Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Help & Support for Ultimate Edition 1.5


Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby Zarton » Sun Dec 23, 2007 9:26 am

nvm, i fixed it.
User avatar
Zarton
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 4:15 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby Blackcanito » Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:15 am

i need driver for linksys wusb54gp,i'm search on google,but nothing,thanks for your help.
User avatar
Blackcanito
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:17 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.8 64 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby mohomeboy » Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:32 pm

hi, i'm quite new to linux, started on ultimate then to original now i'm back on ultimate and know how to get myself around fairly well.

I think this repo is great. I have it on my pc and my lappy.

I have one problem tho, i have versions 1.4 - 1.6, I prefer installing from 1.5 and upgrading to 1.6 - dont ask me why i forgot but i had a good reason for it. I think it had something to do with the eyecandy beryl compiz already installed and i wanted to uninstall it... going off topic now.

Anyways my question. My lappy works fine it's just my pc. It's an Acer L100 connected to a 40" samsung lcd tv.
When I come to the login screen the resolution is set extremely high, I cant make any of the text out, it's just too small to read.

Any suggestions?

EDIT: ps I'm most likely blind but i didn't see an edit button, i'm running restricted nvida drivers, if that helps
User avatar
mohomeboy
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:47 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby LeadFingers » Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:29 pm

Hi Mohomeboy:
Welcome

I know I've used that setting, but can't seem to find it ( mayhaps Beryl/Compiz)

Lets see if one of these works for you.

Have you tried changing to a different login window?
System/Administration/Login window

If no joy...
Reconfigure Nvidia settings
Applications/System tools/Nvidia settings... Xserver Display Configuration... Change resolution to something doable... Back at desktop check to see if user default resolution is still where you want it... be sure to check "Make Default for this computer (username) only"

If neither of these work post back and we will try something else ( maybe by then I will find the easy way )
1st Box: Ultimate Edition 2.0 x64/ 1.8 x64
2nd Box: XP (dusty)
3rd Box: Stable Media box Ultimate Edition 1.8 x64 with XBMC

The Oxen are slow but the Earth is patient ~Chuen~
User avatar
LeadFingers
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:46 am
Location: Salem Oregon
Age: 57
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby bhanush27 » Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:31 am

hey man..
my ultimate upgrade icon on the desktop is not working..
it just asks for the password nd does nothing..
im also not able to install any updates 4m the update manager..
it displays the error..error authenticating packages..
what can i do??

kindly guide..
User avatar
bhanush27
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:14 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 32 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby mac9416 » Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:47 pm

bhanush27,
I have had problems updating before (for such a noob I cause a lot of problems :oops: ) and my only solution was to reformat and reinstall :evil: . I don't know how to fix it, but I would like to make sure you have made backups, because that might have saved my machine ;) . I have since learned my lesson.
Sorry I can't help you. I think maybe the other replys might change a little if you have made backups.
============================================
Spock: I fail to comprehend your indignation, sir. I have simply made the logical deduction that you are a liar.
============================================
Live long and prosper.
User avatar
mac9416
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: Memphis TN (just out of gunshot range)
Age: 23
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby cowboy » Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:51 pm

bhanush27 wrote:hey man..
my ultimate upgrade icon on the desktop is not working..
it just asks for the password nd does nothing..
im also not able to install any updates 4m the update manager..
it displays the error..error authenticating packages..
what can i do??

kindly guide..


You might try...
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg --configure -a
then
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
then
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get upgrade


Edit: Just ran the codes myself seems like the Automatix link is down.. :|
"Back up your Data"
"May I never lose the view of a nubie"
"Give a man a fish, he will eat for a day, teach a man how to fish , he will eat a lifetime"
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
i5 2500k
3x4G-Skill Ripjaws
MSI GTX 560Ti Hawk..
Seagate 1TB Barracuda
NZXT 850w PS
CM Storm Sniper Case
Evga Superclock CPU Cooler
Mushkin SSD coming soon
http://acowboydave.blogspot.com/
User avatar
cowboy
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Scottsdale Az
Age: 65
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby minotaur » Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:29 am

I want to install Torrentflux in my system. I found it in Synaptic but I received a "fail" in installation. What's the problem?
The Systems requirements for torrentflux:
# Linux OS (most *nux)
# Apache with PHP module
# MySQL Database
# Python 2.2 or higher

Do I need something else for downloading it?
User avatar
minotaur
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 5:08 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 32 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby cowboy » Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:40 am

There probably is a compatibility issue with another program..will do a little more research on it.. ;)
"Back up your Data"
"May I never lose the view of a nubie"
"Give a man a fish, he will eat for a day, teach a man how to fish , he will eat a lifetime"
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
i5 2500k
3x4G-Skill Ripjaws
MSI GTX 560Ti Hawk..
Seagate 1TB Barracuda
NZXT 850w PS
CM Storm Sniper Case
Evga Superclock CPU Cooler
Mushkin SSD coming soon
http://acowboydave.blogspot.com/
User avatar
cowboy
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Scottsdale Az
Age: 65
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: Post any problems with Ultimate Edition 1.5 here.

Postby minotaur » Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:48 am

Thanks, cowboy, I'm anxious for the results of your search! :)
User avatar
minotaur
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 5:08 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 32 BIT

PreviousNext

Return to Ultimate Edition 1.5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest