AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Any and all things Laptop related.


AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Postby TimelessRogue » Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:24 pm

Okay ... guess it's my turn to pose a question: 32-bit versus 64-bit on this HP dv9000ec laptop based on the specs listed below in my signature (ie: an AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-58 configuration) ... will 64-bit version work with the AMD Turion and if so, would it have any major advantage over the 32-bit version already installed?

If nobody really knows, perhaps I'll do a Remastersys and give it a try. What's to loose? Can always go back to square one ... again (seems to be a hobby lately!) ;) At the same time, I just might take an extra risk and upgrade to Intrepid although I tried that a couple of weeks ago with negative, to say the least, resultsl

Oh ... and thanks for the laptop-specific thread ...
Last edited by TimelessRogue on Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"There's nothing I can't do ... only things I won't do!" ... The Rogue


HP Pavilion dv9000ec 17" Widescreen Laptop
OS: Ultimate Edition 2.0 x64 w/ 2.6.27-8-generic kernel
Processor: AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-58
Memory/Storage: 2 Gigs w/ 2 SCSI 120mb drives - WinVista & Ultimate 2.0 x64
Graphics/Audio: nVidia GeForce 7150/nForce 630M & nVidia MCP67 Hi-Def Audio
Network/Ethernet: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11a/b/g & nVidia MCP67 Ethernet
DVD/CD: Pioneer DVDRW DVR-K17
Other Stuff: Phillips 80w 2.1 ext speakers, Memorex wireless mouse, HP WebCam
TimelessRogue
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:56 am
Location: The Midcoast of Maine
Age: 76
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Postby pch.shot » Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:49 pm

You will find the 64 bit smoother. Of course the downside is a lot of games and software are 32 bit.
I use the 64 bit because I don't play games and just put up with a few less programs.
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 64
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Postby TimelessRogue » Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:20 pm

Hmmm ... well, thanks. I, too, don't use games so that's no concern. Just am not sure about the Turion. Like I said, I think I'll do a Remastersys and give it a try this evening. What else to do with my time? I'll report back if there are problems or not.
"There's nothing I can't do ... only things I won't do!" ... The Rogue


HP Pavilion dv9000ec 17" Widescreen Laptop
OS: Ultimate Edition 2.0 x64 w/ 2.6.27-8-generic kernel
Processor: AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-58
Memory/Storage: 2 Gigs w/ 2 SCSI 120mb drives - WinVista & Ultimate 2.0 x64
Graphics/Audio: nVidia GeForce 7150/nForce 630M & nVidia MCP67 Hi-Def Audio
Network/Ethernet: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11a/b/g & nVidia MCP67 Ethernet
DVD/CD: Pioneer DVDRW DVR-K17
Other Stuff: Phillips 80w 2.1 ext speakers, Memorex wireless mouse, HP WebCam
TimelessRogue
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:56 am
Location: The Midcoast of Maine
Age: 76
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Postby ixnod » Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:07 pm

TimelessRogue wrote:Hmmm ... well, thanks. I, too, don't use games so that's no concern. Just am not sure about the Turion. Like I said, I think I'll do a Remastersys and give it a try this evening. What else to do with my time? I'll report back if there are problems or not.


I think the dv9000 models have the remote controls with them, maybe you can see if that works also ?

Also another benefit of the 64 bit edition, is that you can get up to 4Gig ram in the laptop. (currently too financially destitute to fund the operation).
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Postby pch.shot » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:42 pm

The Turion will handle 64 bit with no problem. It was designed for 64 bit computing!!
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 64
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Postby cowboy » Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:05 am

Running 64 bit 1.8 on mine, Turion with 4 gigs..have also ran the 32 bit, but like the 64bit better...
"Back up your Data"
"May I never lose the view of a nubie"
"Give a man a fish, he will eat for a day, teach a man how to fish , he will eat a lifetime"
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
i5 2500k
3x4G-Skill Ripjaws
MSI GTX 560Ti Hawk..
Seagate 1TB Barracuda
NZXT 850w PS
CM Storm Sniper Case
Evga Superclock CPU Cooler
Mushkin SSD coming soon
http://acowboydave.blogspot.com/
User avatar
cowboy
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Scottsdale Az
Age: 66
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Postby TimelessRogue » Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:22 pm

Well, I've decided to not make the move to Ultimate Edition 1.9 64-bit for now and instead upgrade to yet-to-be-finalized Ultimate Edition 2.0 32-bit (see the new thread on that topic.)

Ooops! Got two threads going here so this'll be the last on this one. In short though, I've now got Ultimate Edition 2.0 x64 up and running on this HP. Still tweaking, but this is great! 8-)

So what's left? Gonna upgrade memory to 4 gigs and yes, I'll check out the remote ...
"There's nothing I can't do ... only things I won't do!" ... The Rogue


HP Pavilion dv9000ec 17" Widescreen Laptop
OS: Ultimate Edition 2.0 x64 w/ 2.6.27-8-generic kernel
Processor: AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-58
Memory/Storage: 2 Gigs w/ 2 SCSI 120mb drives - WinVista & Ultimate 2.0 x64
Graphics/Audio: nVidia GeForce 7150/nForce 630M & nVidia MCP67 Hi-Def Audio
Network/Ethernet: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11a/b/g & nVidia MCP67 Ethernet
DVD/CD: Pioneer DVDRW DVR-K17
Other Stuff: Phillips 80w 2.1 ext speakers, Memorex wireless mouse, HP WebCam
TimelessRogue
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:56 am
Location: The Midcoast of Maine
Age: 76
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: AMD Turion 64 x2: 64-bit vs 32-bit

Postby Ontebyasamet » Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:55 am

It’s really great posts.
Ontebyasamet
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:45 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.8 32 BIT


Return to Laptops-All topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest