Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Sound working before but not anymore

Help & Support for Ultimate Edition 1.5


Sound working before but not anymore

Postby Epic » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:04 am

Sound was working perfectly before, but now I get no sound at all. I have a laptop and when I raise the volume up it actually shows that it's doing so but I still get no sound. It's not only the start-up sound but I also don't et any sound when I play music in Amarok. I don't know what happened and don't know how do I go about to figuring out the problem. If someone can help I'd really appreciate it. I'm new to Ubuntu and that's probably why I don't know where to start.
User avatar
Epic
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:26 pm
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby DaddyX3 » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:45 am

Epic wrote:Sound was working perfectly before, but now I get no sound at all. I have a laptop and when I raise the volume up it actually shows that it's doing so but I still get no sound. It's not only the start-up sound but I also don't et any sound when I play music in Amarok. I don't know what happened and don't know how do I go about to figuring out the problem. If someone can help I'd really appreciate it. I'm new to Ubuntu and that's probably why I don't know where to start.

Have you tried: System>> Preferences>> Sound ?
You'll see on the devices tab: "Sound Events", "Music and Movies", Audio Conferencing", "Default Mixer Tracks"
Go through the drop down menu lists under those categories. "Autodetect" will usually work - to test click on the button "Test" you should hear some awful sound, if not use the drop down menus and go through your different options one by one clicking the "Test" button each time till you hear the awful sound emitted by the test. if you hear it you should be good :D
screen shot of "Sound Preferences":
Screenshot-Sound Preferences.png
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5GHz 45nm/Gigabyte EP35C-DS3R M.B. w/ddr3 1333
G.Skill 2X1GB DDR3 1333MHz/Gigabyte 8800GT PCIe 2.0 512MB GDDR3 OC'd to 700Mhz/ WD160 gig, 2- WD250 gig in RAID-0 (500GB), WD640 gig e-SATA external

AMD 64 X2 3800+/ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe/G.Skill 2X1GB Matched Pair ddr400
/EVGA 6800GS Nvidia Graphics 256MB/WD160gig drive

HTPC Box:AMD 64 X2 4400+/ BIOSTAR TF7050PV HDMI MicroATX/G.Skill 2X1GB /Matched Pair DDR800/Integrated video and audio/WD160gig drive
User avatar
DaddyX3
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2407
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:22 am
Location: Central Coast - California
Age: 43
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.3 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby Epic » Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:59 pm

Thank you for the reply. When I click on test for every option in the drop-down menu, I get a Testing Pipeline window saying: Testing... press OK to finish. The test never terminates and it hangs there forever. This happens for every option on the three categories. I don't know what's the problem. :|
User avatar
Epic
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:26 pm
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby DaddyX3 » Wed Nov 07, 2007 5:10 pm

Epic wrote:Thank you for the reply. When I click on test for every option in the drop-down menu, I get a Testing Pipeline window saying: Testing... press OK to finish. The test never terminates and it hangs there forever. This happens for every option on the three categories. I don't know what's the problem. :|

OK, what you are supposed to notice is - during the "Testing ... press ok to finish" you should be recieving a nasty noice and it will stay that way indefinately until you click "OK". You can click OK any time you want. as soon as you click the "test" button it should emit sound imediately, if the selection you make in the drop down menu is the correct one. just go through them quickly with a quick "test" and press "ok" if you don't hear anything.
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5GHz 45nm/Gigabyte EP35C-DS3R M.B. w/ddr3 1333
G.Skill 2X1GB DDR3 1333MHz/Gigabyte 8800GT PCIe 2.0 512MB GDDR3 OC'd to 700Mhz/ WD160 gig, 2- WD250 gig in RAID-0 (500GB), WD640 gig e-SATA external

AMD 64 X2 3800+/ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe/G.Skill 2X1GB Matched Pair ddr400
/EVGA 6800GS Nvidia Graphics 256MB/WD160gig drive

HTPC Box:AMD 64 X2 4400+/ BIOSTAR TF7050PV HDMI MicroATX/G.Skill 2X1GB /Matched Pair DDR800/Integrated video and audio/WD160gig drive
User avatar
DaddyX3
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2407
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:22 am
Location: Central Coast - California
Age: 43
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.3 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby Epic » Wed Nov 07, 2007 5:22 pm

Sorry, I think I didn't explain my self well enough. I did as you said and never got any sound with any of the options. I went through every option just now and I don't get any sound at all. It's really strange because It worked perfectly before and now for some weird reason it doesn't. And thank you for the prompt response and for trying to help me, I really appreciate it. So, what else can I do to try to solve this problem?


EDIT: I give up, I'm just gonna reinstall UU and hope this doesn't happen again. But, thanks for the help you provided.
User avatar
Epic
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:26 pm
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby drama » Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:07 am

i think alsa failed. happens to me almost weekly (have to remove and reinstall all alsa packages) maybe try oss or one of the other options instead of auto detect. if any of the others work then its a problem with alsa like i have. i think its a long standing bug though since ive had that prob since 6.10 ( its been ignored because its not critical since it doesnt effect the majority of people) also be sure nothing is muted in the mixer
ULTIMATE EDITION 2.5 X64/ARCHLINUX X64 DUAL BOOT
Antec 900two case
3 antec 120mm tri cool blue led fans (1 rear exaust 2 front intake)
1 antec 220mm "bigboy" tri cool blue led fan (top exaust)
Amd Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Am3 Cpu OC'D @ 4.2 Rev C3
MSI NF980-G65 Am3 Socket DDR3 Tri-sli ATX Mainboard
Nvidia 980A Sli Chipset
Corsair 2GB Dual Channel ram (1GBx2) DDR3 @ 1600 MHZ
EVGA Nvidia GTS-250 1GB PCI Express Graphics Card
Lite-On Dual Layer Sata Dvd Burner
3x 1TB Seagate Sata Hdd's 32Mb cache
ASUS VH235 23 Inch Lcd Wide Screen Monitor
OCZ ModXStream Pro 700Watt Psu
Rosewill 3.5" Internal USB 2.0 Card Reader w/ Floppy Drive
User avatar
drama
U.E. Master
U.E. Master
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:26 am
Location: eastern iowa, united states
Age: 36
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby DaddyX3 » Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:22 am

also be sure nothing is muted in the mixer

I'm going to be super :oops: if it was the mixer!
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5GHz 45nm/Gigabyte EP35C-DS3R M.B. w/ddr3 1333
G.Skill 2X1GB DDR3 1333MHz/Gigabyte 8800GT PCIe 2.0 512MB GDDR3 OC'd to 700Mhz/ WD160 gig, 2- WD250 gig in RAID-0 (500GB), WD640 gig e-SATA external

AMD 64 X2 3800+/ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe/G.Skill 2X1GB Matched Pair ddr400
/EVGA 6800GS Nvidia Graphics 256MB/WD160gig drive

HTPC Box:AMD 64 X2 4400+/ BIOSTAR TF7050PV HDMI MicroATX/G.Skill 2X1GB /Matched Pair DDR800/Integrated video and audio/WD160gig drive
User avatar
DaddyX3
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2407
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:22 am
Location: Central Coast - California
Age: 43
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.3 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby Epic » Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:51 am

I'm 100% sure it was not the mixer. I found something on the ubuntu forums about exactly what you said. They told me to uninstall the alsa and reinstall, but when I did that it screwd up gnome and UU1.5. So I ended up having to reinstall UU again :( So dissapointing that they can't care to fix this bug as you said. I'm also getting a IO-APIC bug when UU starts up. Although I don't think it seriously affect anything on my laptop, I think it's a really anoying bug and I would like to get rid of it. I've tried adding "noapic" to the kernel line in grub menu.lst but no success. When I do that the systems hangs forever and never boots. If anyone has a solution for this, I'd really appreciate it.
Last edited by Epic on Thu Nov 08, 2007 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Epic
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:26 pm
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby DaddyX3 » Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:06 am

Epic wrote:I'm 100% sure it was not the mixer. I found something on the ubuntu forums about exactly what you said. They told me to uninstall the alsa and reinstall, but when I did that it screwd up gnome and UU1.5. So I ended up having to reinstall UU again :( So dissapointing that they can't care to fix this bug as you said. I'm also getting a NO-APIC bug when UU starts up. Although I don't think it seriously affect anything on my laptop, I think it's a really anoying bug and I would like to get rid of it. I've tried adding "noapic" to the kernel line in grub menu.lst but no success. When I do that the systems hangs forever and never boots. If anyone has a solution for this, I'd really appreciate it.

Sounds like a BIOS problem possibly. Did some googleing :
APIC is the replacement for the old PIC chip that used to come imbedded on motherboards that allowed you to setup interrupts for your soundcard, ide controllers, ect. ACPI is the system that controls your dynamic speed fans, the power button behavior, sleep states, ect.

Sounds like maybe your BIOS is incorrectly set, I don't know how it could have been changed, but you could check it by (usually) holding down the del key at BIOS POST to enter setup (if you pay attention to the bottom of the first screen you see it will tell you to hold down " " to enter setup). Go through all the setting checking for "ACPI" and set to have BIOS have control over them. Also check this POST, it sounds very similar. I hope this helps.
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5GHz 45nm/Gigabyte EP35C-DS3R M.B. w/ddr3 1333
G.Skill 2X1GB DDR3 1333MHz/Gigabyte 8800GT PCIe 2.0 512MB GDDR3 OC'd to 700Mhz/ WD160 gig, 2- WD250 gig in RAID-0 (500GB), WD640 gig e-SATA external

AMD 64 X2 3800+/ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe/G.Skill 2X1GB Matched Pair ddr400
/EVGA 6800GS Nvidia Graphics 256MB/WD160gig drive

HTPC Box:AMD 64 X2 4400+/ BIOSTAR TF7050PV HDMI MicroATX/G.Skill 2X1GB /Matched Pair DDR800/Integrated video and audio/WD160gig drive
User avatar
DaddyX3
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 2407
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:22 am
Location: Central Coast - California
Age: 43
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.3 32 BIT



Re: Sound working before but not anymore

Postby Epic » Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:10 pm

Thank you for the suggestion. Adding acpi=off to the kernel line in menu.lst worked for me even tough it's strange that the bug was IO-APIC related and not ACPI. I'd like to know if adding acpi=off actually makes a difference on things I can do or cannot do in Ultimate with that option added. Thanks again for the solution, I really appreciate it :)
User avatar
Epic
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:26 pm
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT

Next

Return to Ultimate Edition 1.5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron