Page 1 of 2

My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:44 am
by TheeMahn
As most here on the forums may know I am a programmer for the reconstrutor team, I not only write mods, but adjust the code only to make things better / work out bugs, I submit code I have modified to their website and leave the decision up to them to include it or not. I have been asked in the past to be an official "dev" for them and declined due to time constraints.

I would now like to take a bit of that time and post my reconstructor here. This is the same reconstructor that was used at time of posting to make Ultimate Edition 1.7, this includes all custom mods I have written (some unposted to their site until bugs are worked out to be distro independent), if you would like to further customise it, or improve upon it and post back here please feel free.

Please note: This is not considered a "stable build". Many things are not fully tested.

DOWNLOAD

Enjoy!!!

TheeMahn

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:07 pm
by DaddyX3
What exactly is unstable with this version? I've never used reconstructor before and would like to make an attempt at it - should I use this one? Are the menus/ options the same?

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:52 pm
by red_team316
This build is the same as 2.7 but includes hardy support, a bazillion modules, and the full svn tree.

It's equivalent to the 2.6.1 build but with extra modules. Using this build comes with pretty much everything you'd need to make Ultimate Edition minus TheeMahn's extra tweaks :)

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:27 am
by DaddyX3
red_team316 wrote:This build is the same as 2.7 but includes hardy support, a bazillion modules, and the full svn tree.

It's equivalent to the 2.6.1 build but with extra modules. Using this build comes with pretty much everything you'd need to make Ultimate Edition minus TheeMahn's extra tweaks :)

Sweet, thanks for the info!!

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:01 pm
by DaddyX3
I hate to double post, but I'm having trouble with the current reconstructor (not TheeMahns- haven't tried it yet), where there is a error that I'm getting when it is creating the build that says something of the sort:
/dev/pty not mounted?

and nothing is getting installed through the apt feature (not sure if even the module section selections that I'm making are even taking effect in the end. Do you have to run as root? I've tried just clicking on the reconstructor under system tools and then it asks me for a root password inside a terminal. The other way I've tried it is my just hitting ALT+F2 and entering
Code: Select all
gksudo reconstructor
which brings up a different method of entering root password to continue and there is no open terminal with this method.
- So which is the right way to initiate Reconstructor?
- Whats up with the error?

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:09 pm
by TheeMahn
red_team316 wrote:This build is the same as 2.7 but includes hardy support, a bazillion modules, and the full svn tree.

It's equivalent to the 2.6.1 build but with extra modules. Using this build comes with pretty much everything you'd need to make Ultimate Edition minus TheeMahn's extra tweaks :)



Always good to see you on board brother. I no longer use reconstructor, I now do all by hand. I have a script currently 500 lines long that does everything. I still have to drop it into a terminal & wait ;) You may wanna tell Evan that there is an error in mksquashfs, I spent days watching build after build hang until I found the error on launchpad the solution is 1 of 2:

1. SVN build mksquashfs
or
2. add switch -no-sparse

Just trying to help,

TheeMahn

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:13 pm
by TheeMahn
DaddyX3 wrote:I hate to double post, but I'm having trouble with the current reconstructor (not TheeMahns- haven't tried it yet), where there is a error that I'm getting when it is creating the build that says something of the sort:
/dev/pty not mounted?

and nothing is getting installed through the apt feature (not sure if even the module section selections that I'm making are even taking effect in the end. Do you have to run as root? I've tried just clicking on the reconstructor under system tools and then it asks me for a root password inside a terminal. The other way I've tried it is my just hitting ALT+F2 and entering
Code: Select all
gksudo reconstructor
which brings up a different method of entering root password to continue and there is no open terminal with this method.
- So which is the right way to initiate Reconstructor?
- Whats up with the error?



You can ignore that error.

Code: Select all
sudo reconstructor -e

is what I used to use, i suggest though the terminal so you can see if there are any external errors, if you are trying it on hardy expect many. Even using mine, just less.

PM me if you need any help,

TheeMahn

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:03 pm
by triniclemist90
Hi. I am very relatively new to Ubuntu and even newer to Ultimate Edition. I am still confused about how to install this file. it is a .tar.gz. so, in terminal, i type
Code: Select all
tar -xzvf /home/alex/Desktop/reconstructor.tar.gz
to unarchive it. I then type
Code: Select all
cd ~/reconstructor/bin
and type
Code: Select all
sudo python reconstructor.py
. This runs the program, but i am wondering how i can move it somewhere or do something to get it to show up under the "Applications" drop down menu. All tar.gz tutorials i can find involve a "./configure" folder, which this does not have. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for the help,
alex

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:40 pm
by DaddyX3
alex,
You might have an easier time trying to utilize remastersys. If you are running Hardy- you will have to use this anyway. There are too many issues with reconstructor at the moment (last I checked prob. about a month ago). Even TheeMahn had to create 1.8/1.9 with a script. I would recommend that you look into remastersys.

Re: My current reconstructor

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:39 pm
by triniclemist90
Does this come installed on Ultimate Edition 1.9? I knew he said that he uses scripts, but i have no idea how to make or implement them. I would like to learn though. I don't even know what programs you use to write scripts. and, Could you maybe explain how i would go about adding it to the applications menu's even if i don't use it, i am having trouble figuring it out for other programs aswell.

Thanks for the help,
alex