Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Trouble running Ultamatix



Trouble running Ultamatix

Postby TuxLegion » Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:33 am

Hi everyone.

I had some problems running Ultamatix lately since I did it for the first time. I used it to download a KDE desktop and then I stopped. A few days ago I wanted to download an XFCE desktop and, surprise surprise, Ultamatix didn't run. Ultimate Edition went on loading the application but it didn't load. What can I do?
http://lalegiondelpinguino.blogspot.com/ ---> Spanish Linux Blog for beginners
Image
User avatar
TuxLegion
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:52 am
Location: Barcelona (Catalonia, Spain)
Age: 33
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Trouble running Ultamatix

Postby billhedrick » Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:55 pm

I think the scripts in Ultamatix for installing other GUIs are not sound. I have had problems with them in the past. I recommend doing the install through Synaptic. I installed KDE and Enlightenment that way. I started up Synaptic, did a quick search for "desktop" and picked the desktop I wanted to install. Synaptic gave me a list of additional files it wanted to install, I clicked OK and went for dinner. When I came back they were installed.

Try that.
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 65
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Trouble running Ultamatix

Postby TuxLegion » Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:04 am

Thumbs up for synaptic.

Thanks mate :D
http://lalegiondelpinguino.blogspot.com/ ---> Spanish Linux Blog for beginners
Image
User avatar
TuxLegion
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:52 am
Location: Barcelona (Catalonia, Spain)
Age: 33
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Trouble running Ultamatix

Postby billhedrick » Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:10 am

Glad it worked for you!
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 65
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Trouble running Ultamatix

Postby revloum » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:36 am

My install of UE2.9 is only a couple of days old and I can't get Ultamatix to do anything. Well, I'll qualify that...It hangs. JUST hangs. After a while I end up with a dialog box telling me that it has become unresponsive, and I can choose to wait a while or force quit. I have no idea how long "a while" should be, so I let it go for five or ten minutes and try again...I clicked the "wait a while" three times and finally forced the quit. No apparent harm done.

From what I can see, (keep in mind I've only been at this a couple of days!), "MOST" of what I would want / need is in one or the other repositories that Synaptic or the Ubu software center brings up, but I would like to see it work. If for no other reason than the fact that it's there, it should work.
Four or five at a time..E-machines ET8135, (stock)...Ultimate 3.4
Old Acer 2.4GHz w/2GB @ 333
Acer Aspire L/T w/ W-7
Old Tosh 2GHz / 2GB L/T for the wife, installing Ultimate Edition in various editions till I max her out.
Homebrew w/ P-III running at 3.3GHz / 2GB @ 333 with SMS on it.
Old Compaq 600MHz / 512MB running Vortexbox
User avatar
revloum
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 7:47 pm
Location: Lakes Region, Maine
Age: 67
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Trouble running Ultamatix

Postby Hawks-SOAD » Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:49 pm

the Ultimate Edition repo may be down im not too sure i haven't used ultamatix for ages
My Rig
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P
QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 965, 3400 MHz
His Ati Radeon 5770 (one more to go)
4gb of Kingston 9905403-011.A03LF ddr 3 ram
Realtek ALC885/889A/890 Hd Audio
Esata
Realtek RTL8168C/8111C PCI-E
250gb samsung sata 2.0 HDD
1 TB Seagate HDD

"walk softly and carry a big gun"
"life is only as hard as you make it to be"
"Ultimate Edition 2.8 is Ubuntu on steroids; lots and lots of steroids. You pretty much get it all with this badboy of a distro"
Currently dual booting :D Ultimate Edition and Windoze 7

Image
User avatar
Hawks-SOAD
Moderator
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Melbourne, VIC, Australia
Age: 25
Operating System: Other Linux


Return to Ultamatix

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest