Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

help installing Ultimate 1.5 on a separate hdd

Help & Support for Ultimate Edition 1.5


help installing Ultimate 1.5 on a separate hdd

Postby quattro » Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:07 am

hello,
i am completely new on this, i have a copy of Ubuntu live cd and working properly as a live cd but i cant instal is on a separate hdd i have vista installed on a 2x 250gb RAID0 and i have a 500gb SATA hdd formated and ready to use but every time i instal ubuntu nothing happens no dual boot i just boot in to vista as if i only have one OS and the 500gb hdd just disappears from vista !!! i have to format it again to show up .

i tried many times, at one attempt i had dual boot but when i select i only get Grub>_

please help!!!!!
User avatar
quattro
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:02 am



Re: help installing Ultimate 1.5 on a separate hdd

Postby TheeMahn » Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:04 am

quattro wrote:hello,
i am completely new on this, i have a copy of Ubuntu live cd and working properly as a live cd but i cant instal is on a separate hdd i have vista installed on a 2x 250gb RAID0 and i have a 500gb SATA hdd formated and ready to use but every time i instal ubuntu nothing happens no dual boot i just boot in to vista as if i only have one OS and the 500gb hdd just disappears from vista !!! i have to format it again to show up .

i tried many times, at one attempt i had dual boot but when i select i only get Grub>_

please help!!!!!


Boot from the live dvd open a terminal and enter the following & post the results here:
Code: Select all
sudo fdisk -l


Dmesg:
Code: Select all
dmesg


And I will see what I can do for you.
Home of Ultimate Edition. Got a question? Please review the F.A.Q. Browse the How to section.

Main O/S: Builder of O/S Guess.
Mainboard: ASUS Hero VI (AM4)
CPU: AMD 1700X water cooled (Deepcool Captain Genome Cooling tower)
Ram: 16 GB GSkill Trident RGB Series Dual Channel DDR4 3200
Video: MSI RX470 8GB Gaming card.
Hard Disks: Over 50 TB total Mechanical and Multiple SSD's. (Sans Digital 32TB raid tower - dual Esata)
Raid: Onboard 0 used, Multiple NAS's on Gigabit AC wireless 3200 (Netgear X6 r8000)
Monitors: 4K Samsung 28", HannsG HH281, Various others
750 Watt modular PSU (Rosswell)
1100 Watt Amp & 4 X 600 Watt speakers (just drug up the other 2 speakers today)
User avatar
TheeMahn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4197
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:02 am
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 46
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Developer



Re: help installing Ultimate 1.5 on a separate hdd

Postby DaddyX3 » Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:12 pm

quattro wrote:hello,
i am completely new on this, i have a copy of Ubuntu live cd and working properly as a live cd but i cant instal is on a separate hdd i have vista installed on a 2x 250gb RAID0 and i have a 500gb SATA hdd formated and ready to use but every time i instal ubuntu nothing happens no dual boot i just boot in to vista as if i only have one OS and the 500gb hdd just disappears from vista !!! i have to format it again to show up .

i tried many times, at one attempt i had dual boot but when i select i only get Grub>_

please help!!!!!

You might also check that you are booting from the right disk in BIOS, my suspicions say that If you were booting in Vista on your Raid 0 and you installed to a separate 500 GiB drive, then you have to set BIOS to boot from that disk to allow GRUB to work ;) I don't know your particular PC, but, try holding down the DEL key when you first boot the computer - this will get you into BIOS where you can specify which hard drive to boot from. Usually it will be under BOOT OPTIONS. Do a little digging around in BIOS and make sure your booting from the 500GIB drive you installed to, when your done hit F10 to save to CMOS and exit :D
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5GHz 45nm/Gigabyte EP35C-DS3R M.B. w/ddr3 1333
G.Skill 2X1GB DDR3 1333MHz/Gigabyte 8800GT PCIe 2.0 512MB GDDR3 OC'd to 700Mhz/ WD160 gig, 2- WD250 gig in RAID-0 (500GB), WD640 gig e-SATA external

AMD 64 X2 3800+/ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe/G.Skill 2X1GB Matched Pair ddr400
/EVGA 6800GS Nvidia Graphics 256MB/WD160gig drive

HTPC Box:AMD 64 X2 4400+/ BIOSTAR TF7050PV HDMI MicroATX/G.Skill 2X1GB /Matched Pair DDR800/Integrated video and audio/WD160gig drive
User avatar
DaddyX3
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2407
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:22 am
Location: Central Coast - California
Age: 43
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.3 32 BIT


Return to Ultimate Edition 1.5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest