How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Any and all things Laptop related.


How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby jh13 » Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:22 pm

I'm still new to the network connections stuff with ubuntu. I'm curious about a way to set up my ubuntu so that i can use wireless internet on my laptop but have a ethernet connnection from my laptop to my desktop to provide internet access to my desktop. I've done this in Vista, so i'm hoping it works with ubuntu too. could someone tell me how to do this or point me in the right direction?
thank you.
jh13
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: maryland, usa
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby ixnod » Tue Nov 04, 2008 4:55 pm

first a few questions:

for your wireless connection, are you using an external usb or pcmcia(express) card or are you using the laptop's internal card?

are you certain that the chipset is atheros? Loading the incorrect one can be a pain.

any information such as chipset information atheros a/b/g/n, or card manufacture would help. also does the operating system recognize the card. ( if it is an external device)

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1278

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1979

These should get you started if you are certain that you have an atheros chipset.
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby jh13 » Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:14 pm

I have a built-in wireless. i'm not sure what i have , related to your second question
jh13
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: maryland, usa
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby pch.shot » Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:29 pm

Download and install this:
http://www.cpuid.com/pcwizard.php
It will give you all the info about your computer.
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 64
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby ixnod » Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:39 pm

are you able to cut and paste the output of the following commands using the terminal?
Code: Select all
ifconfig


Code: Select all
lspci


Code: Select all
lspci -nn | grep Network
sudo lshw -C network
iwconfig
iwlist scan



[note] pcwizard works under windows OS to the best of my understanding
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby pch.shot » Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:45 pm

I think that is what he is using based on his listed os.
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 64
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby ixnod » Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:49 pm

<scrolls to first post> :o got confuselated a sec thought he had vista wireless working. my bad

<sulks in corner :oops: >
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby deate » Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:19 pm

could you also tell what OS you will run on each device? laptop and desktop
User avatar
deate
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:54 am
Location: South Texas
Age: 69
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby jh13 » Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:46 am

i plan to use ubuntu on my laptop, 8.04 and on my desktop, ubuntu 8.10. just testing 8.10 with my desktop and i do my programming projects on my laptop.
jh13
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: maryland, usa
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to set up a ethernet connection through your laptop

Postby deate » Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:19 am

So if I understand what you have is the following: Your primary connection to the internet is your laptop (is this through a wireless router, or are you connecting directly to the internet via a card connected to your laptop?)If it is the second option, then your desktop (Under Network Manager) should detect the wireless network of your laptop, and you could then just connect to it...either way it's fairly straight forward using Ubuntu...the only problems that you might encounter are with the wireless NIC in your desktop...check to see if it's supported in Linux... My desktop is connected wirelessly to the internet via a wireless router, but I did have problems before I got a supported card installed...
User avatar
deate
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:54 am
Location: South Texas
Age: 69
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.0 Lite

Next

Return to Laptops-All topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests