Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Ubuntu 13.04--How to add Compiz to Mate 1.6



Ubuntu 13.04--How to add Compiz to Mate 1.6

Postby Xanayoshi » Tue May 07, 2013 12:32 pm

You may get told, to open a terminal

Code: Select all
compiz --replace


or told to add that command to start-up.

Don't.

Open up dconf editor

Navigate to

Navigate to org-->mate-->desktop-->session-->required components

Change the window manager to compiz.

Reboot

Now it get's complicated...

Compiz at this state will just crash your system if you engage the cube, it is not set up in any way whatsoever. I would start with your windows, open Compiz Configuration Settings Manager

windowed.png

windode.png


and go from there...

There is a warning when you open up ccsm, heed it. Many effects don't seem to work until reboot, something to keep in mind.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: Ubuntu 13.04--How to add Compiz to Mate 1.6

Postby TheeMahn » Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:30 pm

Xanayoshi wrote:You may get told, to open a terminal

Code: Select all
compiz --replace


or told to add that command to start-up.

Don't.

Open up dconf editor

Navigate to

Navigate to org-->mate-->desktop-->session-->required components

Change the window manager to compiz.

Reboot

Now it get's complicated...

Compiz at this state will just crash your system if you engage the cube, it is not set up in any way whatsoever. I would start with your windows, open Compiz Configuration Settings Manager

The attachment windowed.png is no longer available

The attachment windowed.png is no longer available


and go from there...

There is a warning when you open up ccsm, heed it. Many effects don't seem to work until reboot, something to keep in mind.


I am working a solution into Ultimate Edition 3.8 (Ubuntu 13.04 Raring debootstrapped), I now have both emerald and compiz rocking under raring & Mate 1.6. I have compiled a modified version of fusion-icon, while it does detect mate as the session it still segfaults. I may write an app to replace it in python, depending on time constraints.

Wrote a new toy, not ready for public release & I don't know if I will ever release it. I am afraid ppl will hose thier hard disks:
toys.png
Got tired of loading up unetbootin, usb creator. handling all from the CLI on the FLY ;)

Lets toss in a few thumbdrives and see what happens...
naughty.png
Failure, the 80GB drive is an external Hard drive not a thumbdrive. If I would have had my 1 TB externel in there I would truly been pissed. Very destructive tool.
Home of Ultimate Edition. Got a question? Please review the F.A.Q. Browse the How to section.

Main O/S: Builder of O/S Guess.
Mainboard: ASUS Hero VI (AM4)
CPU: AMD 1700X water cooled (Deepcool Captain Genome Cooling tower)
Ram: 16 GB GSkill Trident RGB Series Dual Channel DDR4 3200
Video: MSI RX470 8GB Gaming card.
Hard Disks: Over 50 TB total Mechanical and Multiple SSD's. (Sans Digital 32TB raid tower - dual Esata)
Raid: Onboard 0 used, Multiple NAS's on Gigabit AC wireless 3200 (Netgear X6 r8000)
Monitors: 4K Samsung 28", HannsG HH281, Various others
750 Watt modular PSU (Rosswell)
1100 Watt Amp & 4 X 600 Watt speakers (just drug up the other 2 speakers today)
User avatar
TheeMahn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4197
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:02 am
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 46
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Developer



Re: Ubuntu 13.04--How to add Compiz to Mate 1.6

Postby TheeMahn » Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:23 am

I have rebuilt Ultimate Edition 4.0 from the ground up, looking for a solution for Compiz in Mate 1.6 in google has brought me here ;)

My latest build has brought in a virus to Ultimate Edition 4.0 the virus is called Unity:
virus.png
lol j/k
Home of Ultimate Edition. Got a question? Please review the F.A.Q. Browse the How to section.

Main O/S: Builder of O/S Guess.
Mainboard: ASUS Hero VI (AM4)
CPU: AMD 1700X water cooled (Deepcool Captain Genome Cooling tower)
Ram: 16 GB GSkill Trident RGB Series Dual Channel DDR4 3200
Video: MSI RX470 8GB Gaming card.
Hard Disks: Over 50 TB total Mechanical and Multiple SSD's. (Sans Digital 32TB raid tower - dual Esata)
Raid: Onboard 0 used, Multiple NAS's on Gigabit AC wireless 3200 (Netgear X6 r8000)
Monitors: 4K Samsung 28", HannsG HH281, Various others
750 Watt modular PSU (Rosswell)
1100 Watt Amp & 4 X 600 Watt speakers (just drug up the other 2 speakers today)
User avatar
TheeMahn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4197
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:02 am
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 46
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Developer



Re: Ubuntu 13.04--How to add Compiz to Mate 1.6

Postby billhedrick » Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:53 am

Unity?
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 65
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Ubuntu 13.04--How to add Compiz to Mate 1.6

Postby jslick1jim » Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:48 pm

billhedrick wrote:Unity?
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Amen brother.
ImageMotherboard Msi Eclipse Sli
Cpu intel i7 920
Mem 6gig ddr3
x-fi extreme audio
ps2 keyboard
usb razer mouse
2 sata2 320 wd hd
2 ide 320 wd hd
2 segate 1tb hd
4 wd black 1tb hd
Visontek 5870
Hp Officejet Pro 8500 wireless
Lian Li PC-343B Modular Black Aluminum Cube Case
32in Olevia LCD HD TV
Ultimate Edition 3.4 64 bit
User avatar
jslick1jim
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 1:00 pm
Age: 61
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 64 BIT



Re: Ubuntu 13.04--How to add Compiz to Mate 1.6

Postby billhedrick » Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:14 pm

ahhh, I missed adding the joke tag, sorry
Image
User avatar
billhedrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1242
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:15 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN. USA
Age: 65
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Ubuntu 13.04--How to add Compiz to Mate 1.6

Postby Xanayoshi » Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:30 pm

?

What happened here?

Locking this,lol.

You people...tsk tsk.

I will do a guide to 14.04 if it is requested.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 39
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT


Return to Kde and Other Desktop Environments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest