[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 384: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4756: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3891)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4758: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3891)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4759: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3891)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4760: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3891)
Ultimate Edition Forum • View topic - How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ? -[SOLVED]
Page 1 of 2

How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ? -[SOLVED]

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 2:39 am
by jeddaboy
Hi All,
I used this guide to install the latest Avant 0.9.3-rewrite, has many more options. I followed the guide exactly. I also followed a guide to get the latest version of Thunderbird (Shredder) installed. Cant find the link for that one. Now when i reload Synaptic its got lots of updates. Like Firefox 3. Many more it wants to install as well. Is there any way to reset it to what it should be. What should be ticked under each tab in Synapitc, which servers, that sort of thing. I fear stuffing up my whole installation if i go ahead updating as it now is. Just got it looking great, running real nice. Link to guide is below;
http://www.techdrivein.com/2009/12/awn- ... eview.html
Forgot, im on Ultimate 2.5 64 Bit Gnome
Would really appreciate anyone's help on this one. Im no wiz kid !!

Thanks.

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:01 am
by Admin-Amir
Hello jeddaboy - Welcome to the U.E Forum .

Do not Rest synaptic never.
First do the update/upgrade, then restart your machine.
After you do that,you can add from synaptic any package that you like to install.
but first thing you do the update/upgrade - after reload =>mark for upgrade = Apply.
Now if you try to rest the synaptic package manager - there will be more issues to take care of.
you can find the U.E Guide under =>System => Help & support.

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:04 am
by jeddaboy
Thanks for the reply mate. Basically this is what i have in Synaptic>Repo's. Under the Ubuntu Software Tab all are ticked. Other Software Tab> archive.canonical.com/ubuntu karmic partner
archive.canonical.com/ubuntu karmic partner (Source Code)
ppa.launchpad.net/awn-testing/ppa/ubuntu karmic main
ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-mozilla-daily/ppa/ubuntu karmic main
Ultamatix Repository

All of the above are ticked. Then next i have;
ppa.launchpad.net/awn-testing/ppa/ubuntu karmic main
dl.google.com/linux/deb/ stable main
These last bottom ones i have unticked. When i reload Synaptic it counts 60 files.
Under Updates Tab i have Important and Recommended ticked. I have done an upate with the settings as described above. I now have a new version of firefox called Namoroka. All is working ok after reboot etc. If i tick the dl.google one i get an error so thats why i unticked that. I greatly appreciate your help and that of anyone else and if you think these settings look fine please let me know, you experienced people. Im more used to PclinuxOs but love this distro a lot, definatly using it long term. Thanks.

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:01 am
by Admin-Amir

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:11 am
by jeddaboy
Thanks again Amir. A lot of info you took the time to supply me with there. Basically, are you saying "Yes ! I have stuffed up Synaptic a fair bit". Or is it OK. Will i still get the all needed updates and then some i suppose. I really don't feel confident trying to make all those changes, i would not know how to even start and would probably make things worse, if they are THAT BAD. So i am sorry to have troubled you so much with all the info but im not experienced enough to apply it. The whole system is running great. Synaptic is reloading smoothly, no broken packages, update manager runs through fine and says all is up to date. So i don't know mate. I MIGHT BE best leave well enough alone. One thing i liked in PCLos was it had a Synaptic repair tool which worked well. The PCLos 2010 beta is out but im waiting for the final release which i will install to another hard drive. So whats your final say mate ? Leave it be ?

Being a newbie to debian, gnome, i really do appreciate the help and will try to make sense of the User guide for Ubuntu. Can you give me a link for the best guide for beginners to this distro if time permits?

Cheers from Gold Coast Australia. :oops: :)

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:46 am
by Admin-Amir

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:18 pm
by dathem
Hello, If I under stand you correctly, I would not try to revert back to defaults, even if you could. You can however tick or untick any of the boxes at any time in the snaptics/software sources. Those settings only affect new downloads, they won't remove anything all ready installed. If you tried to go back to defaults, you would remove needed security updates/upgrades----if you wanted to do that it would be a whole lot easier to just re-install the OS from the Live DVD!

The neat thing of Linux in general is if something goes wrong, you can just re-install the OS in a short period of time. NO need to dig out those MS key codes =====The microsoft PRODUCT KEY to reg your version of windows. or any other codes to re-install software.

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:08 pm
by Cell

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:31 pm
by Admin-Amir

Re: How Do i Reset Synaptic to defaults ?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:43 am
by jeddaboy
Back again Amir.
Ran the commands or would it be termed a script just like you said in a terminal, and your instructions to a T. All went really well mate. Refreshed Yarssar, working fine. After reboot i went into Synaptic, i changed nothing from the above settings i gave on my second reply to the topic i started. Did a reload, check for broken packages, NIL, mark all UPDATES, NIL. So no broken packages , no updates. The terminal job worked just fine mate. Much appreciated putting that all together for me, i mean that. You obviously really know what goes on under the bonnet of the Linux system. The whole system is running beautiful, its a really great distro, packed with apps. I got serious with Linux when i started playing about with PCLinux 2007. Before that i gave Freespire a run, years ago. They are now taken over by Xandros. And Suse in bed with Micro to a degree. Im not a distro basher, never will be, all have pro's and cons.
Very experienced with XP and now getting more experience with Win 7, have to mate, i make a few bucks out of it. Now that 7 is out work will drop off.
To the other fella, i know about using the dvd or cd to reinstall etc, Iused to do remasterme on pclos and the live cd for that distro comes in handy to fix the boot partitions etc. I love this Grub Beta. Picks up the Win 7 partition on here writes it to grub and it actually boots windows. Could not do that with earlier versions of grub dual booting Vista or Win 7. Had to install a program into windos, easybcd, at install, get grub written to root partition etc. And my XP key (retired xp now), done that many installs with that disk, i know off by heart, anyone want it? HXHPK-YGP92-9KK6M-///////-/////, JUST JOKING FOR ANYONE THINKING HERE IS A FREEBIE, better not.
This is also really quick to boot and fast running, the 64 bit takes advantage of the dual core plus i have a fairly fast sata. So thanks again Amir and others, Wish i had started my learning and interest in computers on Linux instead of Microsoftly. I would naturally understand and be more proficient at file locations, terminal use and on and on. Nice to be a member of a very helpful, friendly forum, Cheers for now, Wayne, (aka; Jeddaboy) :D :) <BREW> When i have time i will fill in my user details, contact, location, hardware set up etc.