Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

assault cube server? [SOLVED]

Help & support for Ultimate Edition 3.2


assault cube server? [SOLVED]

Postby ryanvade » Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:39 pm

I know there is an entire forum dedicated to assault cube, I just don't like some of the people who answer questions there. I always get confused when dealing with game servers. I know they allow remote computers to connect to the server, then the server connects all the players to each other and Bang! somewhat like that anyway. I was hopping someone on this forum had experience starting a server, and running it? I could really use the help! I can't seem to get the darn thing to start with the settings file i created. (the one that is installed with the game). Any ideas? Anyone know a good HOW TO/STEP by STEP? thanks for any suggestions!
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: assault cube server?

Postby Time » Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:43 pm

ryanvade wrote:I know there is an entire forum dedicated to assault cube, I just don't like some of the people who answer questions there. I always get confused when dealing with game servers. I know they allow remote computers to connect to the server, then the server connects all the players to each other and Bang! somewhat like that anyway. I was hopping someone on this forum had experience starting a server, and running it? I could really use the help! I can't seem to get the darn thing to start with the settings file i created. (the one that is installed with the game). Any ideas? Anyone know a good HOW TO/STEP by STEP? thanks for any suggestions!


I just did this with urban terror so i will try to give you a hand.

You made a start script? did you edit the server config file? If so Does it give you an error when you try to start the server?

sorry i couldn't find a good how to so i am trying to see what you have done so far.
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula Motherboard
AMD fx 8120
Ati 7970 video card
2 90 gig ocz ssd raid 0 (Windows 7)
Western Digital SATA3 3 tb
Corsair f115 sata 2 ssd (for Ultimate edition)
16 GiGs DDR3
User avatar
Time
Moderator
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:16 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: assault cube server?

Postby ryanvade » Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:55 pm

Heres the custom script: I tried it and it works fine, except I'm not sure how to set some of the settings.
#!/bin/sh
#
# example AssaultCube-Server launch script
# by MeatROme - see http://assault.cubers.net/wiki/Server_setup
# naturally also check your local documentation (docs) folder in the game-installation directory

# how many clients can connect?
CLIENTS=4

# password for admin access:
ADMINPASS=Eclipse

# disconnect when frag-count is ..
KILLLIMIT=-1

# server description
DESC="\f3AC \f2SRV"

# MOTD definition - WYSIWYG :)
MOTD='\f5http://\f3assault\f5.\f1cubers\f5.\f2net\n\f2 --- -- - -- ---\n Enjoy Your Stay'

TS=$(date +%Y%m%d_%H%M%S)
TSH=$(date +%H:%M:%S\ %d.%m.%y)

#
# run the server:
#
/usr/games/assaultcube-server -x$ADMINPASS -k$KILLLIMIT -c$CLIENTS -n"$DESC" -o"$MOTD" > ServerLog_$TS 2>&1

I want to know how to set a server password. and how i can tell if my server is on the internet. What I cant figure out is how to use the settings file and the script?
specifically this file: servercmdline.txt
I guess I just need to figure out how to set it up where only people with a password can connect, and have it online.

Heres the terminal output:
logging started: console(INFO), file(DISABLED), syslog(INFO, "AssaultCube[local#28763]", local6), timestamp(DISABLED)
logging local AssaultCube server (version 1104, protocol 1132/104) now..
read 58 map rotation entries from 'config/maprot.cfg'
read 1 admin passwords from 'config/serverpwd.cfg'
read 0 (0) blacklist entries from 'config/serverblacklist.cfg', 0 errors
read 0 + 0 entries from nickname blacklist file 'config/nicknameblacklist.cfg', 0 errors
dedicated server started, waiting for clients...
Ctrl-C to exit
looking up assault.cubers.net...
WARNING: master server registration failed: failed pinging server
[192.168.1.15] client connected
[192.168.1.15] Admin logged in (default), AC: 1104|804
Map height density information for ac_scaffold: H = 16.06 V = 158291, A = 9858 and MA = 665

Game start: deathmatch on ac_scaffold, 1 players, 8 minutes, mastermode 0, (map rev 2/9934, official, 'getmap' not prepared)
Demo recording started.

Game status: deathmatch on ac_scaffold, 8 minutes remaining, open, 1 clients
cn name score frag death ping role host
0 Admin 0 0 0 0 normal 192.168.1.15

Status at 30-04-2012 18:24:36: 1 remote clients, 0.0 send, 0.0 rec (K/sec); Ping: #4|64|8; CSL: #0|0|0 (bytes)
[192.168.1.15] disconnected client Admin cn 0, 32 seconds played, score saved
Demo "Mon Apr 30 18:25:06 2012: deathmatch, ac_scaffold, 7.05kB, 8 mr" recorded.
[192.168.1.15] client connected
[192.168.1.15] Admin logged in using the admin password in line 9, AC: 1104|804
Map height density information for ac_desert: H = 11.23 V = 266445, A = 23719 and MA = 2005

Game start: deathmatch on ac_desert, 1 players, 8 minutes, mastermode 0, (map rev 1/12018, official, 'getmap' not prepared)
Demo recording started.
I can't find it on the server list, and I can't figure out how to give the server a password. please help!! I will leave it on for a couple of days to see if anyone can connect. Can anyone help me set it up from the ground up? I think I should just reinstall and re-change the settings?
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: assault cube server?

Postby Time » Tue May 01, 2012 12:05 am

This message here is usually to do with port forwarding.

WARNING: master server registration failed: failed pinging server

for assault cube you need to make sure the ports are open that the game uses this website will help you with how to do it. use the default guide for your router.

http://portforward.com/

for assault cube make sure you know the ip address of the computer that the server will be running on.

Assault cube needs UDP ports 28763-28764 open.

I just set up a assault server and found and easy way to do it. I downloaded the game from there home website. I extracted it and in the folder there is a file called server_wizard.sh. I ran this as root and just answered the questions when it came to a question about cmdline options i just left it blank. it makes a file called server_autogenerated.sh and that is the file to start the server. I changed the permissions so i didn't have to be root to run it.

this is what it made

#!/bin/sh
./server.sh -nHarboursPlayGround -o"Hello" -c8 -xmar -f28763 -p123

the HarboursPlayGround is the name of the server .......Hello is the message of the day......the 8 is the amount of clients that can connect .... mar is admin password 28763 is the port .....123 is the client password to join the server. So you could do the same as me to set it up or you could make a start script using the one i made
-n = name
-o = message of the day
-c = number of people that can connect
-x = admin password
-f = the port
-p = the client password

if you installed assaultcube from software centre(i did this to) I went to /usr/games and edited the assaultcube-server file to look like this

#!/bin/sh
for arg
do
if [ "$arg" = --help ]
then
exec man assaultcube-server
fi
done

AC_OPTIONS=""
cd /usr/share/games/assaultcube
exec /usr/lib/games/assaultcube/ac_server -nHarboursPlayGround -o"Hello" -c8 -xmar pg28763 -p123

this worked to. logged in as admin and also logged in as client.

Please let me know how you make out with it........Have fun


ps: i don't know if you have tried to connect to a passworded server in assaultcube before so i thought i would give you the instructions (it was my first time tonight and it took a minute to figure out)

after you click multyplayer click custom connect. you will see a spot for your ip address put it in....then you will see a spot for the port you don't need to put this in. then there is a spot for your password put it in.

your friends will have to do the same to join. they will have to find your server in the list and get your ip from there it will be different then what you see.
Last edited by Time on Tue May 01, 2012 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula Motherboard
AMD fx 8120
Ati 7970 video card
2 90 gig ocz ssd raid 0 (Windows 7)
Western Digital SATA3 3 tb
Corsair f115 sata 2 ssd (for Ultimate edition)
16 GiGs DDR3
User avatar
Time
Moderator
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:16 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: assault cube server?

Postby ryanvade » Tue May 01, 2012 8:50 pm

I'm still having a problem connecting to AC master server:

# sudo sh ./server_autogenerated.sh
reading commandline parameters from file 'config/servercmdline.txt'
logging started: console(INFO), file(DISABLED), syslog(INFO, "AssaultCube[local#28763]", local6), timestamp(DISABLED)
logging local AssaultCube server (version 1104, protocol 1132/104) now..
read 58 map rotation entries from 'config/maprot.cfg'
read 0 admin passwords from 'config/serverpwd.cfg'
read 0 (0) blacklist entries from 'config/serverblacklist.cfg', 0 errors
read 0 + 0 entries from nickname blacklist file 'config/nicknameblacklist.cfg', 0 errors
dedicated server started, waiting for clients...
Ctrl-C to exit
looking up assault.cubers.net...
WARNING: master server registration failed: failed pinging server


I tried to open the ports manually and got this:


# nc -l -u 28763
nc: Address already in use

My firewall is off, My router has the ports open according to the website you directed me to. What am I doing wrong?
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: assault cube server?

Postby Time » Tue May 01, 2012 9:50 pm

Do you have dsl internet? (Phone company)

I use dsl and i Had to google the modem to get into it and open the ports in there to.......my modem is a speedstream

could you give me the make and model of your router so i can look it up for you to see what settings it has.
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula Motherboard
AMD fx 8120
Ati 7970 video card
2 90 gig ocz ssd raid 0 (Windows 7)
Western Digital SATA3 3 tb
Corsair f115 sata 2 ssd (for Ultimate edition)
16 GiGs DDR3
User avatar
Time
Moderator
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:16 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: assault cube server?

Postby ryanvade » Sat Jun 23, 2012 11:17 pm

It's been a while, I would have posted but you know... Any way. My problem is due to port fowarding. I have port fowarding on in my routers settings but it's not working. According to netstat the ports aren't open. Is there something I'm missing? my firewall is off when I try to use AC server.
My router: Westell A90-750045-07. High speed DSL, no dialtones or anything like that. It acts like a regular Broadband router.
Image
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: assault cube server?

Postby jslick1jim » Sun Jun 24, 2012 3:21 am

Hello ryanvade

dont about ac sever but most the time when got to port forward theres more than one port need to find which ports. and dont know if this will help but i found this http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Westell/A90-750045-07/Magicjack.htm hope it helps, good luck.

Jim
ImageMotherboard Msi Eclipse Sli
Cpu intel i7 920
Mem 6gig ddr3
x-fi extreme audio
ps2 keyboard
usb razer mouse
2 sata2 320 wd hd
2 ide 320 wd hd
2 segate 1tb hd
4 wd black 1tb hd
Visontek 5870
Hp Officejet Pro 8500 wireless
Lian Li PC-343B Modular Black Aluminum Cube Case
32in Olevia LCD HD TV
Ultimate Edition 3.4 64 bit
User avatar
jslick1jim
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 1:00 pm
Age: 61
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 64 BIT



Re: assault cube server?

Postby Time » Sun Jun 24, 2012 11:19 pm

i found this i hope this is what you needed

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/7074
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula Motherboard
AMD fx 8120
Ati 7970 video card
2 90 gig ocz ssd raid 0 (Windows 7)
Western Digital SATA3 3 tb
Corsair f115 sata 2 ssd (for Ultimate edition)
16 GiGs DDR3
User avatar
Time
Moderator
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:16 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: assault cube server?

Postby ryanvade » Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:58 pm

Thanks again! I've spent most of my time at UEOZ lately and havent checked on UEF. sorry. The problem has been resolved. The router needed more configuring. I even have a Red Eclipse server running too.
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux


Return to Ultimate Edition 3.2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest