Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

how to set up and make your own repo online

Ultimate Edition Software Repository


how to set up and make your own repo online

Postby mikeuhlik » Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:47 pm

I was wondering if you know any guides to help with a few thing with building a on line repo i would like to have a small one with like 10 softwares i tried this guide below but the package.gz file it made was empty and i was wondering how do i get the packages to update in my on line repo when i put in a new version.

Heres a link to the guide i used to make a local repo then i uploaded it to my on line site like this http://mysite.com/repo

then i entered this in my source list http://mysite.com/repo/ /

Here is the guide i used.

http://odzangba.wordpress.com/2006/10/13/how-to-build-local-apt-repositories/

my next move is to use atponcd and take the folders in the cd and upload it to the repo directory on my site i got errors in my package manager on mt pc so i think i have to reedit the package files I am guessing

I would like any help or guides on how to properly setup this directory for my small list of repos and know how to make them update in my update manager in the repos i tried looking at your for a guided to see how but the website template dose not allow me to see the set up or the files needed to see how it works.

The main thing i would like to accomplish make a proper set up repo and find out how to set up auto update for packages.

I dont get the ditro directory holds the package file to tell were and witch version and distro to install then the pool holds the deb ?

Just trying to understand thanks guys all help is well appreciated Thnks
:ugeek:
Open Your Mind

Its The Way Of The World Its The Way Its All Ways Going To Be
User avatar
mikeuhlik
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:39 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: how to set up and make your own repo online

Postby ixnod » Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:06 pm

just a quick suggestion, remember to point the sources list to your local repository.
Laptop. Macbook pro dual boot U.E 2.6 64 2.8 Ghz core2duo
Desktop:
Core I7 820, ATI 5870 radeon HD graphics Ultimate Edition 2.7
maxtor 320 gig external usb
1.5 Tb external Hd
Hp c5100 photosmart printer (networked and wireless)
User avatar
ixnod
Site Admin
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:56 am
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 64 BIT



Re: how to set up and make your own repo online

Postby pch.shot » Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:42 pm

If you have a static ip address you can always set up a dedicated server with an old PIII.
Here is a how to that may be of some use.
http://www.webmonkey.com/tutorial/Set_Up_a_Home_Server
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 63
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: how to set up and make your own repo online

Postby mikeuhlik » Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:36 am

I have already set up a local repo and it worked but i want one on line i already have a vps server also with my host what i cant figure out is structure of the directory on line for example http://mysite.com/repo i dont get how to set it up like ubuntus repo were they have the dist and pool folder if i under stand right the dist folder holds the package files which tell synaptic were thet are located the debs and the pool holds the debs to be called by the package files.

so for example if i just made a repo for intrepid the package files would be in http://mysite.com/repo/dist/intrepid/ then i would put the debs in http://mysite.com/repo/pool/d/dvd2hdd/d ... 12_all.deb

and here is the exapmple of the package file i would edit to these locations above like this

Package: dvd2hdd
Priority: extra
Section: alien
Installed-Size: 80
Maintainer: amnon <amnon@amnon-desktop>
Architecture: all
Version: 0.2-13
Filename: http://mysite.com/repo/pool/d/dvd2hdd/d ... 12_all.deb
Size: 17896
MD5sum: d580954526f56f9edeb1cfed6a1f6d2c
SHA1: 5b28910595e7d969be6a7106fa33e092118cb60e
SHA256: 55d89e1135fb3aa0d599bea313051044db95ec0e53078b1b4d6a2f512c2e09c6
Description: DVD2HDD by Amnon82
DVD2HDD is a easy GUI for vobcopy.
It has followed features:
.
* detects DVD-Video-Discs
* DVD drive speedup
* DVD preview via xine
* Backup the whole DVD on the fly
* Backup the mainmovie on the fly
* joins all vobs to one big vobfile
* detects free space on hdd
* continues the backup if same DVD present
* burns VIDEO-DVDs
.
.
(C) 2006 AMSOFT
This program is written in Gambas, so you will need Gambas to be installed.
.
(Converted from a rpm package by alien version 8.64.)

and for a example the deb address would deb http://mysite.com/repo/ intrepid all

whats the all stand for is it a folder in intrepid?
also how do i get synaptic to read a deb for updates?
Thanks everyone :?:
Open Your Mind

Its The Way Of The World Its The Way Its All Ways Going To Be
User avatar
mikeuhlik
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:39 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: how to set up and make your own repo online

Postby mikeuhlik » Wed Jan 28, 2009 1:47 am

Thanks for your help and advise I found a very good tutorial on the web to accomplish this I haven't tried it yet but will be working on it this week and let you know how it went.

:D http://www.jejik.com/articles/2006/09/setting_up_and_managing_an_apt_repository_with_reprepro/

Thanks to everyone for there help.

Mike
Open Your Mind

Its The Way Of The World Its The Way Its All Ways Going To Be
User avatar
mikeuhlik
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:39 pm
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: how to set up and make your own repo online

Postby shwnvntr » Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:46 pm

If anyone has tried Reprepro can they please explain in as dumb as possable..
i have tried this on on both amd64 and armhf pi2

any help on this would be great since the help links that are posted don't work.
was hoping someone here would explain a working version
And why is the software from amd64 to armhf so different?
i cant get it to work on either, every time i run it i get a different error, and nothing shows up in searches.
i cant even get the mydebs version of a local repo to work.
and it will take to long to email everyone on launchpad to support armhf arm64 ppc, and why launchpad doesn't do this by default doesnt make sense.
any help would be great.. If this is in the wrong place feel free to relocate it.

i am trying to use this as a guide
http://www.tecmint.com/create-deb-pa...ory-in-ubuntu/

reprepro --ask-passphrase -Vb /var/www/apt export
gpgme gave error GPG Agent:17: No Secret Key

i have also tried this
https://www.digitalocean.com/communi...n-ubuntu-14-04
to try and deal with the keys and again
gpgme gave error GPG agent:17:No Secret Key

what im looking for is a clear explanation on the
dpkg-scanpackages, apt-ftparchive, release and inrelease files, package.gz things
and or how to setup a working repo, and how to make the files needed.
i have been reading for months now either nothing works and leads to 20 more pages to read, that dont work.
If anyone knows of a working app/software that will do this with clear explanations that works. please share.
Also the having more than one arch folder (i386 amd64 armhf arm64 ppc ppc64)is a total waste of space, having 3-8 copies of the same file per (trusty, xenial, yakkety, zesty)6x4=24copies if anyone is counting. so that points me to something called trivial repo. like Ultimate Edition toys.
and help would be greatly appreciated.
#lost&clueless
MSI KTV4-L AMD XP 2500 Barton
512 Pny Ram DDR333 OC 366
Nvidia GeForce 4 Mx4000 128ram
40G Western(Temp DL), 60G Seagate(XP Boot),
200G Western(Hotswap Cage), 500G Mybook
Liteon DVD16x, CyberDrive CW099D CD-R/RW
Highpoint HPT371 IDE controller Card
Cnet Pro200 PCI Ethernet, HSP56K Modem
Intel USB CS330 webcam, Saitek USB HID P3000 Wireless game pad, Kingwing EZ-Connect
8Gpny thumbdrive(Linux ext4)

2006 Imac G5 ppc
2008 Macbook 4.1 (white) OSX 10.7.5
2009 macbook pro 5.5 OSX 10.10.5
Dell optiplex 320
Raspberry Pi2-b, 32g mSD, 4port usb hub- daisy-chained keyboard and mouse
User avatar
shwnvntr
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Just north of UE Kingdom
Operating System: Microsoft Windows



Re: how to set up and make your own repo online

Postby Xanayoshi » Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:12 pm

Links are down for me. Could be a US thing, could be the devil I found this https://wiki.debian.org/SettingUpSigned ... thReprepro

Arm and Amd are different architectures. ARM is RISC "Reduced Instruction Set Computing", AMD64 is CISC "Complete Instruction Set Computing"

I would have to maybe..set something like this up to really be of help, but it stands to reason someone on here could help. You could probably request Admin priv to post for help there, too.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: how to set up and make your own repo online

Postby shwnvntr » Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:08 pm

Well i guess that what im asking then..
for someone to give this a try and see if you get farther than I did.
I give it a try every time i flash pi or re-install the 64, (sometimes 4-6 re-flashings and or 2-6 installs a day)

If i can get this to work, reprepro, is to upload the whole Ultimate Edition repo to sourceforge and will never have to worry about it going down.
If i can get it to work, then it should be super easy to maintain the repo.
I have tried so much and so many pages read to no end. I'm just doing something wrong or straight missing a step.
I think it has something to do with the gpg key cause now it ends in this error.

I am trying to use this as a guide
http://www.tecmint.com/create-deb-pa...ory-in-ubuntu/
reprepro --ask-passphrase -Vb /var/www/apt export
gpgme gave error GPG Agent:17: No Secret Key


I have also tried this
https://www.digitalocean.com/communi...n-ubuntu-14-04
to try and deal with the keys and again
gpgme gave error GPG agent:17:No Secret Key


As for trying other ways to do repos they all fail,
you can search by googleing "ubuntu how to setup a repo"
and i have searched them errors out to either 10 more pages to read that are no help or a 4 yr old bug never fixed.

I also want to thank you for the link you posted but been there and they link back to the no help main page for the app, have also asked ubuntu for help no answer or at least a write up about the app still waiting.


Oh and to add about why are the files so different. i don't cpu types i mean as in how the apps work.
example...
gpg --gen-key
on the pi armhf it runs what i think is the gpg --quick-key
on the amd64 it runs what i think is gpg --full-gen
on the ppc it give you the 1-4 list again i thin its the fll-gen
for the most part all the cross-platform apps(firefox handbreak and so on) work normal
but other _all.deb file for the most part installed by ubuntu work act different.
so far all Ultimate Edition _all.deb work the same on all unless unmet-depnds.

thanks again..
and if anyone want to test it out or hands on help you can reach me on facebook
MSI KTV4-L AMD XP 2500 Barton
512 Pny Ram DDR333 OC 366
Nvidia GeForce 4 Mx4000 128ram
40G Western(Temp DL), 60G Seagate(XP Boot),
200G Western(Hotswap Cage), 500G Mybook
Liteon DVD16x, CyberDrive CW099D CD-R/RW
Highpoint HPT371 IDE controller Card
Cnet Pro200 PCI Ethernet, HSP56K Modem
Intel USB CS330 webcam, Saitek USB HID P3000 Wireless game pad, Kingwing EZ-Connect
8Gpny thumbdrive(Linux ext4)

2006 Imac G5 ppc
2008 Macbook 4.1 (white) OSX 10.7.5
2009 macbook pro 5.5 OSX 10.10.5
Dell optiplex 320
Raspberry Pi2-b, 32g mSD, 4port usb hub- daisy-chained keyboard and mouse
User avatar
shwnvntr
U.E. Newbie
U.E. Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Just north of UE Kingdom
Operating System: Microsoft Windows


Return to Repository

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest