Remote access help

Build it and learn to secure your system/server.


Remote access help

Postby ryanvade » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:27 pm

Hey guys. I would like some help setting up remote access for my desktops. Server setup and remote access are not my thing. So, if you guys could help me set this up I would really appreciate this. I need to do the following:

1. setup and use Wake on Lan.
Both computers have boot off lan, and for sure one of them has Wake on lan. I can't seem to find BIOS options on either that can tell me if it is on though.
2. I would like help setting up SSH and vsftp from remote locations. The problem I have with this is no-ip. I have no idea on how to set that up.
3. If possible I would like some help with getting Windows able to ssh and transfer files too.

So my systems. My server is an old HP Pavilion 513W. As far as I know this system supports Wake on lan. It is running Arch Linux with the GRsecurity patches.

My Desktop is in my specs. The motherboard is an MSI P4M900M2-L, which definitely supports Wake on Lan but I can't find a BIOS option for it. This system is running Arch Linux with the Mainline Kernel.
I am going to read the tutorials on the forums... I would really like help with Wake On Lan and no-ip.com setup.
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Remote access help

Postby pam » Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:12 am

WOL will be in the power section in your BIOS.
You may need to configure WOL on the OS side too.
http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/ubuntu-lin ... -examples/

To check whether your interface supports WOL, install ethtool and check your interface:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install ethtool

ethtool.png

The above image clearly shows the wlan0(wireless) is unsupported! But the wireline ethernet is...
Next you can enable the wireline ethernet WOL by passing the following:
Code: Select all
ethtool -s eth0 wol g


To check wake on lan, you will have to pass 'magic packets' to it from another system using etherwake or gwakeonlan(GUI-based), so install it on the remote system:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install etherwake gwakeonlan


The snippet below is from this site: https://calomel.org/wakeonlan.html

"Most modern motherboards with an embedded Ethernet controller support WOL without the need for an external cable. Older motherboards must have a WAKEUP-LINK header onboard and connected to the network card via a special 3-pin cable; however, systems supporting the PCI 2.2 standard coupled with a PCI 2.2 compliant network adapter typically do not require a WOL cable as the required standby power is relayed through the PCI bus. Finally, you must have an ATX v2.0 or above compliant power supply. Most systems made after 2004 have all of these hardware requirements."

for further info check here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WakeOnLan
http://askubuntu.com/questions/210890/w ... untu-12-04
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 33
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Remote access help

Postby tanmay.01 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:39 am

Why do you want vsftp ? FTP's are not secure you should use scp => sftp

For ssh or sftp from windows, for years people are using PuTTY => http://www.putty.org/

And how to get started with no-ip (its safe, used it for almost 2 years now)=> http://www.noip.com/support/knowledgeba ... no-ip-com/

HP ENVY 15
•3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TheeMahn) i5-3210M Processor (2.5 GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.1 GHz)
• 1GB Radeon(TheeMahn) HD 7750M GDDR5 Graphics [HDMI]
• 6GB 1600DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 750GB 7200 rpm Hard Drive
• Intel 2x2 802.11a/b/g/n WLAN + Bluetooth(R)
• Full-size Radiance backlit keyboard.

Image
User avatar
tanmay.01
Moderator
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:03 pm
Location: India
Age: 27
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Remote access help

Postby ryanvade » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:24 pm

Thank you gents. Some things to read. :) I am not sure yet which protocol I wan to use yet.. I definitely want to use ssl for security. I suppose sftp is very much an option. I guess I want to get SSH and wake on lan working first. Quick question for wake on lan, does it only wake the computer from suspension or can it actually TURN IT ON?
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Remote access help

Postby Micro » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:48 pm

For a Windows Client I use MobaXterm to administrate Unix/Linux Environment at work. Has everything you could ever want including copy and past in SSH and even access DE's like GNOME and KDE remotely. Greatest tool ever and free version allows you to have 15 saved sessions. Check it out http://mobaxterm.mobatek.net/. As far as vsftp the IP would be your server IP vsftp service is running. If you have a domain name then your records just reflect name resolution to your server IP. Inside your network go by IP and remotely use DNS. Been busy with new job lately and been hard to find time. Just wanted to pop in here. PM if u need help during the day setting up some services... <BREW>
Image
https://www.linkedin.com/in/josephperrello
Thermaltake Series Core X9 SPCC E-ATX Cube Case
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 64GB Quad Channel DDR4
EVGA 120-G1-0750-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W PSU
APC BR1300G Back-UPS Pro 780W/1300VA UPS
ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA X99 Motherboard
OC-Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.1GHz × 12
Corsair H100i V2 CPU Cooler. 240mm
Kernel Linux 4.6.4-1-ARCH x86_64
MATE Desktop Environment 1.12.1
OS - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB
DATA - 2 SSD 840 EVO RAID 0
MEDIA - 4 HDD 3TB RAID 0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX750 Ti
ViewSonic PJD7820HD
OS - Filesystem F2FS
Arch Linux
User avatar
Micro
Site Admin
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 pm
Age: 41
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Remote access help

Postby pam » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:14 am

Simple answer YES.
You can power ON your system and from suspend too using WOL.

From wikipedia:
"In the early days of Wake-on-LAN the situation was relatively simple: a machine was connected to power but switched off, and it was arranged that a special packet be sent to switch the machine on.

Since then many options have been added and standards agreed upon. A machine can be in 7 power states from S0 (fully on) through S5 (powered down but plugged in) and disconnected from power (G3, Mechanical Off), with names such as "sleep", "standby", and "hibernate". In some reduced-power modes the system state is stored in RAM and the machine can wake up very quickly; in others the state is saved to disk and the motherboard powered down, taking at least several seconds to awake. The machine can be woken from a reduced-power state by a variety of signals.

The machine's BIOS must be set to allow Wake-on-LAN. To allow wakeup from powered-down state S5, wakeup on PME (Power Management Event) is also required. The Intel adapter allows "Wake on Directed Packet", "Wake on Magic Packet", "Wake on Magic Packet from power off state", and "Wake on Link".[25] Wake on Directed Packet is particularly useful as the machine will automatically come out of standby or hibernation when it is referenced, without the user or application needing to explicitly send a magic packet. Unfortunately in many networks waking on directed packet (any packet with the adapter's MAC address or IP address) or on link is likely to cause wakeup immediately after going to a low-power state. Details for any particular motherboard and network adapter are to be found in the relevant manuals; there is no general method. Knowledge of signals on the network may also be needed to prevent spurious wakening."


Here is something from the debian wiki : http://wiki.debian.org/WakeOnLan

"Wake On LAN works on Debian and opens some new options up to me.

I can log into my gateway and boot my desktop, grab what I need and then power it back off remotely. I'm using DHCP with MAC-to-IP mappings so I can look in that file on my gateway system to know the MAC address of the system I wish to wake up. If I didn't have that I could keep a text file.

My next feat is to have non-essential systems power-off (not just halt) on a power outage to extend the battery runtime for the essential systems and then use WOL to power the other systems back on after power is restored and the battery has hit some specific charge level. I think some settings with halt or APM or ACPI are not right on those systems. See OffAndOnAgain. "


As far as SSH is concerned, first off set up a successful demo on local systems and then move up ...to get public access. To access network from outside, port forwarding comes into play. You can even push further by adding another layer of firewall using iptables. Also SElinux and ssh dont work well together.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SSH/O ... Forwarding
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 33
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Remote access help

Postby ryanvade » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:29 am

I have another question, why does
Code: Select all
lynx --dump http://ipecho.net/plain

give the same IP on both my laptop and server?

Oh, and on my server:
Code: Select all
Supports Wake-on: pumbg
Wake-on: g
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Remote access help

Postby pam » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:45 am

http://ipecho.net/plain

LOL, open it in web browser... :lol: :lol: :lol:
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 33
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT



Re: Remote access help

Postby ryanvade » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:07 am

I opened it in Links. Same number. whatismyip.com does the same thing.
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Remote access help

Postby pam » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:14 am

Sorry i misunderstood. The site echoes your ip address..
http://ipecho.net/
DONOTSPAMORTROLL:
http://forumubuntusoftware.info/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11
Download Ultimate Edition and Oz Unity 3.0 from copy:-
https://www.copy.com/s/oBnDBsDOvxF8jW1EuLKM/Public
Download Ultimate Edition from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ultimat ... rce=navbar
Download Oz Unity 3.0 from sourceforge:-
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ueoz/files/UEOz/
Download Ultimate Edition torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Download Oz Unity 3.0 torrents from linuxtracker:-
http://linuxtracker.org/index.php?page= ... 0&active=1
Image Image
Visit:http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com
User avatar
pam
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 5:56 am
Location: India
Age: 33
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.5 64 BIT

Next

Return to Server and Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests