Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Compiz Questions--Multi-Environment and OS

The Ultimate Guide for the rest of us


compiz?

Postby billhedrick » Sat May 11, 2013 10:58 pm

Just installing 3.4.1 and can't seem to get compiz working, I activated the nVidia driver and can't find how to turn on Compiz

Velocity Notemagix L80 GeForce Go 7600 nVidia Driver 304.48
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 67
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: compiz?

Postby Xanayoshi » Sat May 11, 2013 11:11 pm

Did you switch from metacity to compiz? Click on the square compiz-fusion icon in the top right hand corner. A menu will pop up, choose select window manager and choose compiz.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 41
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: compiz?

Postby smeterlink » Sat May 11, 2013 11:19 pm

billhedrick wrote:Just installing 3.4.1 and can't seem to get compiz working, I activated the nVidia driver and can't find how to turn on Compiz

Velocity Notemagix L80 GeForce Go 7600 nVidia Driver 304.48


I thought as an Admin person, you had to know these things? :?

Code: Select all
metacity --replace


and

Code: Select all
compiz --replace
smeterlink
 



Re: compiz?

Postby billhedrick » Sat May 11, 2013 11:27 pm

been out of the loop since Ultimate Edition 2.9! Where do I enter thos commands, I opened up a terminal window and it said "huh?"
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 67
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: compiz?

Postby smeterlink » Sat May 11, 2013 11:56 pm

It actually said "huh?" :rasta
smeterlink
 



Re: compiz?

Postby billhedrick » Sun May 12, 2013 9:49 am

not helping
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 67
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: compiz?

Postby billhedrick » Sun May 12, 2013 10:52 am

Thanks Xanoyoshi! Now I have to figure out what key stroke to use to do the rotation!
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 67
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: compiz?

Postby Xanayoshi » Sun May 12, 2013 11:26 am

billhedrick wrote:Thanks Xanoyoshi! Now I have to figure out what key stroke to use to do the rotation!


Let's try something simple...

Either press your wheel on your mouse down

or hold alt+ctrl+left click down, and then release alt+Ctrl and move your mouse.

ctrl+F11 will activate your splash.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 41
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: compiz?

Postby Xanayoshi » Sun May 12, 2013 11:35 am

smeterlink wrote:
billhedrick wrote:Just installing 3.4.1 and can't seem to get compiz working, I activated the nVidia driver and can't find how to turn on Compiz

Velocity Notemagix L80 GeForce Go 7600 nVidia Driver 304.48


I thought as an Admin person, you had to know these things? :?

Code: Select all
metacity --replace


and

Code: Select all
compiz --replace


You know I know..I am observant.. :ugeek:

So yes, these commands will help in a pinch, if you are outside of Ultimate Edition and experimenting with Mate you need to follow a little different protocol to set up compiz.
Assuming you have Compiz installed, this is how you would make compiz your window manager...

http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=125&t=9155
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 41
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: compiz?

Postby billhedrick » Sun May 12, 2013 1:02 pm

a little harder with a laptop w/ trackpad, thanks for the key combo. my desktop is simple, don't have a scroll button on the lappy
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 67
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT

Next

Return to Newbie's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest