How Do I Get Compiz-Wallpaper Plugin To Work in Ultimate Edition 2.9

Welcome to eyecandy central.


How Do I Get Compiz-Wallpaper Plugin To Work in Ultimate Edition 2.9

Postby CMDR Storm » Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:46 pm

I've been fighting this issue for a long time. Had it working back in Ultimate Edition 2.4?, but that was a while ago. I have a (relatively) fresh install of 2.9. My 3d graphics card is enabled and working properly. I've enabled the plugin. Opened gconf-editor and unselected "show the desktop" under the apps>nautilus>preferences section. That will completely remove all of the background, wallpaper and all. If I move any open windows I get leftover, blurry images. Like the card has re-drawn the area. After exhaustive research I found one little trick to get it to work. By pressing ctrl+alt+f1, logging in, and then press ctrl+alt+f7 it works. I'm assuming this restarts the xserver? This only works during the current session. If I restart, I have to repeat that process over again. I've tried a patch, but that failed horribly and I ended up doing a re-install. Is there maybe a script I could write that would automatically does this after I login? Thanks.
User avatar
CMDR Storm
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 10:03 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: How Do I Get Compiz-Wallpaper Plugin To Work in Ultimate

Postby JOHNNYG » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:11 am

so you want a different wallpaper for each of your desktops !?, and you have wallpaper enabled in compiz !? :?
JOHNNYG
Image
Ultimate Eddiction<
Ultimate Edition STUDIO
Ultimate-E
Onyx 64
Pentium 4 processor
2x512 Kingston DDR memory
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig
Maxtor Maxline 80 gig, Split for testing only !
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig, Storage
Booting 8 OS's, No MS !
ATI 9600 series (RV350 AQ)graphics card
Sony DVD/CD Rewritable Drive DOUBLE LAYER DRU-820A/Sony DRU-800A CD DVD±RW Dual DVD Recorder
Team Leader at
http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com/
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
JOHNNYG
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1456
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:02 am
Location: U.S.A. Illinois
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: How Do I Get Compiz-Wallpaper Plugin To Work in Ultimate

Postby CMDR Storm » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:19 am

Corect and yes. I also have 4 different wallpapers listed. each of them coming from my pictures folder (and not another partition). It's working right now, but only because of that trick. pressing ctrl+alt+f1, logging in, and then pressing ctrl+alt+f7.

On another note, I'm getting ready to try that compiz cube space object how to you posted in another topic. Not sure of the end result, but I'm a big fan of deep space nine and the rancor--well star wars in general.
User avatar
CMDR Storm
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 10:03 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: How Do I Get Compiz-Wallpaper Plugin To Work in Ultimate

Postby Donut123 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:35 pm

Hello..have you ever gotten an answer to your question?
I dont see one
User avatar
Donut123
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:57 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: How Do I Get Compiz-Wallpaper Plugin To Work in Ultimate

Postby CMDR Storm » Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:41 pm

No, but that's ok....I've moved on. Thanks for trying though. Didn't realize there was a new response till I checked another email account. Perhaps this topic should be removed?
User avatar
CMDR Storm
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 10:03 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT


Return to Compiz-Fusion: Believe the Unbelievable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests