CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Welcome to eyecandy central.


Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby dathem » Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:29 am

billhedrick wrote:OK how do I trigger the cube effect? what key commands do I hit to get the windows into a cube? I take it I need to have multiple desktops?



Hello, the easiest way to get the cube working is to download simple-ccsm. This when installed will give you the basic settings for compiz in one place. This program will be installed under SYSTEM/Preferences/simple compizconfig settings manager. Select the desktop tab, change Appearance from Wall to Cube, make sure you have 4 desktop columns. I just did this on a new install of 2.4 gamers edition and pressing down on the middle mouse button enables the cube/cyclinder.


Make sure you have the graphics driver enabled through the SYSTEM/ Peferences/ Apperance first. Select the extra or custom button.
1)HPE-500F a 6 core @ 2.70 Ghz, with 8 gigs of Ram and a 1.5 T HD
the graphics card is an AMD Radeon HD 6450 with 512 MB DDR3 Ultimate Edition 3.2, Windows 7
2) HP Pav Elite m9040n Core2 quad 4gig ram Nvidia Geforce 8400, 640 g hd Win.7, UBUNTU 10.10
3) Gateway FX4710-UB0031 Core 2 quad 6 g ram Nvidia 8600gt-1gigddr3, 640g hd & Windows 7, & PCT Destined
Registered Linux User 533601
User avatar
dathem
U.E. Master
U.E. Master
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:23 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Age: 63
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.7 32 BIT



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby DaringSoule » Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:02 am

little program i found to help with the cube is simple compiz config setting manager few click and yer up and turning
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install simple-ccsm
User avatar
DaringSoule
U.E. Pro
U.E. Pro
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:14 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby billhedrick » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:15 am

My question is simpler than that! what keys do I hit to turn on the cube, for example might it be Option C or Alt Shift? that is my question.
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 66
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby dathem » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:52 am

billhedrick wrote:My question is simpler than that! what keys do I hit to turn on the cube, for example might it be Option C or Alt Shift? that is my question.


I just did this on a new install of 2.4 gamers edition and pressing down on the middle mouse button enables the cube/cyclinder. In other words----------

pressing down on the middle mouse button / scroll wheel enables the cube/cyclinder.

As well as ctrl, alt, button 1 of the mouse. I just push down on the scroll wheel, its faster.
1)HPE-500F a 6 core @ 2.70 Ghz, with 8 gigs of Ram and a 1.5 T HD
the graphics card is an AMD Radeon HD 6450 with 512 MB DDR3 Ultimate Edition 3.2, Windows 7
2) HP Pav Elite m9040n Core2 quad 4gig ram Nvidia Geforce 8400, 640 g hd Win.7, UBUNTU 10.10
3) Gateway FX4710-UB0031 Core 2 quad 6 g ram Nvidia 8600gt-1gigddr3, 640g hd & Windows 7, & PCT Destined
Registered Linux User 533601
User avatar
dathem
U.E. Master
U.E. Master
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:23 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Age: 63
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.7 32 BIT



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby billhedrick » Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:48 pm

Thanks Dathan! I am posting this to get our post count even again! we should now be both at 186!
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 66
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby billhedrick » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:01 pm

yea baby! got it working, but somewhere along the way I set my number of Desktops to 2! Now I need to find how to get the Cube thing with 3 or 4 desktops working!
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 66
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby JOHNNYG » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:10 pm

You can right click on your little desktop window icons bottom right in the bottom taskbar then preferences, a small window will open set "columns" to the desired number and your good ! ;)
JOHNNYG
Image
Ultimate Eddiction<
Ultimate Edition STUDIO
Ultimate-E
Onyx 64
Pentium 4 processor
2x512 Kingston DDR memory
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig
Maxtor Maxline 80 gig, Split for testing only !
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig, Storage
Booting 8 OS's, No MS !
ATI 9600 series (RV350 AQ)graphics card
Sony DVD/CD Rewritable Drive DOUBLE LAYER DRU-820A/Sony DRU-800A CD DVD±RW Dual DVD Recorder
Team Leader at
http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com/
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
JOHNNYG
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1456
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:02 am
Location: U.S.A. Illinois
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby stanca » Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:27 pm

Screenshot-2.png
Intel H61 ASrock H61M-VS Motherboard,
Cpu Intel Ci3 13-2100 3.10Ghz 64bit 3MB Box,
RAM 4GB DDR3 1333MHz Elixir,
Palit Nvidia Geforce 210 1GB DDR3 PCI-E.
Dual-boot Ultimate Edition 3.4 x86_64/Windows 8 x64.
Linux user # 492560.
"This is Linux land!In silent nights you can hear Windows machines rebooting!..."
http://www.youtube.com/user/laur1969 http://stanca-ultimateeditionromania.blogspot.com/#

Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
stanca
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:48 am
Location: Bucharest,Romania,EU,44'25"N,26'07"E.
Age: 48
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Beta Tester



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby ixnod » Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:02 pm

there ya go again show boatin' Stanca. he said CUBE, not sphere.... we gotta keep these things on topic lol, J/K.

Nice work bro BTW. is that stargate atlantis coming down to the planet?? as always, keep up the fine work.
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: CUBE 3D MODEL INSTALL "HOW TO"

Postby stanca » Tue Oct 05, 2010 4:02 pm

Rubik's cube: ;) :)
Screenshot.png
Intel H61 ASrock H61M-VS Motherboard,
Cpu Intel Ci3 13-2100 3.10Ghz 64bit 3MB Box,
RAM 4GB DDR3 1333MHz Elixir,
Palit Nvidia Geforce 210 1GB DDR3 PCI-E.
Dual-boot Ultimate Edition 3.4 x86_64/Windows 8 x64.
Linux user # 492560.
"This is Linux land!In silent nights you can hear Windows machines rebooting!..."
http://www.youtube.com/user/laur1969 http://stanca-ultimateeditionromania.blogspot.com/#

Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
stanca
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:48 am
Location: Bucharest,Romania,EU,44'25"N,26'07"E.
Age: 48
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Beta Tester

PreviousNext

Return to Compiz-Fusion: Believe the Unbelievable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron