? about 64 bit os in virtbox

The Ultimate Guide for the rest of us


? about 64 bit os in virtbox

Postby Cell » Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:51 pm

first off just wanted to say hello.......

my question is that im trying to install 2.0 64 bit.im trying it in virtbox.live disk is saying that there is no 64 bit cpu found.i have a amd 64 fx-55.is this a virtbox thing,do you think?this is my first time ive tried to install linux 64 bit os.


just wondering...........Merry Christmas


cell
-------------------------------
hardware
--------------------------------
Dfi lanparty ut rdx200cf-dr
amd athlon 64 fx55 oc 2.9
2xvisiontek x1600xt gamers ed.
3 gig kingston hyperx mem
hauppauge win tv go tuner
pinnacle ultimate hd hybrid usb tuner
1 western hd 100 gig drive
1 western hd 160 gig drive
1 western hd 5 gig drive
1 usb hd 150 gig
1 usb hd 1 terabyte
--------------------
OS/Distros
--------------------
PhatDebian 1.0
StonerEdition 2.0
Ultimate Edition 2.4 Gamer Ed.
Mythbuntu 9.10
windows XP MCE remastered with Nlite
Windows 7 remastered with Vlight
----------------------------------------------------------
We are all connected;
To each other, biologically
To the earth, chemically
To the rest of the universe atomically-deGrasse Tyson
User avatar
Cell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Repuplic of California,U.S.A.
Age: 44
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 1.8 Gamers



Re: ? about 64 bit os in virtbox

Postby pch.shot » Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:49 pm

Virtualbox only sees one core.
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 64
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: ? about 64 bit os in virtbox

Postby LeadFingers » Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:47 pm

One of the downfalls of installing one OS inside another,
If the original OS is 32bit you can't install a 64bit OS inside it.

If you have a x64 processor and motherboard, it's best to install Linux on it's own partition.
Performance wise it's always best to have each OS installed in it's own partition and let grub handle the multiboot. Installing one OS inside another is strictly for convenience of the user but always has severe performance hits. I think you are dealing with one of those limitations here.
1st Box: Ultimate Edition 2.0 x64/ 1.8 x64
2nd Box: XP (dusty)
3rd Box: Stable Media box Ultimate Edition 1.8 x64 with XBMC

The Oxen are slow but the Earth is patient ~Chuen~
User avatar
LeadFingers
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:46 am
Location: Salem Oregon
Age: 58
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: ? about 64 bit os in virtbox

Postby Cell » Wed Dec 24, 2008 3:48 am

10-4


been using linux for a few years.mainly pclos.but after tonight i think i might dump winders and let 2.0 64 take over my machine :) just by chance i went into my partition with my few window games i play (coduo) and low and low behold, your os let me play it.(under wine) im a happy camper.

as for the virtbox........per manual. it *will* let you run a 64 bit guest on a 32 bit host. but from what i read its still buggy.

cell
-------------------------------
hardware
--------------------------------
Dfi lanparty ut rdx200cf-dr
amd athlon 64 fx55 oc 2.9
2xvisiontek x1600xt gamers ed.
3 gig kingston hyperx mem
hauppauge win tv go tuner
pinnacle ultimate hd hybrid usb tuner
1 western hd 100 gig drive
1 western hd 160 gig drive
1 western hd 5 gig drive
1 usb hd 150 gig
1 usb hd 1 terabyte
--------------------
OS/Distros
--------------------
PhatDebian 1.0
StonerEdition 2.0
Ultimate Edition 2.4 Gamer Ed.
Mythbuntu 9.10
windows XP MCE remastered with Nlite
Windows 7 remastered with Vlight
----------------------------------------------------------
We are all connected;
To each other, biologically
To the earth, chemically
To the rest of the universe atomically-deGrasse Tyson
User avatar
Cell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Repuplic of California,U.S.A.
Age: 44
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 1.8 Gamers



Re: ? about 64 bit os in virtbox

Postby LeadFingers » Thu Dec 25, 2008 7:52 am

There's a whole world of difference between allowing you to run a crippled version of x64 without true 64bit performance, under a 32bit OS... and true 64bit emulation. Even once they have all the issues fixed, Virtualbox may run x64 on a 32bit OS but it will be running in 32bit mode.

You can load your sport bike into the bed of your pickup truck and it may get you where you want to go, but it won't take the corners any faster than the truck.
1st Box: Ultimate Edition 2.0 x64/ 1.8 x64
2nd Box: XP (dusty)
3rd Box: Stable Media box Ultimate Edition 1.8 x64 with XBMC

The Oxen are slow but the Earth is patient ~Chuen~
User avatar
LeadFingers
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:46 am
Location: Salem Oregon
Age: 58
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT


Return to Newbie's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron