Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Help & support for Ultimate Edition 2.1


From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby Wolfie Lee » Sat May 30, 2009 6:19 pm

I have a problem when switching over to the bigger Nvidia. It is a GeForce MX4000 D128.
The problem:
Works fine until the log - in screen SHOULD pop up; then I get a flashing cursor in upper left a few second, then a black screen...forever...
I have tried:
Dialing back the resolution to 800x600 while using the ATI, then shutting down and switching cards out. Same problem
I WAS able to get it to fire up in safe mode during a LIVE (DVD) session, but have no safe mode option appear at the Grub screen. How would I comment one in? Or does anyone have a better Idea?
OS: Ultimate Edition 4.6 gamers x64; Windows 7 x64 custom Nvidia Black edition; Linux Mint 17.3 MATE x64
MB: Gigabyte 970A-DS3P
CPU: AMD FX6300 Black (6x 3.5GHz)
CPU cooler: OCZ Vedetta with replacement Nanoxia Deep Silence 92mm 1400 RPM fan
MEM: 8GB (2x4GB) Ballistix Sport DDRIII 1600; PC3-12800
GPU: XFX Double Dispersion Radeon R7 360P-F22M 1050MHz 2GB GDDR5
OS SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
NO Storage drive (yet)
Optical Drive: LG Super-multi with MODISC capabilities(Model# hidden in new build, not gonna remove it now...lol)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-5183
PS: XFX 650W XXX Edition Grey Modular
Image
User avatar
Wolfie Lee
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Niles, MI, USA
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite Gamers



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby dathem » Sat May 30, 2009 8:02 pm

Hello, I have had a problem like you describe when changing from ATI to Nvidia. I assume the ati drivers are creating the problem. But I solved my problem but saving any data with the ATI card installed and then adding in the Nvidia card and booting from the live CD and reinstalling the system. I then know that any ATI junk is gone, I will never use anything ATI again with LINUX systems, or windows!There might be other ways to solve your problem, but I don't know what they might be. Remember to save your data files.
1)HPE-500F a 6 core @ 2.70 Ghz, with 8 gigs of Ram and a 1.5 T HD
the graphics card is an AMD Radeon HD 6450 with 512 MB DDR3 Ultimate Edition 3.2, Windows 7
2) HP Pav Elite m9040n Core2 quad 4gig ram Nvidia Geforce 8400, 640 g hd Win.7, UBUNTU 10.10
3) Gateway FX4710-UB0031 Core 2 quad 6 g ram Nvidia 8600gt-1gigddr3, 640g hd & Windows 7, & PCT Destined
Registered Linux User 533601
User avatar
dathem
U.E. Master
U.E. Master
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:23 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Age: 65
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.7 32 BIT



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby Wolfie Lee » Sat May 30, 2009 8:40 pm

Thanks for the reply!

I was hoping to fix it without a re-install, however, because I just did a fresh intall to upgrade from 2.0 to 2.1....AND, I will be juming RIGHT over to 2.2 when it is released. SO, that is a lot of data shuffling in a short time.
I've kind of been leaning the OPPOSITE way with the vid card manufacturers...I've had the most problems with the nvidia cards, but since this is a free uprgrade I salvaged from my volunteer group (FreeGeek, Michiana), I will take it! I just need to know if there is a way to fire up the kernel in safe graphics mode, from the HD...NOT the DVD.

If a fresh install with the new card is what others agree to be the best route, I'll do that, but I will wait a while and see.......

Thanks again!
OS: Ultimate Edition 4.6 gamers x64; Windows 7 x64 custom Nvidia Black edition; Linux Mint 17.3 MATE x64
MB: Gigabyte 970A-DS3P
CPU: AMD FX6300 Black (6x 3.5GHz)
CPU cooler: OCZ Vedetta with replacement Nanoxia Deep Silence 92mm 1400 RPM fan
MEM: 8GB (2x4GB) Ballistix Sport DDRIII 1600; PC3-12800
GPU: XFX Double Dispersion Radeon R7 360P-F22M 1050MHz 2GB GDDR5
OS SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
NO Storage drive (yet)
Optical Drive: LG Super-multi with MODISC capabilities(Model# hidden in new build, not gonna remove it now...lol)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-5183
PS: XFX 650W XXX Edition Grey Modular
Image
User avatar
Wolfie Lee
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Niles, MI, USA
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite Gamers



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby dathem » Sat May 30, 2009 8:47 pm

Hello, Thee Mahn has just put the main web page back up-though not complete- the new 2.2 can't be too far away hopefully. Since you want to go to 2.2, may I suggest you live with the ATI card installed and then when 2.2 comes out do a fresh install with the Nvidia card installed. I am sure that will fix your problem as long as the Nvidia card you got for free is working correctly!
1)HPE-500F a 6 core @ 2.70 Ghz, with 8 gigs of Ram and a 1.5 T HD
the graphics card is an AMD Radeon HD 6450 with 512 MB DDR3 Ultimate Edition 3.2, Windows 7
2) HP Pav Elite m9040n Core2 quad 4gig ram Nvidia Geforce 8400, 640 g hd Win.7, UBUNTU 10.10
3) Gateway FX4710-UB0031 Core 2 quad 6 g ram Nvidia 8600gt-1gigddr3, 640g hd & Windows 7, & PCT Destined
Registered Linux User 533601
User avatar
dathem
U.E. Master
U.E. Master
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:23 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Age: 65
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.7 32 BIT



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby Wolfie Lee » Sat May 30, 2009 11:27 pm

Yes, I was debating that, as well. Sounds like good advice. Like I said, it had no problem booting up a Live session, so I suspect it has to do with THIS install and the ATI card drivers (though I'm not showing any proprietary drivers)....

I will just go ahead and live with it...that way my system will get TWO major upgrades...ext4, and double the 3D!...

THANKS!
OS: Ultimate Edition 4.6 gamers x64; Windows 7 x64 custom Nvidia Black edition; Linux Mint 17.3 MATE x64
MB: Gigabyte 970A-DS3P
CPU: AMD FX6300 Black (6x 3.5GHz)
CPU cooler: OCZ Vedetta with replacement Nanoxia Deep Silence 92mm 1400 RPM fan
MEM: 8GB (2x4GB) Ballistix Sport DDRIII 1600; PC3-12800
GPU: XFX Double Dispersion Radeon R7 360P-F22M 1050MHz 2GB GDDR5
OS SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
NO Storage drive (yet)
Optical Drive: LG Super-multi with MODISC capabilities(Model# hidden in new build, not gonna remove it now...lol)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-5183
PS: XFX 650W XXX Edition Grey Modular
Image
User avatar
Wolfie Lee
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Niles, MI, USA
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite Gamers



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby TexasMike » Sun May 31, 2009 12:13 pm

Wolfie,
Fresh install of Ultimate Edition 2.2 using Ext4 file system is the way to go. I've made the change from ATI to nVidia twice on two different systems. Both times I tried to "completely remove" the ATI drivers and config information. I actually got it to run the nVidia card and drivers (Ultimate Edition 2.0), but the system was a little "finicky" after that. I backed up my /home folder amd the /media folder (I put my Downloads there), did a fresh install, and that system ran very smoothly from that point on.
FYI: I have run both ATI and nVidia on Ubuntu and Ultimate Edition since Fiesty Fawn, and nVidia has the better cards by far, for Linux, IMHO.
My advice is to do a Fresh/Clean install when you're ready for 2.2 with EXT4. If that card is any good, and supported, then your system should be stable and pretty darn fast, too!! ;);)
Shop PC:
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX TUF (The Ultimate Force) R2.0
CPU: AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4GHz Bulldozer Eight Core Black Edition
Ram: 16GB Corsair Vengance Dual Channel DDR3 1600MHz
Video: ATI 7770HD GHZ Edition 2GB PCIe 3.0
Hard Drives: Seagate 2TB, Seagate 500GB, Maxtor 500GB
SSD Drives: OCZ-Vertex4 128GB, Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB
DVD Drive: Plextor PX-L890SA
Power Suipply: RaidMax Modular 1200Watt
OS: Ultimate Edition 3.4.2x64, 4.2x64, 2.6x7x64

Home:
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3
CPU: Intel Core i3-3220 3.3ghZ
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video: nVdia GTX650
Drives:1TB SATAIII, 2ea 500GB SATAIII,
SSD: Samsung EV840 mSATa 250GB
CD/DVD: Plextor PL-890SA
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster T260
MultiBoot OS: Ultimate Edition 3.4.2x64, 4.2x64-Lite, WIN7x64, WIN8.1x64
Power Supply: Corsair 850Watt
User avatar
TexasMike
Site Admin
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 7:07 pm
Location: North of Houston Texas
Age: 69
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby Wolfie Lee » Sun May 31, 2009 2:58 pm

Yes.....I Really do have by far the nicest rig I've ever had, even theough it is a "Frankenstien Freebie" LOL.....The ext4 sounds super sweet......2.2 available, already? If so, I was unaware.

Yes, the problems I encountered with prior Nvidia cards / installs involved the gui app. "ENVY"...I think the app. / repo was a bit screwy.....had to take it to my FreeGeek volunteer group to have the system admin, "Goose" fix the xorg config before I could run it again, with NO acceleration :( ......

So, I hope you're right, about nvidia, as I'd rather NOT run into those kinds of problems again...

Thanks, all!
<BREW>
User avatar
Wolfie Lee
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Niles, MI, USA
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite Gamers



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby Wolfie Lee » Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:36 am

Ah, well; I think I got a bad card...
I re-installed Ultimate Edition 2.1 after swaping in the Nvidia, and it was all good until I activated the 3D and re-booted...black screen before OR after log-in (did this last week, can't rember for sure). So came to the conclusion that I have a bad card...But will give it another whirl when 2.2 comes out...just to close the case out for good.
OS: Ultimate Edition 4.6 gamers x64; Windows 7 x64 custom Nvidia Black edition; Linux Mint 17.3 MATE x64
MB: Gigabyte 970A-DS3P
CPU: AMD FX6300 Black (6x 3.5GHz)
CPU cooler: OCZ Vedetta with replacement Nanoxia Deep Silence 92mm 1400 RPM fan
MEM: 8GB (2x4GB) Ballistix Sport DDRIII 1600; PC3-12800
GPU: XFX Double Dispersion Radeon R7 360P-F22M 1050MHz 2GB GDDR5
OS SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
NO Storage drive (yet)
Optical Drive: LG Super-multi with MODISC capabilities(Model# hidden in new build, not gonna remove it now...lol)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-5183
PS: XFX 650W XXX Edition Grey Modular
Image
User avatar
Wolfie Lee
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:05 am
Location: Niles, MI, USA
Age: 51
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite Gamers



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby Twisted » Sat Jun 20, 2009 3:32 am

man, I remember those days, sheesh, I remember when I was cock of the block with a 756 meg hard drive and an intel 90... man am I old... I remember going from 4 megs of onboard video to a PCI "voodoo2 card" 32 meg I believe? had to build a new system just to benefit, AMD 3dnow 500 cpu and with 100 FSB asus, first time I ever rendered 3D, 20 seconds of clip took like 4 hours to complete, the good ol' days..

until you upgrade to around a 512 meg GPU and a decent 3gig CPU the interwebs waiting on you....
there's many a slip twix a cup and a lip...
User avatar
Twisted
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 5:50 am
Age: 50
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: From 64M ATI to 128M Nvidia...

Postby Cell » Sat Jun 20, 2009 3:54 am

lol you must be just a tad older than me.....my first drive was 2 gigs,and my IBM was running at 400 megs I think.
-------------------------------
hardware
--------------------------------
Dfi lanparty ut rdx200cf-dr
amd athlon 64 fx55 oc 2.9
2xvisiontek x1600xt gamers ed.
3 gig kingston hyperx mem
hauppauge win tv go tuner
pinnacle ultimate hd hybrid usb tuner
1 western hd 100 gig drive
1 western hd 160 gig drive
1 western hd 5 gig drive
1 usb hd 150 gig
1 usb hd 1 terabyte
--------------------
OS/Distros
--------------------
PhatDebian 1.0
StonerEdition 2.0
Ultimate Edition 2.4 Gamer Ed.
Mythbuntu 9.10
windows XP MCE remastered with Nlite
Windows 7 remastered with Vlight
----------------------------------------------------------
We are all connected;
To each other, biologically
To the earth, chemically
To the rest of the universe atomically-deGrasse Tyson
User avatar
Cell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Repuplic of California,U.S.A.
Age: 46
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 1.8 Gamers

Next

Return to Ultimate Edition 2.1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest