want to use Ubuntu Builder. I have been using that on all the builds I have made since I can easily go into synaptic and insure I have installed different files, really helps out. See, TheeMahn has been building for a very long time! Very brilliant and smart, also many many more years and education, dedication and sheer ingenuity with all this! That is why I say if you follow his to the letter, you are sure not to have a problem or issue. Just if you do on your own add different programs, games, etc may be benfiicial to do what I am saying! Of course all is just advice. Hopefully, will get the entire error message to us and we'll figure what is going wrong and do our best to help! Is an awesome adventure building these OS's and everyone learns greatly from doing them! Will wish you the very best in all this also!!
Firm believer in Asus, Linux and Technology
"Art is to be enjoyed by all that enjoy it"
Asus M5A97 Plus motherboard
AMD FX 4350 Processor
Asus R7250 2GD5 graphics card
16gig DDR3-1333
2TB Hitachi Hard Drive
24in Asus VE248 LED Monitor
OS=My 8th OS Star Trek(Ubuntu 16.04)
Desktops=Gnome 3.20 and LXDE
Warp Speed!
ASUS Laptop R503U
AMD E2-1800
ATI HD7340
4gig Memory
500gig Hitachi HD
OS= Win7 SP1/8th OS Star Trek(Ubuntu 16.04)
Desktops Gnome 3.20 and LXDE
2nd 500gig Seagate HD R.I.P
User avatar
BBOSAK2143
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:56 pm
Location: Mount Pleasant, Tennessee
Age: 55
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Having issues

Postby Bobd-Linux-noobie » Mon May 05, 2014 12:48 pm

Ok guys i have this one solved. The actual issue was caused by being logged in as root (super user). i retried the same command but only only as sudo and it copied just fine. Can some one please mark this post solved? Thank you.

BBOSAK2143 I agree TheeMahn is a genious when it comes to this stuff. He is the one that insired me to embark on this journey of enlightenment so to speak. Plus i find it challanging and fulfilling to create something of my own. I have been reading a lot of TheeMahns projects i have been learning from those.

You said you use ubuntu builder..... interesting. I have checked out some of your distros as well they are very nice keep up the good work!!!
System Details:
CPU: AMD Athlon(TheeMahn) II X2 245 Processor
Motherboard: Biostar A780L3G
Chipset: AMD 760G / SB710
Lan: Realtek RTL8111DL - 10/100/1000 Controller
Audio: Realtek ALC662 6-Channel HD Audio
Memory: DDR3 4GB
Bobd-Linux-noobie
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:52 pm
Age: 48
Operating System: Other O/S



Re: Having issues

Postby Bobd-Linux-noobie » Mon May 05, 2014 12:56 pm

BBOSAK2143 Thank you for your time in this matter and sugestions. Thank you as well Pam.
System Details:
CPU: AMD Athlon(TheeMahn) II X2 245 Processor
Motherboard: Biostar A780L3G
Chipset: AMD 760G / SB710
Lan: Realtek RTL8111DL - 10/100/1000 Controller
Audio: Realtek ALC662 6-Channel HD Audio
Memory: DDR3 4GB
Bobd-Linux-noobie
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:52 pm
Age: 48
Operating System: Other O/S


Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest