How to configure a server

The Ultimate Guide for the rest of us


How to configure a server

Postby Gilgamesh777 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:11 am

I have 8 computers, a switch and a modem. They all run windows 7 and connected to a windows 7 server. I replaced the clients with and Ultimate Edition 3.6 and uninstalled the proxy from the windows 7 server and now I can connect to the internet on all clients. The issue is that I want to replace the Windows 7 server with Ultimate Edition 3.6 but I don't know how to configure it so that it can connect to the internet and share it.
Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”
User avatar
Gilgamesh777
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:03 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby Gilgamesh777 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:31 am

Xxjoker21xX wrote:It's fairly easy all you need to do is have 2 connections and set the second one to share your connection in right click menu then connect it to the network router - switch :idea: :ugeek: :downthere


The problem is that i'm unablle to connect at all :( :(

Plz explain step by step!
Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”
User avatar
Gilgamesh777
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:03 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby Gilgamesh777 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:14 am

How can install the lan cards? :vil2_nouvelles
Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”
User avatar
Gilgamesh777
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:03 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby pam » Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:59 am

Brams, a simple solution would be to get a cheap router and connect your modem to it and connect one LAN port of router to your number 1 port of your switch. The dedicated router will be better for routing your internal LAN traffic.

If you already have an active LAN config, ignore my ignorance and set up a samba service or ftp service for sharing files across your network. A samba share on your LAN can even be accessed on your Android phone by installing ES file explorer and ftp server program(both are available on play store).

So the connection would be:--

Modem WAN port to-----> WAN port of router.
LAN port of router(any) to-----> Number 1 port of switch.

The other seven ports(assuming you have an 8 port switch) will have an active internet connection. Also they will be on a LAN network.

You can even use wireless dongle for desktop to access the internet connection and share data on LAN.

SAMBA howto: https://help.ubuntu.com/12.04/servergui ... erver.html

NOTE: Local LAN connection will be unsecure. Also a switch cannot work as a router. A router can work as a switch.
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 32
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby Gilgamesh777 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:06 am

Thanks pami'll try that and see if i can make it :D I'm a total hick when it comes to network installation!
Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”
User avatar
Gilgamesh777
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:03 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby Gilgamesh777 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:11 am

PS the problem is that Ihave everything configured and installed but when i replace windows 7 with any Linux (i've tried 3 so far: UR 3.6; Ubuntu 12 and Linux Mint 16) I don't get any network connection . BTW I didn't configure myself windows, someone else did before me! Is there an easier way to configure Ultimate Edition like windows 7 to do the same task!

edit: the name of my switch is D-Link DES-1024D


when i run this on a client i get
Code: Select all
mint@mint-HP-Compaq-dx2420-Microtower ~ $ sudo lshw -C network
[sudo] password for mint:
  *-network               
       description: Ethernet interface
       produit: RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
       fabriquant: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
       identifiant matériel: 0
       information bus: pci@0000:02:00.0
       nom logique: eth0
       version: 01
       numéro de série: 40:61:86:08:84:07
       taille: 100Mbit/s
       capacité: 100Mbit/s
       bits: 64 bits
       horloge: 33MHz
       fonctionnalités: pm vpd msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=full ip=192.168.137.211 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=MII speed=100Mbit/s
       ressources: irq:43 portE/S:ce00(taille=256) mémoire:fd9ff000-fd9fffff mémoire:fda00000-fda1ffff
  *-network
       description: Ethernet interface
       produit: VT6120/VT6121/VT6122 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
       fabriquant: VIA Technologies, Inc.
       identifiant matériel: 0
       information bus: pci@0000:03:00.0
       nom logique: eth1
       version: 82
       numéro de série: 00:00:00:00:01:2f
       taille: 1Gbit/s
       capacité: 1Gbit/s
       bits: 64 bits
       horloge: 33MHz
       fonctionnalités: pm pciexpress msi bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=via-velocity driverversion=1.15 duplex=half latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=1Gbit/s
       ressources: irq:18 portE/S:de00(taille=256) mémoire:fdbff000-fdbff0ff
Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”
User avatar
Gilgamesh777
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:03 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby pam » Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:57 am

Switch-or-Router-4.gif

The above image shopws you how to connect router to switch and how it functions.
All the extra and free ports of the router and the switch can be used to connect to the internet and LAN.

I believe you are using a computer to work as a router.
So you will need your linux box to do NAT/routing...
http://computernetworkingnotes.com/netw ... outer.html
http://how-to.wikia.com/wiki/How_to_set ... d_computer

Do you have an extra router lying around? I'd suggest that would save you a headache.
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 32
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby Gilgamesh777 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:53 pm

Genius :D :D Maaaaaaaaaaaaany thanks pam that nearly drove me crazy :D That's what I exactly need! I'll try it tomorrow! No one was ever able to help because i didin't mention the word :D "router". I have noticed the abscense of a routers in the installation but it didn't cross my mind that my windows server is acting like a router :D

It should work :th_DANCE_417
Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”
User avatar
Gilgamesh777
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:03 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby Gilgamesh777 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:52 am

bump!!That's very difficult! is there any easier tutorial or key words for search? :D
Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”
User avatar
Gilgamesh777
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:03 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: How to configure a server

Postby pam » Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:05 pm

How to connect router to switch:


How to add pci/pcie card:
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 32
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT

Next

Return to Newbie's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest