Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Cursor issue [NOW it's Solved Yaaaay!!]

Help & support for Ultimate Edition 2.6


Cursor issue [NOW it's Solved Yaaaay!!]

Postby DemonTek » Sun May 02, 2010 2:13 pm

I'm not sure what the issue is, but I first noticed it when running it from the Live DVD. I figured it might just be a Live issue. Well, I was wrong.

So I installed Ultimate Edition 2.6 and no matter what I do, the cursor continues to be a HUGE black arrow with white trim. The themes NEVER change it, no matter what I do. I even restart my pc and it still never changes.

My graphics card is an onboard Intel. Mobo is an ASRock G31M-S. So just a stock graphics card.

I have never had this issue when running Ultimate Edition before nor on any distro. I even tried my LiveCD of Lucid, just to see if it's a Lucid issue, but it ran fine.

Any ideas on how to fix this?

Thanx!
Last edited by DemonTek on Mon May 03, 2010 7:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
DemonTek
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 12:42 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 1.9 32 BIT



Re: Cursor issue

Postby markusmunch » Sun May 02, 2010 5:58 pm

Same/similar problem here, have installed an AlienwareInvader cursor and it does show up when using Firefox but never elsewhere...
"Buy the ticket, take the ride"
User avatar
markusmunch
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:44 pm
Location: Airstrip One
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Cursor issue

Postby JOHNNYG » Sun May 02, 2010 6:30 pm

This is a Known issue, it has to do with compiz, if you switch to metacity cursor will change as usual! this is a Ubuntu "Bug" Not Ultimate Edition ! we are looking into a fix for this ! This happens in all flavors of Ubuntu also !

Sorry to edit you post. Here is the launchpad bug filed against this importance low.... Upsets me too. Been an issue since Karmic.
JOHNNYG
Image
Ultimate Eddiction<
Ultimate Edition STUDIO
Ultimate-E
Onyx 64
Pentium 4 processor
2x512 Kingston DDR memory
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig
Maxtor Maxline 80 gig, Split for testing only !
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig, Storage
Booting 8 OS's, No MS !
ATI 9600 series (RV350 AQ)graphics card
Sony DVD/CD Rewritable Drive DOUBLE LAYER DRU-820A/Sony DRU-800A CD DVD±RW Dual DVD Recorder
Team Leader at
http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com/
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
JOHNNYG
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1456
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:02 am
Location: U.S.A. Illinois
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Cursor issue

Postby markusmunch » Sun May 02, 2010 6:37 pm

Cheers, looks like I'll be living without cubecandy for a while!
"Buy the ticket, take the ride"
User avatar
markusmunch
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:44 pm
Location: Airstrip One
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Cursor issue

Postby razy60 » Sun May 02, 2010 7:23 pm

Aha that's one question answered :roll:
O/S; U.E 2.6 64 bit, OSX, xp pro, Windows 7 64 bit
Mobo: Asus P6t
cpu, Intel i7 920
ram, 4Gb DDR3 G Skill 1600 ripjaw
lan, realtek rtl8211b
sound, realtek 1200 hd + ati Hd audio
gpu, Asus EAH 5870 1Gb
HDD, OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ssd(OS) 2 x 250 GB(in raid0 for progs) 2x 1TB samsung (storage)
Wireless keyboard Logitek wave
Mouse: Microsoft X8 sidewinder
Display: sharp 42" lcd 1080p tv via hdmi
Laptop:
Dell studio 1557 7 pro x64& Ultimate Edition 2.7 32bit
i7 720 multi core cpu
4GB 1333mhz ram
INtel 5300 agn 802.11n wifi adaptor
Ati radeon HD 4570 512mb gpu
320GB 7200 HDD
1920x1080 screen
1x low opinion of this laptop
razy60
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:49 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Cursor issue

Postby billhedrick » Sun May 02, 2010 7:57 pm

hrmm
I have both versions dloaded, the 64 bit is going on a spare drive in my desktop, the 32 bit is going on my Ultimate Edition partition on my laptop... I am waiting until tomorrow or so to install so I can see the issues that develop. Franly I have had nothing but success with Ultimate Edition on my lapy, and I have LL on it now so I dont think there will be a probelm.
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 66
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Cursor issue

Postby 1QuickV6 » Sun May 02, 2010 8:41 pm

Thank you for the heads-up. This distro is too BADAZZ looking to have to drop compiz because of an ugly cursor. :!:
1QuickV6
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 8:34 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Cursor issue

Postby TheeMahn » Sun May 02, 2010 8:51 pm

I have figured a "workaround" for the "Compiz Cursor" issue...

Open Nautilus browse to your home folder right click and create a new folder named .icons yes with a period first. If it complains there is already a folder no problem continue on.
show hidden.png
Select show hidden files...

icons.png
goto the .icons folder open it and create a folder called default.

index.theme.tar.gz
Download this file and extract it in that folder.
(245 Bytes) Downloaded 1424 times

look.png
When correct should look like this.

log out and log in enjoy your gold cursor.
Home of Ultimate Edition. Got a question? Please review the F.A.Q. Browse the How to section.

Main O/S: Builder of O/S Guess.
Mainboard: ASUS Hero VI (AM4)
CPU: AMD 1700X water cooled (Deepcool Captain Genome Cooling tower)
Ram: 16 GB GSkill Trident RGB Series Dual Channel DDR4 3200
Video: MSI RX470 8GB Gaming card.
Hard Disks: MASSIVE on the network.(10 Gigabit, 48 port, multiple servers)
Monitors: 4K Samsung 28", HannsG HH281, Various others
750 Watt modular PSU (Rosswell)
1100 Watt Amp & 4 X 600 Watt speakers

Servers in the basement.
User avatar
TheeMahn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4200
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:02 am
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 48
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Developer



Re: Cursor issue [Solved]

Postby Moebius » Sun May 02, 2010 11:04 pm

Confirming - workaround works.
Never had a doubt. ;)

Cheers.
GNOME 3.2.1
Oz Unity Developement (32) Kernel 15
Moebius Custom Gothic
Intel DG33FB Mainboard
Intel Core2Duo E8400
Amicroe 2 x 1Gb DDR2
WD 250Gb Sata II WD2500AAKS (O/S)
WD 500Gb Sata II WD5000AAKS (Data)
LG Super Multi DVDRW
GeForce 8600GT PCI-E 16x 512Mb 540 MHz



Image
Ultimate Edition Australia___Ultimate Edition Israel____Ultimate Facebook
User avatar
Moebius
Site Admin
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:59 am
Location: Launceston, Tasmania (AUST)
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Cursor issue [Solved]

Postby TheeMahn » Sun May 02, 2010 11:41 pm

Moebius wrote:Confirming - workaround works.
Never had a doubt. ;)

Cheers.



Thanks brother,
Home of Ultimate Edition. Got a question? Please review the F.A.Q. Browse the How to section.

Main O/S: Builder of O/S Guess.
Mainboard: ASUS Hero VI (AM4)
CPU: AMD 1700X water cooled (Deepcool Captain Genome Cooling tower)
Ram: 16 GB GSkill Trident RGB Series Dual Channel DDR4 3200
Video: MSI RX470 8GB Gaming card.
Hard Disks: MASSIVE on the network.(10 Gigabit, 48 port, multiple servers)
Monitors: 4K Samsung 28", HannsG HH281, Various others
750 Watt modular PSU (Rosswell)
1100 Watt Amp & 4 X 600 Watt speakers

Servers in the basement.
User avatar
TheeMahn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4200
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:02 am
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 48
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Developer

Next

Return to Ultimate Edition 2.6 (Including 2.6.5)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest