Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

windows-8.1

For questions on VMWare, VirtualBox, Xen, QEMU and other virtualization software


windows-8.1

Postby sambolinux » Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:39 pm

I looked everywhere of how to install windows 8.1 preview in virtualbox because I kept getting an error . I do not remember the exact error but it kept saying "please push reset." Anyways then I found how to install in windows but not Ubuntu. You have to navigate
Code: Select all
 cd C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox
then tell virtualbox this:
Code: Select all
 VBoxManage setextradata [your virtual machine name] VBoxInternal/CPUM/CMPXCHG16B 1
I said "hmmm" if it works in windows it should work in Ubuntu as well ,but I would have find where " VBoxManage" is stored at : either /usr/bin or /usr/lib. Well it is stored in /usr/bin so the command is
Code: Select all
cd /usr/bin
then
Code: Select all
VBoxManage setextradata [your virtual machine name] VBoxInternal/CPUM/CMPXCHG16B 1
and it worked.
Computer: Antec NSK6500 case, MSI K9A2 Platinum, BE940 Phenom II,6gig ddr2 1066mhz ram, 4 sata hd (1 250gb seagate w/acronis for op sys bkp only and 1 TB wd green for movie bkp only and disconnected) , 3 1TB wd black sata II(no raid),Zalman 9700 air cooler, on board realsucks sound, Sony 42" hdtv connected to a 4670 ATI Radeon video card/ w Zalman 900 air cooler(very quiet) , 21.5 in Acer lcd monitor(cheap monitor finally died) , 2 ide dvd rw drives LG , 1 sata hp 340i bluray disk writer
OP sys : Win XP Pro, 1 Win7-64bit-ultimate and 1 custom precise 12.04 with all media codecs compiled by me and a bunch of media encoders.
User avatar
sambolinux
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:18 am
Location: Southern cal
Operating System: Other O/S



Re: windows-8.1

Postby ryanvade » Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:43 pm

I was wondering about that. Thanks.
https://www.ultimateeditionoz.com/forum ... 854#p41854
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: windows-8.1

Postby ryanvade » Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:50 pm

Windows_8.1.png


The start "Menu" is just a button. Not what I was hoping for in the next version. Why hasn't MS learned there mistake?
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: windows-8.1

Postby sambolinux » Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:27 pm

Yeah you still have to install one of start buttons programs to get windows 7 features
Computer: Antec NSK6500 case, MSI K9A2 Platinum, BE940 Phenom II,6gig ddr2 1066mhz ram, 4 sata hd (1 250gb seagate w/acronis for op sys bkp only and 1 TB wd green for movie bkp only and disconnected) , 3 1TB wd black sata II(no raid),Zalman 9700 air cooler, on board realsucks sound, Sony 42" hdtv connected to a 4670 ATI Radeon video card/ w Zalman 900 air cooler(very quiet) , 21.5 in Acer lcd monitor(cheap monitor finally died) , 2 ide dvd rw drives LG , 1 sata hp 340i bluray disk writer
OP sys : Win XP Pro, 1 Win7-64bit-ultimate and 1 custom precise 12.04 with all media codecs compiled by me and a bunch of media encoders.
User avatar
sambolinux
U.E. Graduate
U.E. Graduate
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:18 am
Location: Southern cal
Operating System: Other O/S



Re: windows-8.1

Postby ryanvade » Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:55 pm

Windows_8.1_menu.png


Still haven't made it easier to open that "Settings Bar" on the right. At least more then one widow can be open now on the desktop.
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux


Return to Virtualisation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron