32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

The Ultimate Guide for the rest of us


Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby jh13 » Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:31 pm

here's the info .
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Duo CPU T5250 @ 1.50GHz
stepping : 13
cpu MHz : 1500.000
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 2995.73
clflush size : 64

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Duo CPU T5250 @ 1.50GHz
stepping : 13
cpu MHz : 1500.000
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 2991.55
clflush size : 64

do you guys recommend running a 64bit version?
jh13
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: maryland, usa
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby tuxsax » Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:46 pm

Yep, do it, you won't regret!
______________________________
Two things I love: Linux and my sax
tuxsax
U.E. Master
U.E. Master
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:15 am
Age: 47
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Beta Tester



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby Redeemed » Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:47 pm

should i install 64 bit now or wait till 2.0 64???
Laptop Specs
Intel core 2 Duo Proessor 2.00 GHZ
200GB serial ATA hard disk Drive
1.3 mp Webcam
(Everything else is Onboard)
User avatar
Redeemed
Moderator
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:47 am
Location: VA
Age: 32
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby Redeemed » Tue Nov 04, 2008 4:05 pm

continues pacing back and forth :lol:
Laptop Specs
Intel core 2 Duo Proessor 2.00 GHZ
200GB serial ATA hard disk Drive
1.3 mp Webcam
(Everything else is Onboard)
User avatar
Redeemed
Moderator
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:47 am
Location: VA
Age: 32
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby jh13 » Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:51 am

lol. thank you guys for all your help. Does anyone have any idea of when the ubuntu 2.0 releases?
jh13
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: maryland, usa
Age: 29
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby LeadFingers » Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:03 pm

Ultimate Edition don't have a release schedule.
When TheeMahn thinks it's 100% he releases it, and not a day sooner.
You will see a new section pop up in the Help & support section of the forum.
When that happens you will know you need to look in news & Events for the download link for the new release.
1st Box: Ultimate Edition 2.0 x64/ 1.8 x64
2nd Box: XP (dusty)
3rd Box: Stable Media box Ultimate Edition 1.8 x64 with XBMC

The Oxen are slow but the Earth is patient ~Chuen~
User avatar
LeadFingers
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:46 am
Location: Salem Oregon
Age: 58
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.1 64 BIT



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby pch.shot » Wed Nov 05, 2008 7:48 pm

Also, Kate Smith will begin singing "God Bless America" from your terminal when 2.0 is released!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r26_CSzk3Xw
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 64
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby DonkeyDragon » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:33 am

Hi and sorry if this is the wrong forum..

I'm new to this forum, and to linux in general, tried Ubuntu, but it just felt.. uncomplete.

As of such, I became quite happy when I found out about Ultimate Edition, through a mistake search on google.

Now, my biggest question about Ultimate Edition's 64bit OS...

Does it come with native 32bit libraries for WINE use? And if not, are they easy to install?

Thanks in Advance.

DonkeyDragon of Denmark 8-)
DonkeyDragon
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:11 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 2.6 Gamers



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby kyriakos » Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:31 pm

im using the ultimate edition 2 32bit should i run the 64bit? i think u say that 32bit cant support 4 cores? is that true? so as quad i must install the 64bit?
my specs are
intel q6600
ram 6gb but i dont know why in the results i can only see 2.5 gb ram... and in windows with virtual box says 3.8gb ram so i guess there is a problem in the metering...
nvidia 9400
webcam clique hue hd (not working grrrr so i use it only with windows)

and after i run the commant i ve seen in the forum i can see these results:




kyriakos@kyriakos-studio:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 1600.000
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 0
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 4799.92
clflush size : 64
power management:

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 1600.000
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 3
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 3
initial apicid : 3
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 4800.36
clflush size : 64
power management:

processor : 2
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 1600.000
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 1
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 4800.29
clflush size : 64
power management:

processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 1600.000
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 2
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 2
initial apicid : 2
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 4800.32
clflush size : 64
power management:

kyriakos@kyriakos-studio:~$

so should i use 64bit and what about applications? are different applications for 64bit and 32bit? or they just dont take full advantage of the 64bit speed but i still can use them as usual same with 32bit?
kyriakos
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:29 am
Location: Greece
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: 32-Bit V.S 64-Bit OS

Postby kyriakos » Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:32 pm

im using the ultimate edition 2 32bit should i run the 64bit? i think u say that 32bit cant support 4 cores? is that true? so as quad i must install the 64bit?
my specs are
intel q6600
ram 6gb but i dont know why in the results i can only see 2.5 gb ram... and in windows with virtual box says 3.8gb ram so i guess there is a problem in the metering...
nvidia 9400
webcam clique hue hd (not working grrrr so i use it only with windows)

and after i run the commant i ve seen in the forum i can see these results:




kyriakos@kyriakos-studio:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 1600.000
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 0
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 4799.92
clflush size : 64
power management:

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 1600.000
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 3
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 3
initial apicid : 3
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 4800.36
clflush size : 64
power management:

processor : 2
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 1600.000
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 1
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 4800.29
clflush size : 64
power management:

processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 1600.000
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 2
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 2
initial apicid : 2
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht TheeMahn pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 4800.32
clflush size : 64
power management:

kyriakos@kyriakos-studio:~$

so should i use 64bit and what about applications? are different applications for 64bit and 32bit? or they just dont take full advantage of the 64bit speed but i still can use them as usual same with 32bit?
kyriakos
U.E. Knowledgable
U.E. Knowledgable
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:29 am
Location: Greece
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT

Previous

Return to Newbie's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron