VBox

For questions on VMWare, VirtualBox, Xen, QEMU and other virtualization software


Why I hate Vbox

Postby Xanayoshi » Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:10 am

This is because it is not an accurate observation of how an operating system will actually work. Not in any way. I work with low tech because I have low money. If you have 8 to 12 gb of RAM your observational results in VBOX mean much different results than mine. Therefore what you tell me means absolutely nothing. To make matters worse, for some unknown reason people who should know better are reviewing Distros with VB. Those people just suck. Do not be one of those people. Do not review with VB.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 40
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Why I love VBOX

Postby Xanayoshi » Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:13 am

ANDROID
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 40
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: VBox

Postby Xanayoshi » Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:32 am

Lastly, I can prove the inefficiencies of Vbox rather easily. Go get a copy of Windows 8 and install it there. I am waiting.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 40
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: VBox

Postby Xanayoshi » Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:42 am

Remove what ubuntu gave you and replace it. Oracle gives precisely half of a (insert progressive message here).
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 40
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: VBox

Postby Xanayoshi » Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:54 am

Actually, yes Micro. That is about right.
Image

And now, the completely true facts, as told by an anonymous man hiding behind a screen name:

Packard Bell Pack Mate II 286 Intel 80286 1MB RAM
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Xanayoshi
Moderator
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:46 pm
Location: Kitsap County
Age: 40
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.4 32 BIT



Re: VBox

Postby Micro » Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:53 am

I personally use VMware Workstation 9 for linux. Have been working with VMware for years. I run a pretty big VCenter Cluster Environment with ESXI 5 hosts and such. VMware has the virtual game locked. I dislike Oracle and refuse to use anything related (Company history and such). Not to mention the limited options on VBOX. Example- VMware you can configure whether or not to use swap or to just fit memory into host reserved ram. These setting would be helpful on a lower resource machine.
Image
https://www.linkedin.com/in/josephperrello
Thermaltake Series Core X9 SPCC E-ATX Cube Case
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 64GB Quad Channel DDR4
EVGA 120-G1-0750-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750W PSU
APC BR1300G Back-UPS Pro 780W/1300VA UPS
ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA X99 Motherboard
OC-Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.1GHz × 12
Corsair H100i V2 CPU Cooler. 240mm
Kernel Linux 4.6.4-1-ARCH x86_64
MATE Desktop Environment 1.12.1
OS - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB
DATA - 2 SSD 840 EVO RAID 0
MEDIA - 4 HDD 3TB RAID 0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX750 Ti
ViewSonic PJD7820HD
OS - Filesystem F2FS
Arch Linux
User avatar
Micro
Site Admin
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 pm
Age: 41
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: VBox

Postby pch.shot » Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:58 pm

I use 1 gig of ram for Vbox. It's enough for the basics(audio/video). It's not meant for high end computing or gaming. I use it for testing.
Systems Windows XP Pro 32 bit & various Linux in Virtual Box and VMWare Player
Intel i7 2600K cpu with built in Intel 3000 video
1 OCZ Vertex 3 120 gig ssd(System)
1 Western Digital 2 Terabyte Green internal hard drive(Storage)
Kingston ddr3 1333 ram(4 gig)
MSI Z68A-GD80(G3)mobo w/hdmi video and optical audio
Realtek HD audio
Realtek lan
1 LG sata optical drive
Antec Sonata IV case/620 watt psu
50 inch LG plasma tv/monitor
Sony surround sound amp
Axiom speakers
optical sound
User avatar
pch.shot
U.E. God
U.E. God
 
Posts: 3685
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Chippawa, Canada
Age: 63
Operating System: Microsoft Windows

Previous

Return to Virtualisation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest