Are you a spammer

Please note, that the first 3 posts you make, will need to be approved by a forum Administrator or Moderator before they are publicly viewable.
Each application to join this forum is checked at the Stop Forum Spam website. If the email or IP address appears there when checked, you will not be allowed to join this forum.
If you get past this check and post spam on this forum, your posts will be immediately deleted and your account inactivated.You will then be banned and your IP will be submitted to your ISP, notifying them of your spamming. So your spam links will only be seen for an hour or two at most. In other words, don't waste your time and ours.

This forum is for the use and enjoyment of the members and visitors looking to learn about and share information regarding the topics listed. It is not a free-for-all advertising venue. Your time would be better spent pursuing legitimate avenues of promoting your websites.

Compiz reset over night?



Compiz reset over night?

Postby ryanvade » Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:04 am

Hello linux world!!!
I installed UE3.2 a few days ago, and Love it! Last night I shut down the computer fine and didn't think there was any problems. This morning I turned it on and logged in fine, then I noticed the problem. None of my windows have Exit/Minimizw/Maximize buttons. Comiz was set to show desktop cube, rotate the cube, etc. When I rotate it, the cube dosent rotate. It just flips the workspace with one that is "righ behind it". when I "flip" the screen will flash with whats on the workspace on the oher side. One last thing< drivers are installed for my Nvidia card, and the Ultimate Edition 3.2 logo won't show up in 3D when I login like it used to. any Ideas what happend and how to fix it? :?
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Compiz reset over night?

Postby kiwinsn » Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:34 pm

Hi ryanvade, and welcome to Ultimate Edition Forum...Great to have you onboard.

Unfortunately, I cannot help with your specific problem, as I occasionally have the same issue...very very occasionally. Probably due to my video card.

What I do is right-click on the Compiz Fusion icon in the top right of your screen (for me it's an orange box with a white arrow going from bottom to top left of the icon) and select Reload Window manager.

That fixes it for me, until next time.

As an aside, i have deleted your duplicate post....once is enough.

Also, could you put some system specs in your signature please? A lot of the guys here can pinpoint the problem based on your system, as you might be under specced in some way.

Cheers...and welcome again.
Image
System:
Specs to come.
Registered Linux user number: 542342
Image
User avatar
kiwinsn
Moderator
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Age: 53
Operating System: Ultimate Edition Beta Tester



Re: Compiz reset over night?

Postby ryanvade » Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:27 pm

Thanks for the quick help! I'm sorry for the duplicate post, The server gave me an eror the first time I tried to post and i wasn't sure if it went thru.... I tried reseting the window manager and it didn't work. I had to switch window manager to Metacity (but its not as much fun!!! :( ) any way I will try to put my specs on my signiture, They aren't too new but they run Ultimate Edition 3.2 32bit and Vista 64bit witout problems(except the one im posting). If the specs aren't good enough please tell me! :oops:
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Compiz reset over night?

Postby ryanvade » Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:31 pm

I have reset everyting in compiz, then I turned on: cube, rotate cube, composite, Gnome compatability, OpenGL, 3D windows, and window reflextions.
When I make compiz the window manager I loose the window buttons, but in metacity they work. with compiz I can't move windows either. I guess I will have to stick with Metacity :( :( Is there a way to Reinstall compiz (or upgrade it)? Maybe that will work. I just don't know enough about window managers. (windows is easier in that respect!!!!!) Thanks for all the help anyway. I'll check for fixes on this thread every once in a while!!!
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Compiz reset over night?

Postby JOHNNYG » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:30 am

In terminal try compiz --replace ccp
JOHNNYG
Image
Ultimate Eddiction<
Ultimate Edition STUDIO
Ultimate-E
Onyx 64
Pentium 4 processor
2x512 Kingston DDR memory
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig
Maxtor Maxline 80 gig, Split for testing only !
Maxtor Diamondmax 500 gig, Storage
Booting 8 OS's, No MS !
ATI 9600 series (RV350 AQ)graphics card
Sony DVD/CD Rewritable Drive DOUBLE LAYER DRU-820A/Sony DRU-800A CD DVD±RW Dual DVD Recorder
Team Leader at
http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com/
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
JOHNNYG
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1456
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:02 am
Location: U.S.A. Illinois
Operating System: Ultimate Edition 3.2 32 BIT



Re: Compiz reset over night?

Postby ryanvade » Wed May 02, 2012 6:10 pm

I tried both ideas and got the following;

ryan@ryan-desktop:~$ gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/compiz-1
ryan@ryan-desktop:~$ gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/compizconfig-1
ryan@ryan-desktop:~$ unity --reset
WARNING: no current gconf profile set, assuming unity
WARNING: Unity currently default profile, so switching to metacity while resetting the values
unity-panel-service: no process found
libcompizconfig: dlopen: /usr/lib/compizconfig/backends/libgconf.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Checking if settings need to be migrated ...no
Checking if internal files need to be migrated ...no
Backend : ini
Integration : true
Profile : unity
Adding plugins
Initializing core options...done
Initializing bailer options...done
Initializing detection options...done
Initializing composite options...done
Initializing opengl options...done
Initializing decor options...done
Initializing mousepoll options...done
Initializing vpswitch options...done
Initializing animation options...done
Initializing snap options...done
compiz (expo) - Warn: failed to bind image to texture
Initializing expo options...done
Initializing move options...done
Initializing place options...done
Initializing grid options...done
Initializing gnomecompat options...done
Initializing wall options...done
Initializing ezoom options...done
Initializing workarounds options...done
Initializing staticswitcher options...done
Initializing resize options...done
Initializing fade options...done
Initializing scale options...done
Initializing session options...done
Couldn't find a perfect decorator match; trying all decorators
Starting emerald
compiz (core) - Warn: failed to receive ConfigureNotify event on 0x1000014

compiz (core) - Warn: failed to receive ConfigureNotify event on 0x1c0004d

compiz (core) - Warn: failed to receive ConfigureNotify event on 0x1c00004

Terminated


And:
ryan@ryan-desktop:~$ compiz --replace ccp
libcompizconfig: dlopen: /usr/lib/compizconfig/backends/libgconf.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Checking if settings need to be migrated ...no
Checking if internal files need to be migrated ...no
Backend : ini
Integration : true
Profile : default
Adding plugins
Initializing core options...done
Initializing composite options...done
Initializing opengl options...done
Initializing cube options...done
Initializing td options...done
Initializing gnomecompat options...done
Initializing rotate options...done
compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load slide: fusioncap.png
compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load slide: compizcap.png
Initializing cubeaddon options...done
Setting Update "skydome"
Setting Update "skydome_animated"
Setting Update "active_opacity"
compiz (core) - Warn: failed to receive ConfigureNotify event on 0x3a001be


Should I just reinstall Ultimate Edition altogether? I have pictures if you need a better description of the problem.
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux



Re: Compiz reset over night?

Postby ryanvade » Wed May 02, 2012 8:26 pm

I decided to reinstall Ultimate Edition. :cry: Compiz seems to be fine, except when I change "sides" on the cube the weird Flash ocurs, :twisted: Oh well!! I can live with that I guess....
Image

Laptop: HP dv6t-7000 CTO Desktop: Compaq Presario SR21632wm
i5 2450m Pentium D 960 @ 4 GHz
6 GB ram 2 GB ram
Intel HD 3000 Graphics / Nvidia GT 630M Nvidia GT 520 @ 820 MHz
Diamond II-B 3.10-rc4/Windows 7 Home Premium KDE | Windows 7 Starter/Arch Linux

Paid supporter of the Linux Foundation
User avatar
ryanvade
Moderator
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 am
Operating System: Other Linux


Return to Ultimate Edition 3.2 Graphics Issues ? Post Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron